njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Atlantic County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Prohibition Enforcement Act Docket and Case Files, 1921
Accession #: 1978.007
Series #:  CATCL013
Guide Date:  (DJ)
Volume: 2 c.f. [4 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Legislative History

In order to comply with the federal prohibition of liquor, the state passed "An Act concerning intoxicating liquor used or to be used for beverage purposes," known informally as the "Prohibition Enforcement Act of 1921." It defined intoxicating liquor as brandy, whiskey, rum, gin, beer, wine or any other "liquor which contains one half of one per centum or more of alcohol by volume." The act declared it "unlawful to manufacture, sell, barter, transport, import, export, deliver, furnish, store or possess any liquor" other than that "lawfully acquired ... and used only for ... personal consumption." The act also made illegal the advertisement of liquor or anything intended for its unlawful manufacture. Any unlawful liquor found by the authorities was to be destroyed along with any equipment used to produce it. Law enforcement officers could obtain search warrants from any magistrate, other than a justice of the peace, on statement of probable cause. Officers were authorized to forcibly enter premises if admission was refused. The act established penalties for interfering with enforcement officers, as well as penalties for officers who exceeded their authority.

The 1921 act was replaced by a similar act in 1922.


Content Note

Usually recorded on standard pre-printed forms, the case files consist of a complaint, arrest warrant, and verdict, and are filed by the date of conviction. Most of the cases for May through early July are recorded in duplicate in the "docket book" (mislabeled "Minutes"). The docket book also contains an index not only to its own cases, but also to an additional, earlier set of cases, the files for which are presumably lost. Finally, an oversize volume contains abstracts for all extant cases, giving name of defendant, date of conviction, name of offense and verdict.

Interestingly, Judge Robert Ingersoll, of the court of common pleas, handled all cases.



Contents

Box 1 Docket book, May-July 1921 (mislabeled "Minutes of the Prohibition
Enforcement Act"); Case files, May-July 1921
Box 2 Case files, August 1921; September 1921 (folders 1-2)
Box 3 Case files, September 1921 (folders 3-4); October-December 1921
Box 4 Abstracts of Cases, May-December 1921 [1 vol.]

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations