njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company
Series: Aerial Survey of the Morristown Main Line, Montclair Branch, Gladstone Branch
and Greenwood Lake-Boonton Line, 1949
Accession #: 2002.053, 2002.064
Series #:  PDELL002
Guide Date:  3/2006 (EC)
Volume: 1.5 c.f. [3 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

This collection consists of 160 13”x17” B&W low altitude, oblique aerial photographs of routes of the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad (DLW) taken by Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc. in March and April of 1949. These photographs provide a survey of the railroad’s Morristown Main Line, Montclair Branch, Gladstone Branch and Greenwood Lake-Boonton Line (later called the Boonton Line and finally the Montclair-Boonton Line), which are located in the northeastern part of New Jersey. The Gladstone Branch and Greenwood-Boonton Line were also identified as “P & D Branches” referencing the fact that they were part of the Passaic and Delaware Railroad, which merged with the DLW in 1945. In the 1980s, all of these railroads became part of the New Jersey Transit system.

The views have been disbound, but are arranged as they were originally, following each line’s east to west route. Dates for the images were obtained by consulting the Fairchild Survey Inc./Aerial Negatives and Prints series. Prints in DLW series that do not have corresponding negatives in the Fairchild collection are marked with an asterisk (*).



Contents - Box 1
       
Morristown Main Line [2 prints of each photograph, unless otherwise noted].  
       
  Location Date Print #
       
1. Jersey City 3/16/1949 103189 [1 print]
2. Kearny 4/4/1949 103416*
3. Kearny 4/4/1949 103415*
4. Kearny 4/4/1949 103414
5. Harrison 4/4/1949 103412
6. Newark 4/4/1949 103411
7. Newark 4/4/1949 103410
8. East Orange 4/4/1949 103408
9. Orange 3/16/1949 103406
10. South Orange 4/4/1949 103405
11. South Orange 4/4/1949 103404
12. Maplewood 4/4/1949 103403
13. Maplewood 4/4/1949 103402
14. Short Hills 4/4/1949 103400
15. Summit 4/4/1949 103398
16. Summit 4/4/1949 103397
17. Summit 4/4/1949 103396
18. Summit 4/4/1949 103395
19. Summit 4/4/1949 103313
20. Chatham 4/4/1949 103312
21. Chatham 4/4/1949 103311
22. Chatham 4/4/1949 103310
23. Madison 4/4/1949 103309*
24. Madison 4/10/1949 103442
25. Convent Station 4/10/1949 103440
26. Morristown 4/10/1949 103439
27. Morristown 4/10/1949 103438
28. Morristown 4/10/1949 103437
29. Morris Plains 4/10/1949 103436
30. Morris Plains 4/10/1949 103434
31. Mount Tabor 4/10/1949 103432
32. Mount Tabor 4/10/1949 103431
33. Mount Tabor 4/10/1949 103429
34. Denville 4//4/1949 103328 [1 print]
35. Denville 4//4/1949 103327
36. Denville 4//4/1949 103326
37. Denville 4//4/1949 103325
38. Dover 4//4/1949 103324
39. Dover 4//4/1949 103323
40. Dover 4//4/1949 103322
       
Box 2
       
Montclair Branch [2 prints of each photograph]
       
1. Roseville 4/10/1949 103427
2. Ampere 4/10/1949 103426
3. Bloomfield 4/4/1949 103425*
4. Bloomfield 4/4/1949 103424
5. Montclair 4/4/1949 103421*
       
Gladstone Branch [2 prints of each photograph]
       
1. Summit 4/4/1949 103394
2. Summit 4/4/1949 103393
3. New Providence 4/4/1949 103392
4. Murray Hill 4/4/1949 103391
5. Berkley Heights 4/4/1949 103389
6. Gillette 4/4/1949 103388
7. Stirling 4/4/1949 103387
8. Millington 4/4/1949 103386
9. Millington 4/4/1949 103384
10. Lyons 4/4/1949 103382
11. Lyons 4/4/1949 103380
12. Basking Ridge 4/4/1949 103379
13. Bernardsville 4/4/1949 103377
14. Bernardsville 4/4/1949 103376
15. Bernardsville 4/4/1949 103375
16. Mine Brook 4/4/1949 103374
17. Mine Brook 4/4/1949 103373
18. Far Hills 4/4/1949 103372
19. Far Hills 4/4/1949 103371
20. Peapack 4/4/1949 103369
21. Peapack 4/4/1949 103368
22. Gladstone 4/4/1949 103367
       
Box 3
       
Greenwood Lake - Boonton Line [1 print unless otherwise noted]
       
1. Jersey City 4/4/1949 103365
2. Secaucus 4/4/1949 103364
3. Kingsland 4/4/1949 103361*
4. Kingsland 4/4/1949 103360*
5. Lyndhurst 4/4/1949 103359
6. Delawanna 4/4/1949 103357
7. Passaic 4/4/1949 103355
8. Clifton 4/4/1949 103354
9. Paterson 4/4/1949 103351
10. Paterson 4/4/1949 103350
11. Paterson 4/4/1949 103349
12. Totowa 4/4/1949 103347
13. Little Falls 4/4//1949 103345
14. Mountain View 4/4/1949 103344
15. Mountain View 4/4/1949 103343
16. Lincoln Park 4/4/1949 103341
17. Lincoln Park 4/4/1949 103340
18. Towaco 4/4/1949 103339
19. Towaco 4/4/1949 103338
20. Towaco 4/4/1949 103337
21. Montville 4/4/1949 103335
22. Boonton 4/4/1949 103334
23. Mountain Lakes 4/4/1949 103332
24. Mountain Lakes 4/4/1949 103331
25. Mountain Lakes 4/4/1949 103330
26. Mountain Lakes 4/4/1949 103229
27. Denville 4/4/1949 103428 [2 prints]
       
1.  Identified as Millburn in the Fairchild Collection.

Created April 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations