njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Essex County
Subgroup: Clerk's Office
Series: Manumissions of Slaves - Book A, 1804-1817, and Deed of Sale, 1787
Accession #: 1989.040
Series #:  CESCL001
Guide Date:  3/1994 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 vol.]; 0.33 reel [35-mm]


Content Note | Reel List

Legislative History

The earliest reference to manumission of slaves in the colonial laws of New Jersey was in "An Act for Regulating of Slaves," passed 11 March 1713/14 (NJA, Third Series, Vol. II, pp. 136-140). This legislation explicitly discouraged the freeing of slaves and required that the manumitting slaveowner enter into a £200 security with the crown and guarantee £20 annual support for the freed man for life. Further, the law made void the manumission of any slave freed by an owner's last will and testament if the executor of the estate refused to post the £200 bond. In 1769, this was reiterated in "An Act for laying a Duty on the Purchasers of Slaves imported into this Colony," which again required that at the time of manumission the slaveowner post a £200 bond with the crown to cover any legal charges that might be brought against the freed slave, or to fund the slave's public support if necessary (NJA, Third Series, Vol. IV, pp. 510-512). Failure to file the bond resulted in the manumission becoming legally void.

It was not until after the Revolutionary War that New Jersey passed legislation providing for regular manumission of slaves. This was in "An Act to prevent the Importation of Slaves into the State of New Jersey, and to authorize the Manumission of them under certain Restrictions, and to prevent the Abuse of Slaves," passed 2 March 1786 (P.L. 1786, chap. 119, p. 239). The law--considered a great victory for the abolitionist movement--allowed for the freeing of any slave between the ages of twenty-one and thirty-five with the stipulation that he or she be brought before two overseers of the poor for the township of the slaveowner's residence and two justices of the peace of that county, and be determined by them to be of sound mind and capable of obtaining his or her own support. The law also prescribed the form of manumission certificate (to be recorded by the county clerk).

Legislation in 1798 repealing the 1786 law raised the upper age for legal manumission to forty years, and also required the signatures of two witnesses on the manumission deed (P.L. 1798, chap. 727, p. 364). Six years later, in 1804, the State Legislature passed "An act for the Gradual Abolition of Slavery" (P.L. 1804, chap. 103, p. 251). This monumental law required the registration of births of slaves' children born after 4 July 1804 and declared such children to be "free," but bound as servants to the owners of their mothers for a period of twenty-five years for males and twenty-one years for females. No provision was made for slaves born before 4 July 1804.

After 1804, no legislation was passed in New Jersey substantially affecting manumission of slaves. "An act for the gradual abolition of Slavery, and other purposes respecting Slaves," passed by the Legislature on 24 February 1820, repealed the earlier slavery laws but essentially continued the procedure for manumission then in effect (P.L. 1820, p. 74). It is of interest to note that, in 1824, the Legislature passed a resolution in favor of establishing a foreign colony to allow for the "entire emancipation of the slaves in our country" (P.L. 1824, p. 191). It also passed resolutions in 1847 and 1849 opposing the extension of slavery into territories annexed to the United States (P.L. 1847, p. 188 and P.L. 1849, p. 334). Nevertheless, the State of New Jersey never passed a law actually abolishing the practice of slavery.



Content Note

The first page of this volume bears the title "Book A of Certificates and Deeds of Manumissions." Included are copies of manumission papers filed by Essex County slave owners (with overseers of the poor and justices of the peace) during the period 1804-1817. Unfortunately, neither the slaves' names nor the owners' names are indexed. The volume also contains a loose deed of sale of a slave named Harry by John [Mange?] to Aaron Crane, dated 1787.



Reel Listing - ESSEX COUNTY (Clerk)

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
1-911 Black Births (1804-1843)
Manumissions (1805-1853)
Births of Children of Slaves (1804-1843) [typed transcript follows]
Manumission Books A - C
(1805-1853)
[Indexes before Vol. A & B]
Slave Receipts (1787-1805);
#1305755

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations