njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Burlington County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Non-Resident Marriage License Applications, 1897-1898
Accession #: 1996.021
Series #:  CBUCL004
Guide Date:  10/1998 (CS)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents

Legislative History


The records in this series are the direct result of "An Act concerning marriage licenses," passed by the New Jersey Legislature on 18 May 1897 (P.L. 1897, chap. 193, p. 378). According to this law, as of 1 July 1897 prospective marriage partners--if both were living outside the state but wished to be married in New Jersey--were required to obtain a license from the clerk of the county in which the marriage was to be performed. The legislation also authorized the county clerks to demand certain facts from the applicants to ensure that there were no legal impediments to the marriage.

The 1897 law further stipulated that marriage officiants complete original and duplicate marriage certificates provided by the clerk. The original was to be given to the bride and groom; the duplicate certificate to be returned to the county clerk. The clerk was then directed to transmit the certificate and a copy of the license to the State Bureau of Vital Statistics for permanent filing.

Legislation in 1910 removed the responsibility for issuing marriage licenses to non-residents from the county clerks' offices (P.L. 1910, chap. 274). This law directed that after 1 July 1910, non-resident licenses would be issued by the registrar of vital statistics, clerk or assessor (whichever appropriate) in the municipality in which the marriage ceremony was to be performed.


Content Note

This series includes non-resident marriage license applications from Burlington County for the period July 1897 - October 1898. The applications from October 1898 to 1910 have not been found.

The application form asks detailed questions of the prospective marriage partners and an identifying witness with regard to the partners' marital history, engagement, personal and family information, etc. Unfortunately, the County Clerk was not required by law to retain copies of the corresponding marriage certificates. It cannot be determined from these records, therefore, whether or not a marriage actually took place. Researchers should keep in mind, however, that certificates for any marriages performed in Burlington County during this time should be found among the records of the State Bureau of Vital Statistics (available on microfilm in the Archives search room).

The applications are listed below in chronological order.



Contents

1. Lawrence Low Furguson [Ferguson] and Annie B. Ferguson, 26 July 1897 [1 item].
2. Chauncey Wilmon Wells and Mary R. Prescott, 3 September 1897 [1 item].
3. Clarence Foster Montell and Fanny Rogers Wheately, 4 September 1897 [1 item].
4. Stephen Charles Richardson and Martha Anna Rollins, 11 September 1897 [1 item].
5. George H. Robinette and Lillie Hall, 23 September 1897 [1 item].
6. Frank Griscom and Flora Adel Lippincott, 25 September 1897 [1 item].
7. Michael J. Bakey and Mary Hoffman, 29 September 1897 [1 item].
8. Eugene Converse Mary Clayton Cox, 8 October 1897 [1 item].
9. Ward H. Bent and Sara E. Cromwell, 26 October 1897 [1 item].
10. Frank Wesley Wiley and Lucy Ann Sooy, 3 November 1897 [1 item].
11. James McQueen and Carrie Dine, 19 November 1897 [1 item].
12. Richard H. Krum and Estella J. E. Farrow, 14 December 1897 [1 item].
13. George Sharwood and Julia Appleton, 20 November 1897 [1 item].
14. Nathan H. Schuyler and Jennie Wood, 21 December 1897 [1 item].
15. William Dongan and Elizabeth M. McFarland, 29 December 1897 [1 item].
16. Charles Wilson and Ida E. Shumen, 22 January 1898 [1 item].
17. John Joseph Nugent and Mary Foley, 26 January 1898 [1 item].
18. Robert E. Whitney and Louise E. London, 5 February 1898 [1 item].
19. Clarence R. Miller and Helen T. Hunt, 16 April 1898 [1 item].
20. John Ruckell and Lucy James Hill, 11 June 1898 [1 item].
21. Walter Vanhorn and Anna L. Laurence, 1 October 1898 [1 item].

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations