njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Essex County
Subgroup: Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace
Series: Shopkeepers' Petitions and Licenses, 1781
Accession #: Unknown
Series #: 

CESQU001

Guide Date:  4/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents

Legislative History

On 22 December 1780, the General Assembly of the new state of New Jersey passed a law to more effectively prevent inhabitants of the state from trading with the British forces (see Acts of the Fifth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, first sitting, Chap. V, pp. 11-19). By section 18 of this law, merchants in counties bordering enemy territory (i.e. New York), and selling goods produced outside New Jersey or neighboring states, were required to apply to the county court of quarter sessions for a license to open a shop or store. Petitioners were required to solicit signatures from fifteen "reputable and well-affected" freeholders from the same county, certifying the applicant to also be of good repute and "well-affected" to the government of the state.

The penalty for selling foreign goods without a license was six pounds per offense--half of which was to go to the support of the poor in the township where the offense was committed. The courts were allowed to charge six shillings for the issuance of the licence. They were also empowered, of course, to revoke any shopkeeper's license if a legitimate complaint was made against him.



Content Note

This series contains signed petitions of Essex County (mainly Newark) shopkeepers, along with a few corresponding licenses. They date from the 2nd of January, 1781, soon after the enactment of the wartime trade legislation referred to above, to the end of June of that year.



Contents

No. Name Date Remarks
1. Anderson, Alexander no date  
2. Baldwin, Jesse 10 April 1781 [2 items]
3. Boorback, Garret 10 April 1781  
4. Camp, Sarah (widow) 8 April 1781  
5. Clark, Aaron 9 January 1781  
6. Clark, John Mersereau 9 January 1781 [2 items]
7. Cory, Abner 12 April 1781  
8. Crane Joseph 10 April 1781  
9. Drake, Abraham 6 January 1781  
10. Easton, David 26 June 1781  
11. Fleming, Edward 10 April 1781 [2 items]
12. Garritse, Garrat H. 10 April 1781 [2 items]
13. Gillam, James 9 January 1781  
14. Gillman, Charles 2 January 1781  
15. Halsted, Matthias 8 January 1781  
16. Hedden, Israel 7 April 1781  
17. Helme, Arthur 8 January 1781  
18. Hews, Alpheus 9 January 1781 [2 items]
19. Hill, Martin 10 April 1781  
20. Johnston, Robert no date  
21. Kip, James H. 9 April 1781  
22. Lyon, Daniel 9 January 1781  
23. Marsh, Noah no date  
24. Meeker, Capt. Samuel 8 January 1781  
25. Morrell, Thomas 8 January 1781  
26. Niel, Robert no date  
27. Nicholls/Nicolls, Abigail 23 & 26 June 1781 [2 items]
28. Nixsen, William 8 January 1781  
29. Ogden, Capt. John 11 January 1781  
30. Ogden, Lewis no date  
31. Ogden, Moses 27 June 1781  
32. Post, Francis 4 June 1781  
33. Ray, John 8 January 1781  
34. Sayr/Sears, Anthony 6 January 1781  
35. Sayre, Matthias 2 January 1781  
36. Smith, Jacob April 1781  
37. Smith, John April 1781  
38. Ten Brook, Henry April 1781  
39. Thompson, James 5 & 9 January 1781 [2 items]
40. Turell, Ebenezer 26 June 1781  
41. Van Vleck, Isaac 8 January 1781  
42. Wilson, James no date  
43. Winans, Jacob 27 March 1781  

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations