| Record
Group: |
Batsto
Iron and Glass Works |
| Series: |
Account
Books (Arthur D. Pierce Collection), 1821-1881 |
| Accession
#: |
1963.006,
2002.015 |
| Series
#: |
PBATS001 |
| Guide
Date: |
2/1992
(JK) |
| Volume: |
10
c.f. [86 vols.]; 23 reels [35-mm] |
Content
Note | Contents
| Reels
Institutional
History
The
Batsto Iron Works had its beginnings in 1766, when the colonial
Assembly passed an act enabling Charles Read, Esq., to erect a
dam over Batsto Creek for the purpose of establishing a bar iron
works. To provide fuel for the furnace, Read and his partners
acquired timber rights to 60,000 acres of land surrounding the
site. In 1770, the business was purchased by John Cox, with Joseph
Ball retained as manager. Ball operated the furnace during the
Revolutionary War, at which time the Batsto works produced Howitzer
cannons, gunshot, and cannonballs for the American forces.
In 1778, Cox sold the furnace to Thomas Mayberry, who in turn
sold his interests the following year to Joseph Ball. Batsto's
forge was erected in the summer of 1781 for shaping iron produced
at the Batsto furnace. In 1784, William Richards (Ball's uncle),
who had been associated with the furnace prior to the war, returned
to Batsto and acquired full ownership of the works. During the
next several decades, the Richards family built a sizeable iron
industry in southern New Jersey, with ownership also of the Atsion,
Weymouth, and Martha Furnaces in Burlington County, and the Washington
Furnace in Monmouth County.
William Richards continued operation of the Batsto works until
1809, when he retired and turned over management of the business
to his son, Jesse. During the War of 1812, the Batsto works again
produced ball and shot for the American military effort. With
the settlement of the estate of William Richards in 1824, Batsto
furnace was sold at auction to Jesse's nephew, Thomas S. Richards.
Jesse Richards, however, was retained as manager and, in 1829,
he purchased half-interest in the works. That year, Jesse Richards
also rebuilt the furnace. During the 1830s, two to three thousand
boatloads of cargo were handled at Batsto. With the discovery
of coal in the Allegheny Mountains, however, the Batsto furnace,
which depended on vast supplies of timber for fuel, was destined
to become obsolete.
In 1846, Jesse Richards purchased the remaining half-interest
in the iron works from the estate of Thomas S. Richards. At this
time, he inaugurated the manufacture of glass at Batsto by adding
the first of two glass factories to the complex. Richards' glass
business was entered into at first in partnership with James M.
Brookfield, and concentrated on the production of window panes.
The second glass factory at Batsto was completed by Richards in
1848. This same year, the furnace, which had been in operation
for over eighty years, was permanently closed down (though some
iron was produced as late as 1855 in a small "cupola"
operation). During the next decade, the nationally-reputed southern
New Jersey glass industry boomed. The Batsto glassworks thrived
for several years, but by the time of Jesse Richards death in
1854, Batsto profits were threatened by competition from other
nearby works (including those of Jesse's brother Thomas, and of
his former employee, William Wescoat). Thomas H. Richards, Jesse's
son, took over management of Batsto after his father's death.
He operated the business until 1867, when possession of the works
was turned over to Francis H. Holmes, the company's main creditor.
The glasshouse fire went out for the last time on 15 June 1867.
|
| Bibliography
Boucher,
Jack E. Of Batsto and Bog Iron. (Batsto, NJ: Batsto Citizens
Committee, 1964).
Ewing, Sarah W. R. An Introduction to Batsto. (Batsto,
NJ: Batsto Citizens Committee, 1986).
Ewing, Sarah W. R. Batsto Lights: The Story of Batsto Glass
and the Richards Dynasty.
(Batsto, NJ: Batsto
Citizens Committee, 1988).
Lippincott, Bertram. An Historical Sketch of Batsto, New Jersey.
(Batsto, NJ: Batsto Citizens Committee,
1978 reprint of
1933 edition).
|
| Content
Note
This
collection of account ledgers was purchased by the New Jersey Department
of Environmental Protection in March 1963 from Arthur D. Pierce,
president of the Batsto Citizens Committee. Most of the items date
from the latter part of Jesse Richards' management of the iron and
glass works, 1821-1854. The material relates to the various operations
and pursuits underway in the Richards family's Batsto Village, ranging
from general business accounts to the company store records, time
books, schooner freight books, and rent rolls for employee housing. |
Contents
NOTE:
The item descriptions below are rough at best. Extensive study and
comparison of the account books in this collection has not been
undertaken, and the contents list that follows may include some
mis-identifications. The 1963 inventory numbers have been included
in brackets following each description. Asterisked items have been
foldered at the end of the collection. |
| Ledgers
of Jesse Richards: |
|
|
| 1. |
"Ledger
A," 17 February 1840 - 1 February 1843 [#65]. |
| 2. |
"Ledger
B," 1 January 1843 - 31 December 1851, and extra index [#32 &
#38]. |
| 3. |
"Ledger
C," 1 January 1852 - 30 April 1862 [#64]. |
| 4. |
"Ledger
D," 1 May 1862 - 31 December 1869 [#69]. |
|
|
| Main
Day Books, Batsto Works: |
|
|
| 5. |
"Day
Book No. 2," 15 November 1827 - 6 May 1830 [#1]. |
| 6. |
23
May 1846 - 31 December 1851 [#31]. |
| 7. |
1
January 1852 - 31 December 1855 [#49]. |
| 8. |
1
January 1856 - 30 June 1859 [#63]. |
| 9. |
1
July 1859 - 30 December 1865 [#68]. |
| 10. |
1
May 1867 - 9 October 1868 (also includes: account of store bills received
of Thomas H. Richards,
executor, 24 September 1858 - 18 January 1862, & 1 June 1867;
accounts, May - August 1867;
and accounts, 8 October 1878 - 5 November 1880) [#35]. |
|
|
| Preliminary
Day Books [some originally listed as "Memo. Accounts"]: |
|
|
| 11. |
Iron
works, 17 February 1840 - 18 October 1841 [#34]. |
| 12. |
"Memorandums,"
November 1846 - 22 August 1849 [#26].* |
| 13. |
1
July 1848 - 8 June 1849 [#27].* |
| 14. |
11
June 1849 - 19 October 1849, & 20 December 1852 [#45].* |
| 15. |
"Waste
Book," 25 October 1849 - November 1852 [#3]. |
| 16. |
18
September 1851 - 6 August 1853 [#44].* |
| 17. |
1
August 1853 - 30 May 1857 [#62]. |
| 18. |
1
July 1862 - 25 March 1871 [#50]. |
|
|
| Day
Books, Batsto Store: |
|
|
| 19. |
26
January 1852 - 28 December 1854 [#41].* |
| 20. |
5
April 1855 - 3 April 1858 [#43].* |
| 21. |
"Iron
Shipped Per Invoice (Memorandums)," 11 September 1835 - 27 November
1839; and day book,
23 April 1858 - 3 September 1860 [#42]. |
|
|
| Statement
of Accounts, Batsto Company: |
|
|
| 22. |
15
April 1843 - 18 June 1849 [#60]. |
| 23. |
"Statement
Book, 1835," 1829 - 1 January 1835 [#56].* |
| 24. |
"Statement
Book, April 1837," April 1837 & 10 April 1839 - 8 January
1846 [#67]. |
| 25. |
8
January 1846 - 7 April 1847 [#46].* |
| 26. |
20
May 1846 - 24 December 1847 [#47a].* |
| 27. |
12
February 1849 - 5 July 1850 [#47b].* |
| 28. |
18
June 1847 - 22 May 1851 [#28].* |
| 29. |
"Statements
of Accounts from Ledgers B & C, 1851," 19 February 1846 -
19 August 1854 [#52]. |
|
|
| Statements
of Accounts/[Furnace?] Diaries: |
|
|
| 30. |
Batsto
Store, 27 February 1839 - 8 February 1840, & 4 January 1858 -
1 September 1862 [#55]. |
| 31. |
Batsto
Store, 22 February 1854 - 16 March 1858 [#54]. |
| 32. |
[Furnace diary?], March 1834 - March 1839 [#33]. |
| 33. |
"Jesse
Richards, Batsto, Diary No. 1" [furnace diary?], 28 March 1840
- March 1842 [#48]. |
|
|
| Cash
Books, Batsto Company: |
|
|
| 34. |
22
February 1840 - 21 October 1848 [#36]. |
| 35. |
25
October 1848 - 31 January 1861 [#53]. |
| 36. |
Cash/account
book, 11 October 1845 - 28 June 1849 (account book only after 22 June
1848;
includes accounts of Richards & Brookfield) [#10].* |
| 37. |
"Cash
Book, January 1st /56," 1 January 1856 - 31 January 1859 [#7].*
|
|
|
| Account
Books of Robert Stewart [store purchases and wages?]: |
|
|
| 38. |
16
October 1849 - 22 July 1850 [#58].* |
| 39. |
17
January 1851 - 14 December 1868 [#58].* |
| 40. |
14
February 1852 - 7 October 1852 [#58].* |
| 41. |
27
June 1853 - 2 December 1853 [#58].* |
| 42. |
9
March 1858 - 10 November 1858 [#58].* |
| 43. |
10
November 1858 - 4 July 1859 [#58].* |
| 44. |
13
April 1863 - 26 August 1864 [#58].* |
| 45. |
1
February 1870 - 12 February 1881 [#58].* |
|
|
| Time
Books: |
|
|
| 46. |
"Time
Book, 1830," 1 January 1829 - 21 March 1834 [#37]. |
| 47. |
13
February 1840 - 31 March 1843 [#2]. |
| 48. |
1
April 1843 - 8 September 1855 [#4]. |
|
|
| Schooner
Books [see also item no. 74]: |
|
|
| 49. |
Account
book, schooner Henry Clay, 1 September 1838 - 25 May 1845
[#19].* |
| 50. |
Freight
book, schooner John Wurts, 11 March 1843 - 17 June 1853 [#17].* |
| 51. |
Freight
book, schooner John Wurts, 5 May 1853 - 31 March 1868 [#18].* |
| 52. |
Account
book, schooner Theodore Frelinghuysen, 19 November 1844 -
29 September 1849 [#20].* |
| 53. |
Freight
book, schooner Swan, 9 October 1850 - 6 December 1858 [#22].* |
| 54. |
Freight
book, schooner Ida, 26 April 1853 - July 1862, & 30 January
1864 [#21].* |
|
|
| Receipt
Books: |
|
|
| 55. |
19
January 1821 - 8 March 1834, & 13 October 1848 [#51]. |
| 56. |
28
May 1838 - 13 June 1846 [#13]. |
| 57. |
16
June 1846 - 15 July 1851 [#39]. |
| 58. |
Receipt
book, Thomas H. Richards, executor, 3 July 1854 - 29 December 1860
[#40]. |
| 59. |
3
January 1861 - 25 June 1869 [#61]. |
|
|
| Glass
Works Books: |
|
|
| 60. |
"Acct.
of Window Glass Shipped, Commencing on September 25th, 1847,"
7 September 1846 - 4 June 1852 [#16].* |
| 61. |
"Memorandum
Relating to Glass Works," 23 August 1847 - 1860 [#15].* |
| 62. |
Glass
works and sawmill accounts, 29 August 1848 - 1 August 1870 [#23].* |
| 63. |
Glass
works memorandum book, 27 October 1865 - 15 June 1867 [#14].* |
|
|
| Ore
and Iron Castings Books [see also item no. 21]: |
|
|
| 64. |
"Castings
Shipped & Invoice & a/c of Foreign Ore Rec'd 1840, Jesse Richards,
Batsto,"
7 April 1840 - 15 January 1847 [#11].* |
| 65. |
"Orders
for Castings, Jesse Richards, Batsto, 1840," 31 March 1840 -
19 August 1854 [#5].* |
| 66. |
"Castings
& Pig Iron Shipped," 10 March 1845 - 1855 (includes wood
shipped, 1850 - 7 May 1862);
"Acct. of Ore Received in 1845, Ore Rec'd in 1846 & 7,"
5 April 1845 - 13 December 1847 [#24].* |
|
|
| Coaling
Books: |
|
|
| 67. |
"Near
Job Coaling, 1834," 1 February 1834 - 29 March 1839; "Far
Job Coaling, 1834,"
18 February 1834 - 11 April 1839 [#6]. * |
| 68. |
"Near
Job Coaling Book," 1838 & 5 January 1839 - August 1839; "Far
Job Coaling Book"
(includes wood cut), 1838 & 11 April 1839 - 19 December 1839 [#66].* |
|
|
| Wood
Books [see also item nos. 62, 66 & 68]: |
|
|
| 69. |
Wood
ledger, etc., 21 February 1837 - 28 June 1838 [#30].* |
| 70. |
"Wood
Book, 1840, Jesse Richards," 20 March 1840 - 4 December 1847
[#12].* |
|
|
| Miscellaneous
Volumes: |
|
|
| 71. |
"Rent
Roll of Batsto Houses, 1847," 1 January 1847 - 25 May 1871 [#25].* |
| 72. |
"Shin
Plaster Book," 5 June 1837 - 27 February 1840 [#57].* |
| 73. |
Record
of store purchases, 24 April 1846 - 14 December 1846 [#9].* |
| 74. |
"Sawyer's
Account, 1849," 1846-1860 (includes: account of Joseph Champion,
1 June 1846 -
1 May 1860; and accounts of the schooners Henry Clay, John Wurts,
Mary and Ida, [1846?] -
21 October 1858) [#8].* |
| 75. |
Account
or time book, 1 February 1848 - 26 September [1849?] [#29].* |
| 76. |
Loose
account notes, ca. 1852-1855 [#1?].* |
| 77. |
"Statement
of Accounts" of Jesse Richards' children made by Thomas H. Richards,
executor,
15 June 1840 - 31 March 1868 [#59].* |
|
|
| Ledgers,
Accession #2002.015 |
|
|
| 1. |
Daybook,
1824 - 1827 |
| 2. |
Account
of Orders on Store Issued to Hands, 1849 - 1867 |
| 3. |
Daybook, 1857 - 1863 |
| 4. |
Orders
Drawn on Thomas Richards, 1829 – 1839 and Stephen Colwell, 1839
– 1840 |
| 5a. |
"No.
of Inhabitants in Batsto on the 1st of May 1851. 340" |
| 5b. |
"Rent
Roll of Dwelling Houses on Batsto from 1st of Oct. 1869 to 1st July
69" |
| 5c. |
Invoice
Book, Thomas Richards, 1830 – 1839 |
| 5d. |
Memorandums of Glass Works, 1863 – 1867 |
| 5e. |
"Acct.
of Foreign Ore Received AD 1837" (also includes 1838) |
| 6. |
Receipt Book, 1832 – 1845 |
| 7. |
Receipt
Book, Jesse Richards, 1851 – 1854 |
| 8. |
Statement
Book, c.1839 – 1871, with index |
| 9. |
Cash
Book, 1861 – 1892 |
Reel
Listing - BATSTO WORKS |
| Reel |
Contents |
Explanatory
Notes |
| 1 |
Account
Books
Ledgers, 1840-1851
[See Guide] |
Ledgers
of Jesse Richards
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 1 & 2 |
| 2 |
Account
Books
Ledgers, 1852-1869
[See Guide] |
Ledgers
of Jesse Richards
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 3 & 4 |
| 3 |
Account
Books
Main Day Books, 1827-1830
[See Guide] |
Batsto
Iron & Glass Works -
Item 5 |
| 4 |
Account
Books
Main Day Books, 1846-1851
[See Guide] |
Batsto
Iron & Glass Works -
Item 6 |
| 5 |
Account
Books
Main Day Books, 1852-1859
[See Guide] |
Batsto
Iron & Glass Works -
Items 7 & 8 |
| 6 |
Account
Books
Main Day Books, 1859-1868
[See Guide] |
Batsto
Iron & Glass Works -
Items 9 & 10 |
| 7 |
Account
Books |
Preliminary
Day Books, 1840-1853
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 11 - 16 |
| 8 |
Account
Books |
Preliminary
Day Books, 1853-1871
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 17 & 18 |
| 9 |
Account
Books |
Batsto
Store Day Books, 1852-1860
Statements of Accounts, 1843-1849
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 19 - 22 |
| 10 |
Account
Books |
Statements
of Accounts, 1829-1851
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 23 - 28 |
| 11 |
Account
Books |
Statements
of Accounts, 1846-1858
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Item 29 |
| 12 |
Account
Books |
Statements
of Accounts, 1839-1858
Furnace Diaries, 1834-1839
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 30 - 32 |
| 13 |
Account
Books |
Furnace
Diaries [Jesse Richards],
1840-1842
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Item 33 |
| 14 |
Account
Books |
Cash
Books, 1840-1861
& 1845-1859
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 34 - 37 |
| 15 |
Account
Books |
Accounts
Books of Robert Stewart,
1849-1881
Time Books, 1830-1843
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 38 - 47 |
| 16 |
Account
Books |
Time
Books, 1843-1855
Schooner Books, 1838-1864
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 48 - 54 |
| 17 |
Account
Books
Receipt Books, 1821-1846
[See Guide] |
Batsto
Iron & Glass Works -
Items 55 & 56 |
| 18 |
Account
Books
Receipt Books, 1846-1860
[See Guide] |
Batsto
Iron & Glass Works -
Items 57 & 58 |
| 19 |
Account
Books |
Receipt
Books, 1861-1869
to Rent Roll of Batsto House,
1847-1871
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 59 - 71 |
| 20 |
Account
Books |
Miscellaneous
Account Books,
1837-1868
Batsto Iron & Glass Works -
Items 72 - 77 |
| 21 |
Account
Books
Daybooks - Items 1 & 3 |
Item
1: Daybook, 1824 - 1827
Item 3 : Daybook, 1857 – 1863 |
| 22 |
Account
Books
Items 2, 4, 5a - 5e and 8
[see guide] |
|
| 23 |
Account
Books
Items 6, 7 and 9 |
Item
6 : Receipt Book, 1832 – 1845
Item 7 : Receipt Book, Jesse Richards,
1851 – 1854
Item 9 : Cash Book, 1861 - 1892 |
|