njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Davis Family
Series: Papers, 1802-1905
Accession #: 1983.022
Series #:  PDAVI001
Guide Date:  2/1994 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]



Content Note

This series consists mainly of legal and personal papers of the Davis family of Hopewell Twp., Cumberland Co., NJ. Of the 38 documents in the series, more than half concern land transactions -- many involving the Tomlinson, Ayers, and Randolph families.

Folder
Contents
1.
Road return, Hopewell Township, 1 November 1802 [recorded].
2.
Deed, Richard Davis and wife Ruth to James Tomlinson, 15 September 1808 [recorded, book and page not noted].
3.
Deed of release, Job Ayars, John Davis, and Ellis Ayars to Jonathan Davis 31 October 1809 [recorded].
4.
Quitclaim, John Davis to Richard Davis, 31 May 1812 [unrecorded].
5.
Deed, Samuel Tomlinson and wife Ann, Ebenezer Davis and wife Margaret, and Nathan Tomlinson to Rachel Tomlinson, 27 November 1812 [recorded].
6.
Deed, Richard F. Randolph and wife Elizabeth to Richard Davis, 15 March 1813 [recorded].
7.
Deed, Mason Mulford and wife Margaret to Richard Davis, 8 December 1817 [recorded].
8.
Deed, Benjamin Dare and wife to Furman Sheppard, 7 October 1820 [recorded].
9.
Deed of release, Lewis Davis, Jonathan Davis, Amasa Ayars and wife Sarah, and George Davis to Beulah Davis, wife of John T. Davis, 12 October 1824 [recorded].
10.
Deed, Thomas P. Hughes and wife Mary to Richard Davis, 3 May 1831 [recorded].
11.
Deed, Rachel Tomlinson, Lemuel Tomlinson and wife Abigail, Nathan Tomlinson and wife Louisa, Seeley Tomlinson and wife Rachel, Jonathan Davis and wife Phebe, Abel S. Tomlinson and wife Lois, and George Tomlinson to John F. Randolph, 19 March 1832 [recorded].
12.
Mortgage deed, John F. Randolph to Rachel Tomlinson, 19 November 1832 [recorded].
13.
Deed, Mason Milford and wife Margaret to Thomas C. Sheppard, 17 September 1833 [recorded].
14.
Sale of timber of Ruth Davis, 23 December 1833.
15.
Lease, Ruth Davis to Moses Veal, 2 January 1834.
16.
Deed, Thomas C. Sheppard to Charles H. Davis, 29 October 1834 [recorded].
17.
Lease, James Davis to Charles H. Davis, December 1834.
18.
Lease, Richard Minch and Adam Minch to John F. Randolph, 26 April 1836.
19.
Deed, John F. Randolph and wife Esther to Charles H. Davis, 20 March 1839 [recorded].
20.
Bond of indemnity, John F. Randolph, Nathan Tomlinson and George Tomlinson to Charles H. Davis, 9 April 1839.
21.
Bond and judgment, Charles H. Davis to Nathan Tomlinson, 15 April 1839.
22.
Article of agreement, Richard B. Davis, 8 March 1841.
23.
Map of "Pratt Field Woodland, 19 December 1848.
24.
Quitclaim deed, Charles Bright and wife Keziah, Ezekiel Thomas and wife Hannah Ann, Jeremiah Y. Davis, Charles Tomlinson, son and heir at law of Rachel Tomlinson, dec'd, former wife of Seely Tomlinson (formerly Rachel Davis), Joseph P. Allen and wife Clarissa, Richard B. Davis, William S. Dunhamond and wife Sarah, Eliza Jane Davis, and George Davis to Charles H. Davis, 26 February 1849.
24a.
Notes regarding the division of an estate, no date [apparently related to the 26 February 1849 quitclaim].
25.
Agreement, George T. Davis and Charles Shute, 22 January 1850.
26.
Letter from Phineas Ayars, Mariah Ayars and Sarah A. Ayars, Shabona Grove, Illinois, 2-3 October 1852.
27.
Deed, Richard Minch and Adam Minch to Charles H. Davis, 18 June 1856 [recorded, book and page not noted].
28.
Deed, Belford M. Bonham, Dickeson O. Sheppard and Mordecai T. Davis, Commissioners, to Charles H. Davis, 24 March 1857 [recorded, book and page not noted].
29.
Deed, Walter B. Davis and wife Harriet N. to William A. Hummel and wife Ruth, 9-10 April 1857 [recorded].
30.
Deed, Jacob Ramel and wife Sarah Ann to Howard S. Davis, 27 January 1858 [recorded].
31.
Will, Charles H. Davis, 11-30 August 1869 [copy].
32.
Legacy return, Charles H. Davis, deceased, 17 August 1869.
33.
Deed for cemetery lot, Hiram Davis, 10 April 1870.
34.
Executors account for Charles H. Davis, 25 July 1870.
35.
Assignment of mortgage of Howard S. Davis and Hiram Davis to Margaret M. Davis, 16 January 1871 [recorded].
36.
Deed, John S. Condrey and wife Rachel to William J. Ayres, 29 January 1874 [recorded].
37.
Inventory of Howard S. Davis, 17 January 1905.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations