njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Cleveland Family
Series: Records, ca. 1838-1909
Accession #: 2001.043
Series #:  PCLEV001
Guide Date:  1/2002 (EC)
Volume: 0.45 c.f. [2 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Biographical Note

Stephen Grover Cleveland was born in Caldwell, N.J. on 18 March 1837, the fifth child of Presbyterian minister Richard Falley Cleveland and Ann Neal Cleveland. When Grover was four, the Clevelands moved their family to Fayetteville, New York. In addition to Grover, the Clevelands had 8 other children: Ann Neal, William Neal, Mary Allen, Richard Cecil, Margaret Louise Falley, Lewis Frederick, Susan Sophia and Rose Elizabeth.

In 1855, Grover Cleveland settled in Buffalo. With the help of his uncle, Lewis F. Allen, Cleveland found a position in a law firm and began to study the law. He was admitted to the New York bar in 1860. It was in Buffalo that Grover Cleveland began his political career with the Democratic Party. He served in various positions including ward supervisor, sheriff, assistant district attorney and, in 1882, Mayor of Buffalo. That same year, Cleveland was elected Governor of New York. From Albany, Cleveland went to Washington D. C., serving as the 22nd President of the United States (1885-1889) and then again as the 24th President (1893-1897).

Grover Cleveland married Frances Folsom (1864-1947) in June of 1886. The Clevelands had five children: Ruth (1891-1904), Esther (1893-1980), Marion (1895-1977), Richard Folsom (1897-1974) and Francis Grover (1903-1995). After leaving the presidency in 1897, Grover Cleveland moved his family to a home he had built in Princeton, N. J. Here he worked on his book, Presidential Problems, gave public lectures and served as a trustee of Princeton University. After a brief illness, Grover Cleveland died at his home in Princeton on 24 June 1908.



Bibliography

Brodsky, Alyn. Grover Cleveland: A study in Character. New York: Truman Talley Books, St. Martin’s Press, 2000.

Jeffers, H. Paul. An Honest President: The Life and Presidencies of Grover Cleveland. New York: Harper Collins, 2000.



Content Note

This series consists of a small collection of letters, photographs and some presidential memorabilia of Grover Cleveland and his family. The late Dorothy Budd Bartle, President Emerita of the Grover Cleveland Birthplace Memorial Association, Caldwell, NJ, collected this material. Most of the records were purchased from Albert Vreeland, a descendant of Grover Cleveland’s sister, Susan Cleveland Yeomans. Included in the collection is an 1838 Thanksgiving address given by Cleveland’s father in Caldwell, letters from Rev. Cleveland and his wife to their daughter Mary, a wedding announcement of Grover Cleveland and Frances Folsom, and several portraits of Grover Cleveland and his family.



Contents - Box 1

Manuscripts:
 1. Thanksgiving Address of Rev. Richard Cleveland, Caldwell, N. J., 29 November 1838.
 2. Rev. Richard Cleveland to daughter Mary re: news of home (including reference to her brother "Grove") and
fatherly advice, Fayetteville, N. Y., 14 August 1848.
 3. Ann Neal Cleveland to daughter Mary re: news of home, Fayetteville, N. Y., 25 October 1848.
 4. Wedding announcement of Grover Cleveland to Frances Folsom sent to Master T. G. Yeomans, Washington,
D. C., 2 June 1886 [announcement and envelope].
 5. Frances F. Cleveland to unknown, Executive Mansion, Washington, D. C., ca. 1886-1889 or ca. 1893-1897
[fragment].
 6. Grover Cleveland to sister Susan re: family news, Princeton, N. J., 18 June 1904.
 7. Envelope addresses from Frances F. Cleveland to Mrs. Reid, Brooklyn, N. Y., postmarked West Ossipee,
N. H., 7 September 1909.
Photographs [continuous-tone photographs unless otherwise noted]
 8. Ann Neal Cleveland, no date. By Mundy, 11 Broad St., Utica, N. Y.
 9. Grover Cleveland, no date.
10. Grover Cleveland, ca. 1885. By McDonald & Sterry, Albany, N. Y.
11. For President, Grover Cleveland of Buffalo, NY, ca. 1884. Half-tone. By Gies & Co. Buffalo, N. Y.
12. Lewis Frederic Cleveland, no date. By B. E. Atkinson, Palmyra, N. Y.
13. Rev. Richard Falley Cleveland, no date.
14. Rose E. Cleveland, no date. By Roseti, 297 Fifth Ave., New York, N. Y.
15. Ruth, Esther, Marion and Richard Cleveland, ca. 1899.
16. View of the White House, no date. Engraving.
Box 2
Souvenir ribbons [pasted onto one single sheet of paper]:
17a. The World's Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition, New Orleans, 1884-1885 [features image of President Grover Cleveland].
17b. Souvenir Worlds Fair, Chicago, 1893 [features images of Frances F. Cleveland and the White House].

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations