njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Hunterdon County
Subgroup: Militia
Series: Records, 1781-1843
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  CHNML001
Guide Date:  Pre-1989
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box]



Content Note

This series includes certificates of officers' elections, 1781-1787; paymaster bonds, 1806-1843; and other papers of the Hunterdon County Militia. The documents were formerly included as part of the "Bureau of Archives and History Manuscript Collection."


Contents

Item Description
1. Certificate of election of John Nevius, to be Lieutenant, 7th Company, 4th Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, April 2, 1781.
2. Certificate of election of Peter Howel and Reuben [McFerson?], to be officers of Colonel Beaver's battalion in Captain Gearhart's Company, Hunterdon County militia, April 4, 1782.
3. Certificate of election of Peter Case, to be Ensign of Captain Francis Kruser's Company, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, September 4, 1782.
4. Certificate of election of Ichabud B. Barnett, to be Captain, 9th Company, 4th Battalion, Hunterdon militia, May 6, 1782.
5. Certificate of election of James Johnson, John Bonnel and Richard Mayberry, to be officers of Colonel Joseph Beaver's Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, July 27, 1782.
6. Certificate of election of David Pearson and Amos Howell, to be officers of 6th Company, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, June 2, 1783.
7. Certificate of election of William Lowrey, John Stout and Samuel Sherrerd, to be officers of 5th Company, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, April 7, 1783.
8. Certificate of election of William Farrow, Garret Covenhoven and Jacob Smith, to be officers of the 2nd Company of Bethlehem Township, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, April 5, 1784.
9. Certificate of election of William Apgar, to be Ensign of Colonel Joseph Beaver's battalion, Captain James Johnson's Company, April 1784.
10. Certificate of election of Cornelius Barcalow, to be Ensign in Captain Cornelius Johnson's Company, Colonel Joseph Beaver's Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, April 1, 1784.
11. Certificate of election of George Allen, Abel Everit and James Howzel to be officers at the company lately commanded by Isaac Bassett, Colonel Joseph Beaver's Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, April 17, 1784.
12. Certificate of election of Richard Mayberry, to be Lieutenant of Captain James Johnson's Company, Colonel Joseph Beaver's Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, May 1784.
13. Certificate of election of Jonathan Wolverton, to be Ensign of Captain Daniel Bray's Company, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon County, April 4, 1785.
14. Certificate of election of William Everitt, William Harrington and Francis Robinson to be officers of the company formerly commanded by Captain Cornelius Johnson, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, July 2, 1785.
15. Certificate of election of Thomas Firce and Henry Dusenberry, to be officers of 4th Company, 4th Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, April 18, 1786; certificate of election of John Eveland, to be officer in same company, April 20, 1787.
16. Certificate of election of Charles McHeurey, Jacobus Housel and William Harrington, to be officers of 4th Company, Colonel Joseph Beaver's Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, November 6, 1786.
17. Certificate of election of William Burroughs, to be Lieutenant of Captain John Moore's Company, Colonel Phillip's Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, April 2, 1787.
18. Certificate of election of Henry Rockefeller and David Everitt, to be officers of Colonel Joseph Beaver's Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, April 2, 1787.
19. Certificate of election of Daniel Carpenter, to be Ensign of Captain John Moore's Company, Colonel Phillips Battalion, Hunterdon County militia, April 2, 1787.
20. Certificate of election of Abner Hart, to be Lieutenant of Captain [Everit's?] Company, 2nd Regiment of foot militia, Hunterdon County, May 4, 1787.
21. Return of Captain John H. Schenck's Company of Grenadiers, Colonel John Taylor's Regiment, Hunterdon County militia, December 27, 1792.
22. Certificate of appointment of Benjamin Egbert, to be Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, May 10, 1806.
23. Bond of Samuel Barber to the State of New Jersey, for collecting fines from delinquents of 1st Battalion, 4th Regiment, New Jersey militia, August 13, 1806.
24. Peter Quick, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 6, 1807.
25. John Thompson, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, July 20, 1809.
26. Peter F. Schamp, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 12, 1818.
27. John T. Bray, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 19, 1807.
28. John W. Kline, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, May 1, 1814.
29. Joseph Bartles, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, July 30, 1824.
30. Benjamin Egbert, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, September 24, 1806.
31. Benjamin Egbert, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 7, 1807.
32. Adam Kase, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, May 15, 1806.
33. David R. Warford, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, December 23, 1819.
34. Richard Hendrickson, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 30, 1806.
35. John Barber, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, September 4, 1809.
36. George Brearley, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 13, 1811.
37. Harvey Brearley, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, May 7, 1822.
38. Daniel G. Howell, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, September 4, 1806.
39. Joshua Bunn, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, July 25, 1812.
40. Solomon Holcomb, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 4th Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, May 9, 1816.
41. Jeremiah Kershow, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 4th Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, September 27, 1806.
42. Elijah Willson, Paymaster, 2nd Battalion, 4th Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, May 9, 1816.
43. Jacques Voorhees Quick, Paymaster, Hunterdon Brigade, May 31, 1813.
44. John Barber, Paymaster, Hunterdon Brigade, February 7, 1816.
45. Alexander Calhoun, Paymaster, Independent Battalion, Hunterdon Brigade, September 1, 1820.
46. John W. Kline, Paymaster, Hunterdon Brigade, December 22, 1840.
47. William Barber, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, September 3, 1841.
48. Peter S. Dalley, Paymaster, 1st Battalion, 1st Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, August 28, 1843.
49. Commission of William O. Loder to be Lieutenant of the 1st Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade of the New Jersey militia, June 29, 1829.
50. Commission of William A. Loder to be 1st Lieutenant of Artillery Company, 1st Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade of New Jersey militia, December 17, 1832.
51. Commission of William A. Loder to be 1st Lieutenant of Artillery Company, 1st Battalion, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Brigade, of New Jersey Militia, October 26, 1833.
52. Account of expenses for finishing the colors of Hunterdon Brigade, [N.D.].

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations