njhome my new jersey people business government departments
 

Record Group: Bergen County
Subgroup: Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace
Series: Petitions for Tavern Licenses, 1786-1866
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  CBEQU002
Guide Date: 6/1991 (JK); rev. 2/2005 (VT)
Volume: .25 c.f. [34 items]



Content Note

This series contains tavern keepers' petitions to the Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace and later to the Court of Common Pleas.



Contents

Name Location(s) Dates Notes
Allen, Abraham Bergen County [No Date]  
Bertholf, Cerines Bergen County 1790  
Blauvelt, Thomas Bergen County 1799 "Thomas Blauvelt, Esq."
Boyd, Adam Hackensack,
New Barbadoes Twp.
1791  
Brevoort, Samuel Bergen County 1791  
Campbell, Samuel Hackensack 1786  
Campbell, Samuel Hackensack Twp. 1799 "[A]t the Liberty Pole"
Campbell, Samuel Hoboken 1791 "[A]t the ferry…"
Christie, John Bergen County 1799 "[A]t the Old Bridge…"
Demarest, John Bergen County 1791  
Dey, Thomas Bergen County [No Date] Bond only - No license application
Duncan, Mary Bergen County 1787 "Late the widow Day [Dey ?]… at the
Cross Roads on the Road to Bergen
and Bulls ferry..."
Ennis, James Bergen County 1791 "[O]n the Road leading from Second
River to Hackensack…"
Field, Rodman "Precinct of Bergen" 1791 "[T]he sign of the Three Pigeons…"
Gerritse, John Saddle River Twp. 1801 Garritson (?)
"[H]ouse which… has been kept as a Tavern by Henry Storm…"
Includes Bond
Hanion, John Bergen County 1791 Hannion or Hennion (?)
"[A]t Pregness [Prigness ?]…"
Hennion, John A. Pompton Twp. 1801 "[O]n the corner of the Cross Road
in Pompton leading to Ramapaugh & Ringwood..."
Includes Bond
Hoghland, Joseph C. Bergen Twp. 1791 Hoagland
Hopper, John I. Franklin Twp. 1815 John J. (?)
Hopper, Andrew A. Franklin Twp. 1790 "[P]lace which was formerly occupied
by Abraham S. Van Bushkirk…"
Hopper, John A. Franklin Twp. 1790  
Huyler, Cornelius Bergen County 1791  
Nash, George R. Hackensack,
New Barbadoes Twp.
1866 "Washington Mansion House"
Post, Adrian Pompton [Twp.] 1791 "[A]t Pompton on a Road leading from
Pompton Furnace to Ringwood…"
Quackenboss, Cornelius Harrington [Twp.] 1801 Quackenbush (?)
Pulisfelt, Jeams Franklin [Twp.] 1790  
Ridner, John Bergen County 1801 "[N]ear Long Pond [?]…"
Rohde, Frederik Bergen County 1781 Rhode
Includes Bond
Romine, Albert New Barbadoes Twp. 1799  
Rutan, Abraham A. Franklin Twp. 1800 "[O]n the Goshen Stage Road between
Hoppers Tavern and Ramapaugh…"
Salter, Daniel Tenafly, "Precinct of", [Hackensack Twp.] 1791 "[A]t the Liberty Pole…"
Terhune, Richard Bergen County 1802 "[W]here a tavern has been kept for a
hundred years…"
Includes Bond
Van Bushkirk, Abraham S. [Franklin Twp. ?] 1791 See also, Hopper, Andrew A.
Westervelt, John Saddle River Twp. 1800  

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations