| Record
Group: |
Work
Projects Administration (WPA) |
| Subgroup: |
New Jersey Writers' Project |
| Series: |
New
Jersey Ethnological Survey Records, 1935-1939 |
| Accession
#: |
1957.003
prob. |
| Series
#: |
FWPNW001 |
| Guide
Date: |
Pre-1989 |
| Volume: |
5.5
c.f. [6 boxes] |
Content
Note | Box 1 | Box 2 | Box
3 | Box 4 | Box 5 | Box
6
Institutional
History
The
Federal Writers' Project was originally established in 1935 as part
of the Works Progress Administration, a depression era program established
to alleviate unemployment. Initially designed to produce a series
of state and local guidebooks, the writer's project subsequently
redirected its efforts toward compiling collections of folklore,
surveys of ethnic groups, and narratives of former slaves. Every
state had its own office for the Writers' Project, which reported
to the national office in Washington, D.C. As a result of cutbacks
in the budget in 1939, Congress transferred primary responsibility
for the Federal Writers' Project to state government, provided they
could supply 25 percent of their own funding. The project continued
in all forty eight states as the "WPA Writers' Program",
until all WPA projects were terminated in 1943.
As part of the New Jersey Writer's Program (Project), the New Jersey
Ethnological Survey began operating in July 1938 under the direction
of Charles W. Churchill and Vivian P. Mintz. Concentrating on Newark
and nearby communities, which were its base of operations, the survey
sought to research and publish a series of reports on the history
and present condition of New Jersey's major ethnic communities.
Fieldworkers collected data from a number of sources: questionnaires,
case histories, census data and a variety of published materials.
A special area of concentration, the study of Negroes in Newark,
Atlantic City and Montclair, was co sponsored by the New Jersey
Urban League.
Though the New Jersey Writer's Program did not end until 1943, the
Ethnological Survey was jeopardized early on, when staff cutbacks
in the FWP led it to shift personnel to higher priority projects.
In addition, conflicting philosophies on the proper focus of the
survey caused internal dissension. For Churchill and Mintz, the
questionnaires, which focused on prejudices among different ethnic
groups, formed the heart of the survey's work. Federal authorities,
however, preferred to concentrate on collecting case histories in
order to project a more optimistic portrayal of ethnic life. WPA
records held by the National Archives suggest that the project formally
ended in September 1939. However, this collection's records suggest
that survey work continued on an informal basis: some familiar names
remained connected to the project, though regular writers for the
Writers' Program may have carried on most of the work after the
ethnological survey was officially disbanded. All work on the survey,
whether official or unofficial, ended by the end of 1940, before
it was able to publish any of its projected reports on New Jersey
ethnic communities. |
Bibliography
Banks,
Ann and Robert Carter. Survey of Federal Writers' Project Manuscript
Holdings in State Depositories.
Washington,
D.C.: Americal Historical Association, 1985.
Cohen, David Steven, ed. America, the Dream of My Life: Case
Histories from the Federal Writers' Project's New Jersey
Ethnic
Survey. Rutgers University Press, forthcoming.
Mangione, Jerre. The Dream and the Deal: The Federral Writers'
Project, 1935-1943. Boston - Toronto: Little, Brown and
Company, 1972.
McElvaine, Robert S. The Great Depression: America, 1929 - 1941.
Toronto: Fitzhenry and Whiteside, Ltd., 1984.
Penkower, Monty Noam. The Federal Writers' Project: A Study of
Government Patronage of the Arts. University of
Illinois Press,
1977.
|
Content
Note
When
the WPA Writers' Program shutdown, it deposited the records of the
Ethnological Survey in the New Jersey State Library, which subsequently
transferred them to the state archives. Because the survey disbanded
before completing any publications, its files consist largely of
research notes and unfinished drafts of proposed reports. (A major
exception to this was the Negro study for Newark, which had the
material organized into nearly completed chapters for a final report.)
Compounding this problem is the fact that the original order of
the files has been lost, if in fact a specific order ever existed.
In order to remedy these defects, the files have been essentially
rearranged into the following series: 1) general 2) ethnic files
and 3) geographic files. The original folder order, such as it existed
immediately prior to rearrangement, has been preserved by noting
old folder numbers in the attached file listing. In addition, duplicates,
transcripts of published works, and other ephemeral material has
been discarded from the collection.
The general series consists of files dealing with the ethnic survey
administration, general reference materials used for all groups,
and sample questionnaires and data from both the general survey
and the special survey on foreign language press. The general questionnaire,
which was used among a variety of ethnic groups, inquired about
the interviewees' origins, social and economic status, and cultural
attitudes. Additional questions on newspaper reading and radio listening
habits were designed in cooperation with the Princeton Radio Project.
The special survey of the foreign language press interviewed producers
of ethnic newspapers and radio programs, asking specific questions
about their products' origins, leadership and general history.
The ethnic files series deals specifically with the sixteen ethnic
groups studied in New Jersey, and contains the following types of
research files: 1) summaries of survey questionnaire data, 2) case
histories, and 3) newspaper clippings and other publications. The
files also include finished chapters and drafts of chapters for
those publications which were nearly complete when the project terminated
in 1940. The final series, geographic files, contain information,
arranged by municipality or county, on ethnic population, employment,
health statistics, criminal offenses and cultural organizations.
|
| Series
Listing |
| Series/Subseries |
Box
No. |
| |
| General |
|
| |
Ethnic
Groups of New Jersey |
1 |
| |
Ethnic
Survey - Administration |
1 |
| |
Foreign
Language Press Survey |
1 |
| |
Reference
Material |
1 |
| |
Survey
Questionnaire |
1 |
| |
|
|
| Ethnic
Files |
|
| |
Dutch |
1 |
| |
English |
1 |
| |
Germans |
1 |
| |
Greeks |
1 |
| |
Hungarians |
1 |
| |
Irish |
1 |
| |
Italians |
1 |
| |
Jews
in New Jersey |
2 |
| |
Jews
- Specific Locations |
2 |
| |
Lithuanians |
2 |
| |
Negroes
- Newark |
3 |
| |
Negroes
- General |
3 |
| |
Polish |
3 |
| |
Portuguese |
3 |
| |
Russians |
4 |
| |
Scottish |
4 |
| |
Spanish |
4 |
| |
Ukrainians |
4 |
| |
|
|
| Geographic
Files |
|
| |
Essex
County |
4 |
| |
Newark |
4 |
| |
Passaic
County |
4 |
| |
Paterson |
4 |
| |
Perth
Amboy |
4 |
| |
Trenton |
4 |
| |
United
States |
4 |
| |
|
|
| Oversize
Files |
5 |
| |
|
|
| Unprocessed
Records |
6 |
| Box
1 |
| |
| Series:
GENERAL |
|
| |
| |
File
Name |
Original
Folder No. |
| |
| Ethnic
Groups of New Jersey: |
| |
| 1. |
Candidates
for N.J. State Assembly, 1933-39 |
64 |
| 2. |
Chart
of ethnic group size by ward - unnamed city (oversize) |
260 |
| 3. |
Ethnic
groups in Newark, Perth Amboy, Paterson, and Trenton |
13 |
| 4. |
Ethnic
politics |
30 |
| 5. |
Industrial
centers |
?? |
| 6. |
List
of names and associated ethnic groups (covering only A - D) |
145 |
| 7. |
Population,
history and location of various ethnic groups |
69 |
| 8. |
Statistics:
1930 Census |
17 |
| |
| Ethnic
Survey - Administration: |
| |
| 9. |
Lists
of original files |
none |
| 10. |
Memorandum
asking for higher salary for black fieldworkers |
167 |
| |
| Foreign
Language Press Survey: |
| |
| 11. |
Completed
questionnaires and data re: newspapers surveyed |
117 |
| 12. |
Correspondence |
119 |
| 13. |
List
of New Jersey ethnic newspapers |
118 |
| 14. |
Outline
for "Foreign Language Press of New York." |
154 |
| 15. |
Questionnaires |
117,
119, 154 |
| 16. |
Foreign
Language Broadcasts |
132 |
| 17. |
Foreign
Language Broadcasts and Newspaper Reading |
140 |
| 18. |
Radio
Listening Habits of 1st/2nd Generations - Newark (oversize) |
133 |
| 19. |
Research
notes/reports re: ethnic newspapers |
155 |
| 20. |
Research
notes/reports re: survey plans |
156 |
| |
| Reference
Material: |
| |
| 21.
|
Lists
of national magazines and newspapers |
278 |
| 22. |
Occupational
titles and codes, U.S. Dept. of Labor |
274 |
| 23. |
Reading
lists |
18 |
| |
| Survey
Questionnaire: |
| |
| 24. |
Outline
of survey |
150 |
| 25. |
Rough
drafts of survey results for various ethnic groups. |
6 |
| 26. |
Special
survey for alien and Negro groups |
? |
| 27. |
Survey
codebook |
57 |
| 28. |
Survey
codebook |
64 |
| 29. |
Survey
codebook |
76 |
| 30. |
Survey
codebook |
141 |
| 31. |
Survey
codebook |
215 |
| 32. |
Survey
questions and instructions |
1 |
| 33. |
Tabulated
survey results for various ethnic groups. |
4 |
| Series:
ETHNIC FILES |
| |
| |
Place |
Subject |
Original
Folder No. |
| |
| Dutch: |
| |
| 34. |
Netherlands |
Dutch
festivals |
140 |
| 35. |
New
Jersey |
Early
Dutch Buildings of New Jersey |
14 |
| 36. |
Paterson |
Case
histories from interviews |
127 |
| 37. |
|
Dutch
churches |
14 |
| 38. |
|
Dutch
newspapers |
14 |
| 39. |
|
Organizations |
14 |
| 40. |
|
Property
owners |
14 |
| 41. |
|
Public
officials and professionals |
2 |
| 42. |
|
Vital
statistics |
14 |
| |
| English: |
| |
| 43. |
Newark |
Newspaper
clippings |
273 |
| |
| Germans: |
| |
| 44. |
New
Jersey |
Broadside
- Steuben Institute |
60 |
| 45. |
|
German/Amer.
social organizations |
129 |
| 46. |
|
German
churches of Newark |
62 |
| 47. |
|
Germans
in Newark |
129 |
| 48. |
|
Newspaper
clippings |
273 |
| 49. |
|
Survey
tabulations |
9 |
| |
| Greeks: |
| |
| 50. |
Newark |
Instructions
and corr. re. Study of Greeks |
188 |
| 51. |
|
Newspaper
clippings |
273 |
| |
| Hungarians: |
| |
| 52. |
Perth
Amboy |
Businesses/Occupations |
146 |
| 53. |
|
Holidays
and customs |
139 |
| 54. |
|
Newspapers
and clippings |
170 |
| 55. |
|
Prominent
Hungarian citizens |
146 |
| 56. |
|
Religion
and churches |
147,
148 |
| 57. |
|
Religious
pamphlets/booklets |
147,
170 |
| 58. |
|
Survey
questionnaires – completed |
157 |
| 59. |
|
Vital
statistics - 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930,
and 1939 |
174 |
| 60. |
Perth
Amboy/Newark |
Hungarian
organizations |
149,
173 |
| |
| Irish: |
| |
| 61. |
Newark |
Case
histories |
70,
123 |
| 62. |
|
"The
Irish in Newark," by W. L. McMillan (1939) |
70 |
| 63. |
|
Newspaper
clippings |
70,
273 |
| |
| Italians: |
| |
| 64. |
Morristown |
Report;
list of occupations |
242 |
| 65. |
Newark |
Newspaper
clipping |
273 |
| 66. |
|
Outline
for survey report |
133 |
| 67. |
Paterson |
Culture
- notes and program |
14 |
| 68. |
|
List
of Italian officials |
14 |
| 69. |
|
Names,
addresses, and property values - table |
2 |
| 70. |
|
Vital
statistics, 1939 |
14 |
| 71. |
Paterson/Newark |
Italian
churches |
14,
65 |
| 72. |
Paterson/Passaic |
Organizations |
14 |
| 73. |
Trenton |
Grocery
stores (Italian owned) |
7 |
| 74. |
|
Homeowners
(addresses, by ward) |
7 |
| 75. |
|
Population
tables, 1930 (by ward) |
7 |
| |
| Box
2 |
| |
| Series:
ETHNIC FILES |
| |
| |
Doc.
Type |
Subject |
Original
Folder No. |
| |
| Jews
in New Jersey: |
| |
| 1. |
Bibliography |
Bibliographic
materials |
203 |
| 2. |
Biographies |
Prominent
Jews in New Jersey |
249,
189 |
| 3. |
List/data |
Jewish
newspapers in New Jersey |
196,
257 |
| 4. |
Publications |
Jewish
organizations |
246,
55 |
| 5. |
|
Jewish
Welfare Board |
192 |
| 6. |
|
Jewish
calendar and reference |
|
| 7. |
|
Newspaper
clippings |
277 |
| 8. |
|
Comm.
on Population Research, Conf. on Jewish Relations |
206 |
| 9 |
|
Comm.
on Population Research, Conf. on Jewish Relations |
262 |
| 10. |
Report |
Outlines
for report on "Jews in New Jersey" |
261 |
| 11. |
|
Chapter
1: "Origins and Background in Europe" |
195,
217 |
| 12. |
|
Chapter
3: "Life in Early Settlements..." |
217,
201 |
| 13. |
|
Chapter
7: "The Contemporary Family" |
254 |
| 14. |
|
Chapter
8: "Religious Life" |
217 |
| 15. |
Notes/data |
Agricultural
colonies in South Jersey |
193 |
| 16. |
|
Assimilation
with American society |
205,
207 |
| 17. |
|
Business
and industry in New Jersey |
197,
276 |
| 18. |
|
Crime
among Jews in New Jersey and U.S. |
199 |
| 19. |
|
Education
in New Jersey |
200 |
| 20. |
|
History/background
of Jews |
191 |
| 21. |
|
1933
Homesteads Plan |
209 |
| 22. |
|
Immigration
to the U.S. and New Jersey |
190 |
| 23. |
|
Marriage
and family |
202,
254 259,
198 |
| 24. |
|
Military
service in U.S. |
252, 209 |
| 25. |
|
Organizations
in New Jersey (2 Files) |
246,
194 |
| 26. |
|
Organizations
in New Jersey (oversize) |
246,
194 |
| 27. |
|
Politics
in New Jersey |
245 |
| 28. |
|
Population
in New Jersey |
206 |
| 29. |
|
Professions/occupations |
211 |
| 30. |
|
Religion
- churches in New Jersey |
198,
258 |
| 31. |
|
Religion
- community |
198,
258 |
| 32. |
|
Religion
- customs/laws/ceremonies |
210 |
| 33. |
|
Religion
- holidays |
198, 258 |
| 34. |
|
Social
life/recreation |
194 |
| 35. |
Survey |
Questionnaire
code books |
59,
137, 185 |
| 36. |
|
Survey
questionnaire |
261 |
| 37. |
|
Tabulations:
Non-Russian Jews |
11 |
| 38. |
|
Tabulations:
Russian Jews, completed survey forms |
10,
247 |
| |
| Jews
- Specific Locations: |
| |
| 39. |
Newark |
Case
histories |
190 |
| 40. |
|
Jewish
community |
190,
250, 272 |
| 41. |
|
Results
of interviews with German Jews |
? |
| 42. |
|
Study
guidelines |
190 |
| 43. |
Paterson |
Case
histories |
189 |
| 44. |
|
Newspaper
clippings (oversize) |
241,
253 |
| 45. |
|
Property
owners |
251 |
| 46. |
Perth
Amboy |
Instructions
for interviewers (survey) |
261 |
| 47. |
|
Newspaper
articles |
255 |
| 48. |
|
Report
on Jews of Perth Amboy |
264,
256 |
| 49. |
|
Vital
statistics (oversize) |
256 |
| 50. |
Trenton |
Population
distribution |
136 |
| |
| Lithuanians: |
| |
| 51. |
Newark |
Correspondence
re: "History of Lithuanians in Newark" |
52 |
| 52. |
|
General
information regarding Lithuania |
52 |
| 53. |
|
History
in Newark |
52 |
| 54. |
|
Miscellaneous
pamphlets and programs |
52 |
| 55. |
|
Newsclippings |
273 |
| 56. |
U.S. |
Research
manual for study of Lithuanians |
52 |
| |
| Box
3 |
| |
| Series:
ETHNIC FILES |
| |
| |
Doc.
Type |
Subject |
Original
Folder No. |
| |
| Negroes
- Newark: |
| |
| 1. |
Report |
Bibliography
for report, "Negroes in Newark" |
228 |
| 2. |
|
Introduction
for report, "Negroes in Newark"
(oversize) |
? |
| 3. |
|
Outlines
for report, "Negroes in Newark" |
90,
162 |
| 4. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 1: "Third Ward" |
99,
120 |
| 5. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 2: "Slave Child" |
92,
93, 103 |
| 6. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 3: "Black Sheep" |
237 |
| 7. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 4: "Earning a Living" |
221 |
| 8. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 5: "Housing" |
222 |
| 9. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 6: "Social Outcasts," p. 1,
"Crime" |
89 |
| 10. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 6: "Social Outcasts," p. 3,
"Probation" |
100,
122 |
| 11. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 7: "Going to School" |
81,
238 |
| 12. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 8: "Social Pattern" (oversize) |
160 |
| 13. |
|
Version
1, Chap. 9: "Attitude" |
239 |
| 14. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 1: "Background" |
90 |
| 15. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 2: "Migration" |
77 |
| 16. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 3: "Earning a Living" |
108 |
| 17. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 4: "The Negro Community" |
223 |
| 18. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 5: "Disorganization" |
226 |
| 19. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 6: "Group Life" |
95 |
| 20. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 7: "Education" |
97 |
| 21. |
|
Version
2, Chap. 8: "Attitudes" |
98 |
| 22. |
Data/drafts |
Miscellaneous |
88,
151, 152 164,
166, 181, 183, 228 |
| 23. |
Photos |
Negro
life, 1930s |
86 |
| 24. |
Statistics |
Population,
occupations, school enrollment |
86,
88, 228 |
| 25. |
Survey |
Correspondence |
233,
234 |
| 26. |
|
Reports |
8,
12, 101 102, 111 |
| |
| |
Place |
Subject |
Original
Folder No. |
| |
| Negroes
- General: |
| |
| 27. |
Atlantic
City |
Bibliographic
references |
? |
| 28. |
|
Earning
a living, labor |
88,
86 |
| 29. |
|
Education |
91 |
| 30. |
|
General
history |
112 |
| 31. |
|
Health |
82 |
| 32. |
|
Housing |
78 |
| 33. |
|
Miscellaneous
reports |
81,
82 |
| 34. |
|
Publications |
78 |
| 35. |
|
Religion |
78 |
| 36. |
|
Social
organizations |
88,
228, 178 |
| 37. |
|
Statistical
tables |
94 |
| 38. |
|
Survey
correspondence |
79,
85 |
| 39. |
|
Survey
work records |
79 |
| 40. |
Montclair |
Reports/notes |
181 |
| 41. |
|
Survey
report |
177 |
| 42. |
Newark/Atlantic
City/
Montclair |
Survey
- work outline plan (oversize) |
97,
175, 234 |
| 43. |
New
Jersey |
Mailing
lists used by Urban League (oversize) |
161 |
| 44. |
|
Miscellaneous
notes/reports |
184,
235 |
| 45. |
|
New
Jersey Urban League, "Twenty-first Annual
Report" |
116 |
| 46. |
|
Reference
publications |
none |
| 47. |
|
Survey
interviewer's file (oversize) |
131,
229 |
| 48. |
|
Survey
questionnaire code books |
212,
214 |
| 49. |
|
Survey
questionnaire, tests |
8 |
| 50. |
|
Survey
respondents' remarks |
none |
| 51. |
|
"Survey
of Negro Life"
[report by Department of Institutions & Agencies] |
79 |
| 52. |
U.S. |
Labor
Unions
[report by National Urban League] |
168 |
| 53. |
|
General
Essays |
none |
| |
| Polish: |
| |
| 54. |
Newark |
Adjustments/Integration
[Chap. 4 of proposed report] |
54,
25 |
| 55. |
|
Case
histories |
26,
123 |
| 56. |
|
Communities
|
15,
40 |
| 57. |
|
Customs
|
40,
54 |
| 58. |
|
Early
life in Newark |
40 |
| 59. |
|
Education |
44 |
| 60. |
|
Family
[Chap. 7 of proposed report] |
45 |
| 61. |
|
Holidays
(oversize) |
46,
54 |
| 62. |
|
Industry |
43 |
| 63. |
|
Language |
42 |
| 64. |
|
Military
service in World War I |
40 |
| 65. |
|
Newspaper
and radio |
41,
16 |
| 66. |
|
Occupations |
39 |
| 67. |
|
Organizations |
38 |
| 68. |
|
Outlines
for proposed report |
37 |
| 69. |
|
Pamphlets |
36 |
| 70. |
|
Poles
in Poland |
35 |
| 71. |
|
Poles
in U.S. |
25,
40 |
| 72. |
|
Polish
public opinion
[Chap. 13 of proposed report] |
40 |
| 73. |
|
Polish
| |