njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: United States Census Bureau
Series: 1870 Federal Census for New Jersey
Accession #: 1995.043, 2002.051
Series #: 

FCE00006

Guide Date:  10/2003 (A)
Volume: 29.25 c.f. [30 vols.]; 48 reels [35-mm]


Reel List

Contents

Volume Contents
1 Atlantic County
2 Bergen County
3 Burlington County
4 Camden County
5 Cape May County
6 Cumberland County
7 Essex County [excluding Newark]
8 Newark [Essex County]
Wards 1 - 6
9 Newark [Essex County]
Wards 7 - 13
10 Gloucester County
11 Hudson County [excluding Jersey City]
12 Jersey City [Hudson County]
Wards 1 - 7
13 Jersey City [Hudson County]
Wards 8 - 16
14 Hunterdon County
15 Mercer County
16 Middlesex County
17 Monmouth County
18 Morris County
19 Ocean County
20 Passaic County
21 Salem County
22 Somerset County
23 Sussex County
24 Union County
25 Warren County
26 Agricultural Schedule:
Atlantic - Morris Counties
27 Agricultural Schedule:
Ocean - Warren Counties
28 Industrial Schedule
29 Mortality Schedule
30 Statistics of Population
[Essex County Clerk's copy]


Reel Listing - 1870 FEDERAL CENSUS

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
1 Atlantic Co. (all)  
2 Bergen Co. (all)  
3 Burlington Co., p. 1 - 245
Bass River - Chester Twp.
 
4 Burlington Co., p. 246 - 460A
Chesterfield - Medford Twp.
 
5 Burlington Co., p. 577 - 694,
742A - 828A, 543 - 576A
Includes: Randolph - Woodland
& New Hanover - Pemberton
6 Camden Co., p. 1 - 305 Includes: Gloucester City, Stockton,
Merchantville, Washington, Waterford,
Winslow, Delaware (p. 25 - 41),
Gloucester, Haddonfield,
Monroe, & Newton
7 Camden Co., p. 306 - 509,
695 - 742A, 510 - 576A
Includes: Camden - Delaware
(p. 1 - 24) & Pemberton
8 Cape May Co. (all)  
9 Cumberland Co. (all)  
10 Essex Co., p. 1 - 262
Belleville - Millburn Twp.
 
11 Essex Co., p. 263 - 499
Montclair - Woodside Twp.
 
12 Essex Co.:
Newark (1st - 3rd Wards)
p. 1 - 310A
13 Essex Co.:
Newark (4th - 6th Wards)
p. 311 - 624A
14 Essex Co.:
Newark (7th - 10th Wards)
p. 1 - 421A
15 Essex Co.:
Newark (11th - 13th Wards)
p. 422 - 702
16 Gloucester Co. (all)  
17 Hudson Co.:
Bayonne - Harrison
p. 275 - 422A
18 Hudson Co.:
Hoboken
p. 1 - 257
19 Hudson Co.:
Kearny - West Hoboken Twp.
p. 258 - 460
20 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (1st - 5th Wards)
p. 1 - 415A
21 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (6th - 10th Wards)
p. 1 - 294
22 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (11th - 16th Wards)
p. 295 - 631
23 Hunterdon Co., p. 1 - 235A
Alexandria - Kingwood Twp.
 
24 Hunterdon Co., p. 236 - 472
Lebanon - West Amwell
& Lambertville
 
25 Mercer Co., p. 1 - 269
East Windsor - Princeton Twp.
 
26 Mercer Co., p. 270 - 595A
Trenton - West Windsor Twp.
 
27 Middlesex Co., p. 1 - 305
East Brunswick - North
Brunswick Twp.
 
28 Middlesex Co., p. 305 - 576A
Perth Amboy - Woodbridge Twp.
 
29 Monmouth Co., p. 1 - 293
Atlantic - Middletown Twp.
 
30 Monmouth Co., p. 294 - 597A
Millstone - Wall Twp.
 
31 Morris Co., p. 1 - 289A
Boonton - Morristown
 
32 Morris Co., p. 291 - 552
Passaic - Washington Twp.
 
33 Ocean Co. (all)  
34 Passaic Co., p. 177 - 265
Acquackanonk - Manchester Twp.
 
35 Passaic Co., p. 266 - 698
City of Paterson
 
36 Passaic Co., p. 699 - 777
Pompton - West Milford Twp.
 
37 Salem Co. (all)  
38 Somerset Co. (all)  
39 Sussex Co. (all)  
40 Union Co., p. 304 - 576A
Clark & Elizabeth
 
41 Union Co., p. 578 - 846A
Linden - Westfield Twp.
 
42 Warren Co. (all)  
43 Agriculture:
Atlantic - Gloucester Cos.
 
44 Agriculture:
Hudson- Morris Cos.
 
45 Agriculture:
Ocean - Warren Cos.
 
46 Agriculture:
Statistical Summary (statewide)
 
47 Products of Industry (by county)  
48 Mortality Schedule (by county)  

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations