njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Cumberland County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Miscellaneous Civil War Records, 1861-1862
Accession #:

1990.087

Series #:  CCUCL005
Guide Date:  12/1990 (JK)
Volume: 1 c.f. [1 box]



Contents

1. Envelope which enclosed papers, documents, etc., belonging to the Cumberland Grays and deposited by Charles F. Salkeld, Orderly Sergeant, in the Clerk's Office of Cumberland County, Bridgeton, NJ, 22 May 1861.
2. Correspondence from the Adjutant General's Office, July 1861 - March 1868 [65 items].
3. Copy of resolution passed by the Relief Committee, 25 April 1861, outlining the weekly provision for soldiers and their families before and after leaving for Trenton, according to family size.
4. List of the names, ages, occupation and residence of the members of Company B, 24th Regiment of New Jersey Volunteers, by Capt. Geo. E. Dunlop.
5. Lists of names of members of different companies who have families in Cumberland County, entitled to state pay, 1861-1862 [13 items]:
  1st and 3rd Regiments [1 sheet]
6th Regiment [1 sheet]
9th Regiment [1 sheet]
10th Regiment [1 sheet]
12th Regiment [2 sheets]
24th Regiment [4 sheets]
25th Regiment [2 sheets]
1st Cavalry [1 sheet]
6. New Jersey Militia - Muster Roll, 2nd Regiment, April 1861.
7. Roll - Volunteers, Cumberland County, NJ, entitled to State pay of $6.00 per month and County fund, 28 August 1861.
8. Quarterly return from Aug. 28th, Nov. 29th and Dec. 9th, 1861 - A list of names of volunteers from Cumberland County whose families and mothers are entitled to the state pay of $6.00 per month. 
9. Muster Certificate for Thomas Cotruel, of Ellisburg, Camden Co., into Company F, 3rd Regiment, on 10 October 1861. Filed 28 October 1861.
10. Lists of discharged men and deserters, 1st and 4th Regiments, December 1861 & January 1862 [2 items]. 
11. Quarterly Pay Rolls, March-June-September 1862 [3 items]. 
12. List of sergeants and corporals [with tick marks after each name], no date.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations