njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Atlantic County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Justice of the Peace Records, 1822-1949
Accession #: 1978.007, 1978.008
Series #:  CATCL001
Guide Date:  (DJ)
Volume: 22.5 c.f. [50 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Legislative History

Following English tradition, justices of the peace (also called magistrates) served as the most basic forum for the administration of criminal and civil laws during the colonial period. Their territorial jurisdiction extended throughout the county for which they were appointed by the governor. Justices of the peace jurisdiction over criminal cases was limited to misdemeanor offenses. In the case of civil law, each justice constituted a Court for the Trial of Small Causes, which had the authority to hear cases involving debts not over forty shillings in value. Among many other duties they also officiated at marriages, swore-in grand juries and served on the more formal courts of General Quarter Sessions and Common Pleas.

In 1799, their duties as a criminal justice—which had previously been established by tradition—were codified by statute. These included trying disorderly persons or violators of the peace, runaway slaves or servants, prostitutes, persons accused of assault, and arsonists. In the same act, the maximum amount cognizable by courts for small causes was raised to $60; it was regularly raised again by successive acts throughout the nineteenth century. Justices were required to keep a docket book of all cases they heard. Their other duties remained the same, but they could not sit on any court of appeal for a case they had tried originally. In 1846, the position became elected annually.

By the beginning of the twentieth century, the courts for small causes and justices of the peace themselves were slowly being replaced. Legislation passed in 1902 and 1903 deprived justices of jurisdiction where a district court existed. In 1928, the justices also lost jurisdiction over cases involving alimony or child support. Finally, in 1948, the office of justice of the peace and courts for small causes were abolished and their functions were absorbed by the district and small claims courts.


Content Note

These records consist principally of docket books and loose complaint files, together with small volumes of correspondence and receipts for fines paid. Docket books were also used occasionally to record marriages. Some documents are labeled “memoranda” or “warrants,” but they contain the same information as complaints. The dockets are arranged alphabetically by the name of the justice, with the oversized dockets stored at the end of the series.

The “Justice of the Peace Index” (in Box OV-13) is arranged alphabetically by defendant, and lists case number, magistrate and date filed. On the inside front cover is a list of the magistrates and their respective districts. Unfortunately, none of the names in this index correspond with the names of the justices for whom there are documents.



Contents

Box Justice of the Peace Datespan Municipality
1 Abbott, John F. 1896 Pleasantville
1 Ackley, William 1826-1828 Hamilton Twp.
1 Ackley, William 1828-1832 Hamilton Twp.
1 Ackley, William 1834-1836 Hamilton Twp.
1 Ackley, William 1836-1838 Hamilton Twp.
1 Allmond, Roselle May 1928 - September 1929 Atlantic City
2 Atkinson, John 1892-1896 Hammonton
2 Atkinson, John 1888-1896 Hammonton
2 Avery, John S. W. (Mayor) 1856-1858 Atlantic City
2 Barry, Joseph 1926-1927 Atlantic City
3 Bates, D. Henry 1894-1898 Absecon
3 Bowen, J. H. 1835-1839 Hamilton Twp.
3 Bowen, J. H. 1839-1845 Hamilton Twp.
3 Brown, R. G. 1920-1922
3 Campbell, David 1839 Galloway
3 Campbell, David 1839-1840 Galloway
3 Colasurdo, James C. 1947-1948 Hammonton
4 Collins, William 1876-1881 Buena Vista
4 Collins, William 1882-1886 Buena Vista
4 Crowell, Ansell B. 1904 Mays Landing
OV-1 Driscoll, Charles B. 1943-1948 Egg Harbor
4 Emmel, Phillip 1830-1834
4 Franks, Peter 1839-1851 Great Egg Harbor
4 Fritschy, John J. 1871-1889 Egg Harbor City
OV-2 Garwood, Joseph 1822-1825
5 Garwood, Joseph 1831-1847
5 Godfrey, Hiram 1896-1898 Weymouth
5 Godfrey, John 1830-1837 Weymouth
5 Godfrey, John 1850-1875 Weymouth
6 Gorgolis, John N. 1943-1946 Ventnor
6 Gorgolis, John N. 1946 Ventnor
6 Gouldey, John 1889-1892 Atlantic City
6 Gouldey, John 1894-1903 Atlantic City
OV-3 Gouldey, John 1892-1895 Atlantic City
OV-4 Gouldey, John 1895-1900 Atlantic City
7 Gouldey, John 1888-1903 Atlantic City
7 Gouldey, John 1883-1887 Atlantic City
7 Gouldey, John 1885-1889 Atlantic City
OV-5 Gouldey, John 1895-1896 Atlantic City
8 Gruner, William 1882-1884 Egg Harbor City
8 Hatch, C. H. 1897-1899 Weymouth
8 Hayward, Edwin J. 1897 Atlantic City
8 Hill, W. T. 1858-1857 Mullica
9 Hoover, Francis H. 1852-1881 Hamilton
9 Ingersol, Daniel 1847-1850 Egg Harbor
9 Ingersol, Daniel 1850-1887 Egg Harbor
9 Ireland, Richard S. 1851-1856 Egg Harbor
10 Irving, Albert W. 1883-1885 Atlantic City
OV-6 Irving, Albert W. 1889-1891 Atlantic City
10 Iszard, Daniel E. 1883-1904 Mays Landing
10 Iszard, Daniel E. 1904-1911 Mays Landing
10 Jacobs, P. Henry 1888-1897 Hammonton
11 Jacobs, P. Henry 1890-1892 Hammonton
11 Jacobs, P. Henry 1906-1907 Hammonton
11 Jordan, Charles M. 1888-1889 Hammonton
OV-7 Keller, A. H. 1930-1931 Pleasantville
11 Keller, A. H. 1933
12 Lake, Henry 1883-1892 Great Egg Harbor
12 Lake, William 1875-1882 Great Egg Harbor
12 Mills, P. 1891-1892 Hamilton
12 Meyers, James E. 1925-1929 Hammonton
12 Meyers, James E. 1934-1935 Hammonton
12 Meyers, James E. 1937-1939 Hammonton
13 Meyers, James E. 1938-1942 Hammonton
13 Paxson, Joseph A. 1922-1927 Atlantic City
13 Perkins, George H. 1892-1896 Atlantic City
14 Perkins, George H. 1892-1894 Atlantic City
14 Perkins, George H. 1896-1898 Atlantic City
OV-8 Perkins, George H. 1896-1897 Atlantic City
OV-9 Perkins, George H. 1897-1898 Atlantic City
14 Pfeil, Matthew B. 1907-1912 Hammonton
14 Pfeil, Matthew B. 1909-1912 Hammonton
15 Ponsold, Anthony 1860-1868 Egg Harbor City
15 Reidel, Charles F. 1925-2933 Landisville
15 Reidel, Charles F. 1938-1944 Landisville
15 Reidel, Charles F. 1944-1947 Landisville
15 Reilley, Edward B. 1874-1877 Atlantic City
16 Reilley, Edward B. 1877 Atlantic City
16 Richardson, I. H. 1835-1837 Pleasant Mills
16 Risley, Gideon 1833-1834 Gloucester County
16 Risley, Gideon 1835 Gloucester County
16 Risley, Gideon 1835 Gloucester County
16 Risley, Gideon 1835-1836 Gloucester County
16 Rudel, Charles F. 1933-1948 Buena Vista
16 Rummler, Joseph 1939-1948 Port Republic
17 Salsbery, John 1827 Galloway
17 Salsbery, John 1827-1830 Galloway
17 Salsbery, John 1830-1831 Galloway
17 Salsbery, John 1831 Galloway
17 Salsbery, John 1831-1832 Galloway
17 Salsbery, John 1832-1835 Galloway
17 Salsbery, John 1835-1836 Galloway
17 Saxters, C. F. 1868-1874 Hammonton
18 Shinn, John H. 1887 Atlantic City
18 Smith, Elias 1856-1883 Weymouth
18 Smith, Thomas 1878-1881 Hamilton
18 Somers, David B. 1866-1870 Great Egg Harbor
18 Sooy, L. 1925-1927
19 Stein, Karl 1934-1937 Egg Harbor
19 Stein, Karl 1937 Egg Harbor
20 Stein, Karl April 1937 - February 1938 Egg Harbor
20 Stein, Karl January 1938 - March 1938 Egg Harbor
21 Stein, Karl April 1938 - November 1938 Egg Harbor
21 Stein, Karl November 1938 - April 1939 Egg Harbor
22 Stein, Karl April 1939 - August 1939 Egg Harbor
22 Stein, Karl August 1939 - November 1939 Egg Harbor
23 Stein, Karl October 1939 - March 1940 Egg Harbor
23 Stein, Karl February 1940 - July 1940 Egg Harbor
24 Stein, Karl July 1940 - September 1940 Egg Harbor
24 Stein, Karl September 1940 - December 1940 Egg Harbor
24 Stein, Karl December 1940 - April 1941 Egg Harbor
25 Stein, Karl April 1941 - July 1941 Egg Harbor
25 Stein, Karl July 1941 - September 1941 Egg Harbor
25 Stein, Karl September 1941 - October 1941 Egg Harbor
25 Stein, Karl October 1941 - December 1941 Egg Harbor
26 Stein, Karl December 1941 - January 1942 Egg Harbor
26 Stein, Karl January 1942 - March 1942 Egg Harbor
26 Stein, Karl March 1942 - April 1942 Egg Harbor
26 Stein, Karl April 1942 - July 1942 Egg Harbor
27 Stein, Karl July 1942 - October 1942 Egg Harbor
27 Stein, Karl October 1942 - April 1943 Egg Harbor
27 Stein, Karl April 1943 - July 1943 Egg Harbor
28 Stein, Karl July 1943 - July 1944 Egg Harbor
28 Stein, Karl July 1944 - October 1946 Egg Harbor
28 Stein, Karl November 1946 - June 1948 Egg Harbor
28 Stein, Karl June 1948 - October 1948 Egg Harbor
29 Stein, Karl 1939-1945 Egg Harbor
30 Strouse, George E. 1905-1906 Hammonton
30 Strouse, George E. 1909-1910 Hammonton
30 Strouse, George E. 1918-1921 Hammonton
31 Strouse, George E. 1915-1918 Hammonton
31 Strouse, George E. 1921-1922 Hammonton
31 Strouse, George E. 1918-1924 Hammonton
31 Strouse, George E. 1922 Hammonton
32 Strouse, George E. 1923 Hammonton
32 Strouse, George E. 1922-1926 Hammonton
32 Strouse, George E. 1924-1938 Hammonton
33 Strouse, George E. 1926-1928 Hammonton
33 Strouse, George E. 1928-1936 Hammonton
33 Strouse, George E. 1929-1934 Hammonton
34 Strouse, George E. 1929-1930 Hammonton
34 Strouse, George E. 1937-1943 Hammonton
OV-10 Strouse, George E. 1936-1943 Hammonton
OV-11 Strouse, George E. 1943-1948 Hammonton
34 Vanderlip, Charles H. 1900-1902 Mullica
34 Weatherby, S. 1823-1850 Weymouth
34 Weckerly, John S. 1942-1949 Egg Harbor
35 Weeks, James 1839-1844
35 Westcott, Absalom S. 1838-1839 Mullica
35 Westcott, Absalom S. 1839 Mullica
35 Westcott, John 1836-1848
35 Westcott, Samuel B. 1825-1826 Weymouth
35 Westcott, Samuel B. 1826-1827 Weymouth
36 Young, Robert 1889-1891 Atlantic City
36 Young, Robert 1891-1893 Atlantic City
36 Young, Robert 1893-1894 Atlantic City
37 Zorn, William H. 1882-1886 Atlantic City
37 Unidentified 1930-1933
OV-12 Loose sheets [bound]: 1831-1844, 1909
Samuel Caseboom
John Godfrey
  David Campbell
  Joseph Westcoat
  L. Frank Hoone
OV-13 Justice of the Peace Index 1932-1948

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations