njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Cape May County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Justice of the Peace Dockets, 1786-1913
Accession #: N/A
Series #:  CCPCL004
Guide Date:  10/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 9 reels [35-mm]


Reel List

Alphabetical List of Justices

The list below provides location of jurisdiction (municipality), date span, number of dockets, and reel number(s). A reel-by-reel inventory follows.

Name Jurisdiction Date Span Dockets Reel #
Barnett, Furman Lower Twp. 1881-1886 1 docket 1-147
Benezet, Daniel unknown 1835-1837 1 docket 1-146
Blackman, Constantine Upper Twp. 1835-1844 1 docket 1-146
Budd, John Upper Twp. 1815-1845 1 docket 1-145
Chapman, James T. unknown 1897-1901 1 docket 1-148
Corson, Elias unknown 1825-1830 1 docket 1-146
Corson, Joseph unknown 1804-1808 1 docket 1-147
Corson, Paramenus Middle Twp. 1786-1799 1 docket 1-140
Cosgrove, Daniel Lower Twp. 1888-1890 1 docket 1-148
Crandol, Thomas Upper Twp. 1832-1838 2 dockets 1-146
Edmunds, Robert Lower Twp. 1807-1809 1 docket 1-143
Eldredge, Aaron Clermont 1813-1817 1 docket 1-144
Eldridge, William Cape May Twp. 1802-1808 1 docket 1-143
Fisher, Robert Ocean City 1895-1896 1 docket 1-148
Forcus, William E. Wildwood 1887-1889 1 docket 1-147
Foster, Jacob Lower Twp. 1822-1828 1 docket 1-146
Goff, David Dennis Twp. 1808-1813 2 dockets 1-143/1-144
Hand, Jeremiah Middle Twp. 1814-1863 3 dockets 1-145
Hand, Stephen Cape May Twp. 1801-1819 2 dockets 1-143
Hewitt, Shamgar Upper Twp. 1805-1820 4 dockets 1-142
Holmes, A. Elton Dennis Twp. 1894-1900 1 docket 1-148
Hughes, Spicer unknown 1824-1847 2 dockets 1-145
Johnson, Jeremiah Dennis Twp. 1801-1815 7 dockets 1-142/1-143
Leaming, Lemuel unknown 1866-1879 3 dockets 1-147
Ludlam, James Upper Twp. 1794-1813 4 dockets 1-140
Ludlam, Thomas E. Sea Isle City 1892-1895 1 docket 1-148
Maguire, James Dennis Twp./Goshen 1835-1848 1 docket 1-146
Marcy, Mathew Cape May Twp. 1834-1849 1 docket 1-146
Matthis, Jennings G. unknown 1844-1848 1 docket 1-147
Moore, Gaines P. Ocean City 1885-1901 2 dockets 1-147
Nichols, Charles E. unknown 1895-1901 1 docket 1-148
Parsons, Robert Lower Twp. 1801-1814 3 dockets 1-143
Pierson, Ludlam Middle Twp. 1834-1835 1 docket 1-146
Reeves, George H. Lower Twp. 1892-1913 3 dockets 1-148
Scott, James T. unknown 1813-1816 1 docket 1-144
Smith, Constantine unknown 1803-1805 1 docket 1-143
Smith, Frederick E. Holly Beach 1889-1895 1 docket 1-147/1-148
Smith, Isaac Lower Twp. 1804-1819 2 dockets 1-143
Smith, Jacob G. Upper Twp. 1813-1840 5 dockets 1-144/1-145
Smith, John L. unknown 1818-1822 1 docket 1-145
Souder, Jacob unknown 1833-1847 3 dockets 1-146
Spencer, John West Cape May 1886-1901 1 docket 1-147
Steelman, H. G. Ocean City 1894 1 docket 1-148
Stevens, Jonathan C. Lower Twp. 1872 1 docket 1-147
Swain, Isaac Middle Twp. 1893 1 docket 1-148
Thompson, Robert P. Cape May Twp. 1899-1904 1 docket 1-148
Townsend, Cresse Middle Twp. 1799-1833 10 dockets 1-141/1-142
Townsend, Elijah Middle Twp. 1798-1814 4 dockets 1-140/1-141
Townsend, Elijah Middle Twp. 1832-1860 3 dockets 1-141
Townsend, J. Milton Dennis Twp. 1865-1868 1 docket 1-147
Townsend, John Middle Twp. 1822-1826 2 dockets 1-145/1-146
Westcott, Edwin G. S. Seaville 1890-1894 2 dockets 1-148
Woertz, John G. Sea Isle City 1896 1 docket 1-148

 


Reel Listing

NOTE: Docket numbers in brackets were added to show that certain dockets were split between microfilm reels. These numbers do not appear on the dockets or the film.

Reel # Contents
1-140 Paramenus Corson, Middle Township [1 docket]
    11 September 1786 – 14 May 1799
  James Ludlam, Upper Township [4 dockets]
    [No. 1], 20 May 1794 –21 November 1809 [includes index]
[No. 2], 20 May 1794 – 31 August 1813 [includes index]
[No. 3], 21 October 1809 – 22 September 1810 [includes index]
[No. 4], 27 September 1810 – 10 February 1813 [includes index]
  Elijah Townsend, Middle Township [4 dockets; part]
    [No. 1; part], 14 August 1798 – 14 August 1800
1-141 Elijah Townsend [cont’d]
    [No. 1; cont’d], 26 July 1800 – 31 December 1801
[No. 2], 6 January 1802 – 1 May 1804
[No. 3], 26 April 1804 – 21 October 1809
[No. 4], 20 July 1810 – 31 October 1814
  Elijah Townsend, Middle Township [3 dockets]
    [No. 1], 9 April 1832 – 16 April 1847
[No. 2], 25 May 1850 – 9 January 1852
[No. 3], 24 May 1850 – 30 April 1860 [includes minutes of Maridian
          Inn No. 58, 6 February 1847 – 25 March 1850]
  Cresse Townsend, Middle Township [10 dockets; part]
    [No. 1], 15 January 1799 – 13 April 1801
[No. 2], 26 May 1801 – 27 March 1803
[No. 3], 13 August 1804 – 16 June 1805
[No. 4], 16 July 1805 – 16 June 1806
[No. 5], 12 August 1806 – 26 December 1812
[No. 6; part], 20 December 1815 – 7 May 1817 [p. 142]
1-142 Cress Townsend [cont’d] 
    [No. 6; cont’d], 1 May 1817 [p. 141] – 22 March 1818
[No. 7], 30 April 1818 – 18 September 1821
[No. 8], 22 August 1824 – 15 May 1825
[No. 9], 24 May 1825 – 17 March 1826
[No. 10], 3 January 1826 – 7 September 1833
  Shamgar Hewitt, Upper Township [4 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 1 January 1805 – 24 August 1830
[No. 2], 28 December 1805 – 9 January 1807
[No. 3], 8 February 1811 – 21 February 1815
[No. 4], 21 January 1817 – 6 December 1820
  Jeremiah Johnson, Dennis Township [7 dockets; part]  
    [No. 1], 1 January 1801 – 7 September 1810
[No. 2], 26 December 1803 – 10 February 1806
[No. 3; part], 14 August 1806 – 22 April 1807
1-143 Jeremiah Johnson [cont’d] 
    [No. 3; cont’d], 25 April 1807 – 7 November 1807
[No. 4], 19 October 1807 – 22 January 1810
[No. 5], 26 December 1810 – 26 February 1813
[No. 6], 3 March 1813 – 29 March 1816
[No. 7], 4 April 1815 – 9 September 1815
  Robert Parsons, Lower Township [3 dockets] 
    [No. 1], 21 January 1801 – 13 November 1802
[No. 2], 13 November 1802 – 22 April 1805
[No. 3], 15 May 1805 – 19 December 1814
  Stephen Hand, Cape May [2 dockets]
    [No. 1], 1 May 1801 – 17 March 1803
[No. 2], 31 October 1803 – 24 July 1819
  William Eldridge, Cape May [1 docket]  
    24 February 1802 – 8 February 1808 
  Isaac Smith, Lower Township [2 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 30 January 1804 – 4 October 1808
[No. 2], 20 March 1809 – 8 March 1819
  Constantine Smith [1 docket]
    12 December 1803 – 11 September 1805
  Robert Edmunds, Lower Township [1 docket]
    30 June 1807 – 20 June 1809 
  David Goff, Dennis Township [2 dockets; part] 
    [No. 1; part; begins at p.76], 5 July 1808 – 6 May 1809 [p.115] 
 1-144 David Goff [cont’d] 
    [No. 1; cont’d], 22 April 1809 [p. 114] – 23 February 1811
[No. 2], 15 April 1811 – 18 December 1813
  Aaron Eldredge, Clermont [1 docket]
    27 February 1813 – 25 October 1817 
  James T. Scott [1 docket]  
    30 March 1813 – 19 October 1816 
  Jacob G. Smith, Upper Township [5 dockets; part]  
    [No. 1], 17 November 1813 – 27 January 1818
[No. 2], 1 December 1819 – 8 May 1824
[No. 3; part], 1 October 1819 – 24 March 1823 [p. 264]
1-145 Jacob G. Smith [cont’d]  
    [No. 3; cont’d], 20 March 1823 [p. 263] – 25 May 1824
[No. 4], 10 May 1824 – 3 November 1832
[No. 5], 8 December 1835 – 6 June 1840
  Jeremiah Hand, Middle Township [3 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 14 June 1814 – 22 August 1815
[No. 2], 4 March 1826 – 27 July 1832
[No. 3], 20 April 1843 – 3 November 1863
  John Budd, Upper Township [1 docket]  
    28 March 1815 – 1 November 1845 
  John L. Smith [1 docket]
    7 March 1818 – 7 February 1822
  Spicer Hughes [2 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 25 January 1824 – 7 August 1847 [includes index]
[No. 2], 11 February 1833 – May 1847 [includes index]
  John Townsend, Middle Township [2 dockets; part]   
    [No. 1; part], 25 March 1822 – November 1822 [p. 106]
 1-146 John Townsend [cont’d]  
    [No. 1; cont’d], November 1822 [p. 106] – 19 September 1823
[No. 2], 14 January 1826 – 17 November 1826
  Elias Corson [1 docket]  
    18 January 1825 – 27 August 1830 
  Jacob Foster, Lower Township [1 docket] 
    16 January 1822 – 8 December 1828 
  Thomas Crandol, Upper Township [2 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 14 March 1832 – 2 July 1834
[No. 2], 4 July 1834 – 14 March 1838
  Jacob Souder [3 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 11 November 1833 – 18 December 1838
[No. 2], 26 March 1838 – 7 August 1843
[No. 3], 15 August 1843 – 28 December 1847
  Mathew Marcy, Cape May [1 docket] 
    3 December 1834 – 8 March 1849 [includes marriages and index] 
  Constantine Blackman, Upper Township  
    28 April 1835 – 22 March 1844
  Daniel Benezet [1 docket]  
    13 June 1835 – 9 October 1837 
  Ludlam Pierson, Middle Township [1 docket] 
    19 December 1834 – 16 October 1835 
  James Maguire, Dennis Township & Goshen [1 docket]  
    22 December 1835 – 19 February 1848 
1-147 Joseph Corson [1 docket] 
     5 March 1804 – 4 November 1808
  Jennings G. Matthis [1 docket]  
    18 June 1844 – 10 February 1848 [includes index] 
  J. Milton Townsend, Dennis Township [1 docket]  
    5 June 1865 – 2 August 1868 
  Lemuel Leaming [3 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 30 March 1866 – 10 May 1871
[No. 2], 29 May 1871 – 11 October 1876
[No. 3], 22 March 1876 – 28 April 1879
  Jonathan C. Stevens, Lower Township [1 docket] 
    1 May 1872 – 24 June 1872 
  Furman Barnett, Lower Township [1 docket]  
    16 August 1881 – 5 August 1886 
  Gaines P. Moore, Ocean City [2 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 12 October 1885 – 14 March 1902
[No. 2], 7 July 1897 – 13 November 1901
  John Spencer, West Cape May [1 docket]  
    18 March 1886 – 10 June 1901
  William E. Forcum, Wildwood, and Frederick E. Smith, Holly Beach [1 docket]  
     [part], Forcum: 6 June 1887 – 5 April 1889; Smith: 25 March 1889 – 27 July 1895
 1-148 Frederick E. Smith, Holly Beach  
    [cont’d], 27 July 1895 – 30 July 1895 
  Daniel Cosgrove, Lower Township [1 docket]  
    16 August 1888 – 10 March 1890 
  Edwin G. Westcott, S. Seaville [2 dockets] 
    [No. 1], 22 October 1890 – 16 April 1895
Complaint Docket, 13 August 1893 – 12 December 1894
  George H. Reeves, Lower Township & West Cape May [3 dockets]  
    [No. 1], 20 April 1892 – 16 April 1902 [also includes death certificates
   from 1910-1911, when he served as County Coroner]
Complaint Docket, 22 June 1899 – 12 March 1913
Complaint Docket, 30 April 1892 – 10 April 1913
  Thomas E. Ludlam, Sea Isle City [1 docket]
    7 October 1892 – 11 November 1895 
  Isaac Swain, Middle Township [1 docket]  
     6 May 1893 [1 entry only]
  A. Elton Holmes, Dennis Township [1 docket]  
     31 March 1894 – 4 April 1900
  H. G. Steelman and Robert Fisher, Ocean City [1 docket]  
    Steelman: 27 July 1894 [1 entry only];
Fisher: 12 August 1895 – 28 February 1896
  Charles E. Nichols [1 docket]  
    Complaint Docket, 8 June 1895 – 13 April 1901 
  John G. Woertz, Sea Isle City [1 docket]  
    20 April 1896 – 23 August 1896 
   James T. Chapman [1 docket]
    Complaint Docket, 16 October 1897 – 25 October 1901
  Robert P. Thompson, Cape May [1 docket] 
    15 January 1899 – 21 April 1904 

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations