njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Camden County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Original Recorded Deeds (Gloucester County), 1759-1840
Accession #: 1998.024
Series #:  CCDCL004
Guide Date:  2/1998 (EC)
Volume: 0.11 c.f. [11 manuscripts]



Content Note

This series consists of original (signed) deeds recorded by the Camden County Clerk and not retrieved by their owners. All of the deeds included here pre-date the formation of Camden County out of Gloucester County in 1844 (although they were recorded by the Camden County Clerk at later dates). Post-1844 original deeds formerly filed at the Camden County Clerk's Office have been placed on deposit with the Camden County Historical Society.



Contents

1. Samuel and Abigail Harrison to Joseph Ellis for 10 acres in the Town of Gloucester, Gloucester Co., 1 November 1759 [recorded in Book 840, page 86, 27 May 1936].
2. Samuel and Hannah Norcross to Jonathan Jones for 38 acres in Gloucester Twp., Gloucester Co., 1 October 1789 [recorded in Book 298, page 44, 31 August 1905].
3. James Sloan to Joseph Ellis for 20 acres in Gloucester Twp., Gloucester Co., 23 April 1792 [recorded in Book 840, page 92, 27 May 1936].
4. John and Deborah Stewart, and Hannah Clement to Jeremiah Elfreth for 46.5 acres in Gloucester Twp., Gloucester Co., 26 November 1792 [recorded in Book 130, page 531, 24 June 1887; oversized].
5. Joseph C. Swett, Joseph Bate and Charles French, assignees of Samuel E. and Mary Clement, to Levi Ellis Jr. for 1 rood and 5 perches in the Village of Haddonfield, Newton Twp., Gloucester Co., 24 July 1819 [recorded in Book 110, page 617, 14 November 1883].
6. Wallace Lippincott to James Jones for 20 acres in Waterford Twp., Gloucester Co., 2 February 1828 [recorded in Book 74, page 327, 11 September 1873].
7. Wallace Lippincott to Isaac Jones for 20 acres in Waterford Twp., Gloucester Co., 2 February 1828 [recorded in Book Q, page 660, 18 April 1853].
8. Isaac Stokes to Jonathan Fowler for 31.85 acres in Gloucester Twp., Gloucester Co., 15 January 1830 [recorded in Book Y, page 239, 28 May 1855].
9. James Biddle to Robert Disilver, both of Philadelphia, for 10 acres in Gloucester Twp., Gloucester Co., 14 May 1836 [recorded in Book Z, page 484, 25 January 1856; oversized].
10. Jeremiah H. and Rebecca Sloan to James D. Dotterer for 200 acres in [Gloucester Twp.], Gloucester Co., 24 October 1839 [recorded in Book 37, page 424, 12 June 1861].
11. Ralph and Mary Smith to Alfred Felson, all of Philadelphia, for 2,700 square feet in the Town of Free Haven, Union Twp., Gloucester Co., 17 October 1840 [recorded in Book Q, page 114, 25 August 1852].


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations