njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Union Township (Union County)
Subgroup: Assessor's Office
Series: Returns of Birth, Death and Marriage for the period 1 May 1872-1 May 1873
Accession #: 1994.073
Series #: MUUTB001
Guide Date: 11/1994 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of original birth, death and marriage returns prepared by Daniel H. Sayre, Assessor of Union Township, for the period from 1 May 1872 to 1 May 1873. The returns were required by the vital records legislation of 1848 and its various amendments (see P.L. 1848, p. 155; P.L. 1851, p. 434; P.L. 1862, ch. 85, p. 161; and P.L. 1863, ch. 256, p. 472). While the law stipulated that returns of vital statistics be submitted to the Secretary of State, these copies of the Union Township returns for 1872-1873 were apparently (unnecessarily) submitted to the Union County Clerk, from whose office they were received by the State Archives in 1994. The sheets are duplicates of those included in the Secretary of State's vital statistics registers, as shown in the Contents list below. They are also included on Genealogical Society of Utah microfilm #1301703 (State Archives film: Union County, #1-48).



Contents

Record Type VS Register Reference
Births [2 sheets] Vol. CF, pp. 459-461
Deaths [1 sheet] Vol. BL, pp. 870-871
Marriages [1 sheets] Vol. AV, p. 344

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations