njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Clark Family
Series: Papers, 1745-1936
Accession #: 1992.071
Series #:  PCLAR001
Guide Date:  8/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1 c.f. [2 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Family History

The progenitor of the Clark family of Galloway Twp., Atlantic Co., was Thomas Clark Sr. (ca. 1689-1752), who is thought to have come from Connecticut to Egg Harbour, Burlington Co., by 1718. Thomas died intestate on 17 May 1752, leaving at least three sons: Thomas, David and Elijah. He is buried beside his wife Ruth at Clark's Landing, overlooking the Mullica River.

The sons Thomas Jr. (ca. 1722-1793) and David (d. 1803) purchased several tracts of land, jointly, in Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester County (later Galloway Twp., Atlantic Co.). Thomas Jr. died 31 October 1793, aged 71; he is buried beside his wife Sarah (Parker) at Clark's Mills, now Port Republic, Atlantic Co.

Thomas Jr.'s three sons, Reuben, Adrial, and Parker, served as privates in the Gloucester County Militia during the Revolutionary War. Reuben (born ca. 1754) inherited his father's homestead plantation amounting to about 1,500 acres. He received a state military pension in 1837, and is listed on the 1840 census of pensioners in Galloway Twp., aged 86. He was apparently the same Reuben Clark who married in 1811, Olive (-?-), and had by her four children (see item #39 below).



Bibliography

Blake, Georgiana C. Clark notes in "Abstracts of Early Deeds and Surveys" by Olive Conover Rundstrom.
           The Atlantic County Historical Society Yearbook, Vol. 1(1), October 1948, p. 15.

Boucher, Jack E. Absegami Yesteryear. (Egg Harbor City, NJ: Laureate Press, 1963).
           "The Clark's Grave," pp. 100-101.

"Headstone Records In Clarks Mills Meeting House Churchyard." The Atlantic County Historical Society
           Yearbook
, Vol. 2(1), October 1952, pp. 210-211.



Content Note

This collection includes business papers relating to at least four generations of the Clark family. Most of the land transactions included are on record in the deed and survey books of the Board of Proprietors of West New Jersey. Also included in the series are a piece of the Thomas Clark footstone at Clark's Landing and Reuben Clark's Bible. Folder #45 contains research materials relating to the family.

CARE AND HANDLING: Most of the documents in this collection are fragmented to some degree or, in some case, are only fragments. Photocopies on acid-free bond paper of all fragmented and/or oversized items have been placed in the item folders for reference. The document fragments are stored in individual mylar folders and should not be disturbed. Oversized items have been placed in a separate box
.



Contents

 1. [Deed?], no date [fragments only].
 2. Note of James Scull to R[euben] Clark.
 3. Note for wages of James Simkins due from Capt. Smith, no date [fragmented].
 4. Memorandum of account of Capt. Jebes Smith for shingles, no date [fragmented].
 5. Note that Lewis Neil and David F. Finney are executors of Washington L. Finney, dec'd, no date.
 6. Draft of survey of Reuben Clark for 4.25 acres of swamp sold to the Warners, no date.
 7. Survey of land of Jos. Dimsdale, Appoquaquing/Little Egg Harbour, [Gloucester Co.], no date [fragment only].
 8. Bounds of 50 acres surveyed to Evi Smith, Sandy Point/Little Creek, [Gloucester Co.], no date
[fragments only].
 9. Bounds of 50 acres surveyed to Evi Smith near the road from the branches of the Nacat to Teal Creek,
20 July 1745.
10. Bounds of 24 acres and 142 acres surveyed to Hugh McCollum, October 1746 [fragments only].
11. Voided return of survey for 13.3 acres of David Clark in Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co.,
8 November 1758 [fragmented].
12. Voided return of survey for 14 acres of David Clark in Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co.,
8 November 1758 [fragmented].
13. Bounds of 55.25 acres surveyed to Thomas Clark in Great Egg Harbour Twp., west of the Little Egg Harbour River, Gloucester Co., surveyed 21 May 1760 [fragmented].
14. Order to survey 200 acres for David Clark, 6 August 1760 [fragmented].
15. Deed of Anna Lippincott, widow, one of the three daughters of John Ogborn, to Thomas and David
Clark, for 10 acres on Egg Harbour River, [Burlington Co.], 5 December 1761 [fragmented; original in oversized box].
16. Bond of Thomas and David Clark to Samuel Townsend and James Wooden for board and plank to be delivered to Oyster Bay, Queens Co., [Long Island, New York], 9 May 1764 [fragmented].
17. Deed of William Hewlings to Thomas Clark for 50 acres of unappropriated land, 8 August 1764 [fragmented--portion missing; original in oversized box].
18. Order to survey 50 acres for Thomas Clark, 8 August 1764 [fragmented].
19. Return of survey of 40.44 acres for David Clark in Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co., 6 February 1765 [original in oversized box].
20. Order to survey 238 acres for Benjamin Sharpless Jr., brother and heir of Joseph Sharpless, dec'd, 6 February 1765 [fragmented--portion missing].
21. Bounds of 10.22 acres surveyed to George Hawkins on the east side of Cedar Branch, Great Egg
Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co., [4 September 1765].
22. Return of survey of 52 acres for Thomas Clark, Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co., 23 October 1765 [fragmented--portion missing].
23. Release of Samuel and Jerusha Clark of Farmington, Hartford Co., Connecticut, to Thomas and David
Clark for all lands in Gloucester Co., West New Jersey, 6 October 1766 [fragmented].
24. Mortgage of Levi Garish to Mahlon Kirkbride for three lots containing 150, 62, and 100 acres surveyed
to his father John Garish in Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co., recorded 9 July 1770 [fragmented--portions missing; original in oversized box].
25. Bill of sale of John Garrish of Great Egg Harbour Twp., Gloucester Co., to Thomas Clark, for one yoke
of oxen, 11 May 1773 [fragmented].
26. Certificate of Ezekiah Lee that his father John Lee died in 1777, 6 October 1798.
27. Billfold of Reuben Clark, containing notes dated 1801-1810.
28. Lease of Jesse Adams to Reuben Clark for timber in Galloway Twp., Gloucester Co., for one year,
10 June 1802 [fragmented].
29. Receipt of Evi Smith from Reuben Clark, 22 July 1802.
30. Deed of John McCollum to Jeremiah Adams Jr., for 18.75 acres in Galloway Twp., Gloucester Co.,
15 November 1802 [original in oversized box].
31. a) Note of the Bank of Pennsylvania to John Diehl for $199.54, due 19/22 December 1805;
b) insolvency notice of John S. Somers to Messrs. Burrows and Vansise, 4 June 1806; c) receipt of
V. Horsey from Reuben Clark for notes of John Diehl, Wilmington, Delaware, 31 May 1809.
32. Mortgage of Reuben Clark to Samuel W. Harrison and Michael C. Fisher for the plantation in Galloway Twp., Gloucester Co., bequeathed to him by his father Thomas Clark, 5 February 1808 [signature removed; original in oversized box].
33. Letter of N. Clark to John Estel certifying the assignment of executions of George Simkins to Reuben
Clark, Millville, 3 June 1809 [signature removed].
34. Receipt of Daniel Lake, administrator to Richard Ireland, from Reuben Clark for executions of Enoch
Risley and Andrew Davis, 30 July 1810.
35. Mortgage of Reuben Clark to Samuel W. Harrison and Michael C. Fisher for 1,500 acres in Galloway Twp., Gloucester Co., 5 October 1810 [original in oversized box].
36. Account of John Scull re: Wills and Clark executions, 30 January 1811.
37. Copy of deed of Reuben Clark to Parker Clark for land in Wood (formerly Harrison) Co., [Ohio?], 23 May 1816
[fragments only; part of signature removed; original in oversized box].
38. Note of Benjamin Lake to Robert Leeds for balm, 5 August 1818.
39. Bible of Reuben Clark (including a family record), ca. 1820s [original in oversized box].
40. Order of George Clark to Capt. Jackson to pay Reuben Clark his scow hire, Clark's Landing, 24 July 1820.
41. Survey of 2 acres for S. G. Wright [Reuben Clark's bill], 16 April 1825.
42. Writ of scire facias [summons] for Reuben Clark in lawsuit of James Smith, 27 March 1834.
43. Letter of D. Somers Risley, Clerk of Atlantic County, to Walter S. Clark, re: copy of deed,
Mays Landing, 22 March 1866.
44. a) Photograph of footstone of Thomas Clark (died 1752), Clark's Landing, no date [3"x4.5"]; b) photograph of
tombstone of Adrial Clark (died 1828), Port Republic, August 1936 [3"x4.5]; c) piece of Thomas Clark footstone
[in oversized box].
45. Research materials.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations