njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Senator Walter Edge Foran (1919-1986)
Series: Photographs and Senate Resolutions, ca. 1970s-1980s
Accession #: 1995.037
Series #:  PFORA001
Guide Date:  6/1995 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents

Biographical Note

Walter Edge Foran was born 14 May 1919 to a prominent political family of Flemington, Hunterdon County, New Jersey. His grandfather, John Foran, had established the Foran Foundry & Manufacturing Company in 1893 and served on local committees and boards. His father, Arthur F. Foran, participated in local politics (including a term as mayor of Flemington) and served on the staffs of several governors before winning his district's state senate seat in 1934—a position he held for many years. Senator Arthur Foran named his son Walter after Governor Walter Edge, with whom he had served.

Walter Foran attended elementary school in Flemington and was a graduate of Staunton Military Academy in Virginia and the University of North Carolina. He served as a second lieutenant in the army artillery from 1940 to 1946 and in the New Jersey National Guard from 1947 to 1961, retiring with the rank of lieutenant colonel.

For thirty years, Foran worked in the Sales Department of the DuBois Chemical Division, W. R. Grace Co. However, he was always interested in public service as had been his father and grandfather. Walter Foran served as Hunterdon County Republican Party chairman from 1961 to 1970, served in the general assembly from 1972 to 1977, and served in the state senate from 1977 until his death. During his tenure in the legislature, he rose steadily in rank—eventually becoming minority whip and assistant minority leader. He was also, for many years, a member of the Joint Appropriations Committee, becoming minority budget officer in 1982. As a legislator, he zealously supported the National Guard and State Police, championed the New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station at Rutgers University, and spearheaded construction of the New Jersey Museum of Agriculture. As his last major public endeavor, Senator Foran promoted and helped plan the restoration of the New Jersey State House. His death on 8 December 1986, however, preceded completion of the restoration of the State House's legislative wing.



Content Note

This series includes nearly forty photographs of Senator Foran taken during his years of public service, from the 1960s to the 1980s. The photographs were donated to the State Archives in 1995 by the senator's widow, Mrs. Anne M. Foran. All of the images show Senator Foran at work or with other New Jersey politicians. The subjects were identified by family and staff members; however, the descriptions are very rough in many cases due to a lack of specific information. Also included are copies of several senate resolutions relating to the senator and his father. A complimenting collection of photographs relating to the personal life of Senator Foran was donated by his family to the Hunterdon County Historical Society in Flemington.



Contents

1. Left to right: Assemblymen Joseph LeFante, Thomas H. Kean, Foran and Chris Jackman, no place, no date. B&W halftone print, 7"x7.5" on 8.5"x11.5" backing.
2. Foran sitting with Robert Littell, Assembly Chambers, Trenton, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
3. Sign on office door: "Assistant Minority Leader Walter E. Foran," State House, Trenton, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
4. Foran walking into office (on door: "Republican Whip Walter E. Foran"), State House, Trenton, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
5. Gen. Francis Gerard presenting plaque/license plate to Foran, no place, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
6. Sitting at table, left to right: Foran, two unknown men, Gov. William Cahill and Henry Kuhl, Hunterdon County Republican Chairman [taken by Lambertville Beacon], no place, no date. B&W print, 4.5"x8.5".
7. Portrait of Foran, chest-up in plaid jacket, no place, no date. B&W print, 5"x7".
8. Foran with Richard Zimmer, standing next to elephant, no place, no date. 2 B&W prints, 5"x7".
9. Campaign photograph of Foran at Lotto board [taken by Hunterdon County Democrat], no place, no date. B&W print, 4"x8".
10. Portrait of Foran, chest-up in dark jacket, no place, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
11. Foran presenting license plate to Agricultural Secretary Philip Alampi, no place, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
12. Senate resolution honoring Foran for his efforts in the renovation and restoration of the State Capitol Complex, Trenton, no date.
13. Left to right: Karl Weidel, Raymond Bateman, Regina Meredith and Foran, no place, no date. B&W print, 5"x7".
14. Foran and Assemblyman Joseph Chinnici, Cumberland County, no date. B&W print, 3.5"x5".
15. Foran at his desk, no place, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
16. Foran with Milicent Fenwick, no place, no date. B&W print, 5"x7".
17. Foran in U.S. Army uniform with Mrs. Meyner, no place, no date. B&W print, 8"x10".
18. Wesley Lance, George Harper (State Auditor), and unknown woman sitting at banquet table, no place, ca. 1960s. B&W print, 8"x10".
19. Senate resolution re: death of former senator, Col. Arthur F. Foran, Trenton, 9 January 1962, and cover letter of Wesley L. Lance to Walter E. Foran, Clinton, 26 December 1978 [2 items].
20. Foran sitting at desk, Assembly Chambers, Trenton, ca. 1970s. B&W print, 5"x7".
21. Foran sitting at desk, Assembly Chambers, Trenton, ca. 1970s. 3 B&W prints, 8"x10".
22. Left to right: Assemblymen William Schluter, Raymond Bateman, Foran and Karl Weidel, ca. 1970s. B&W print, 5"x7".
23. Portrait of Foran, chest-up in gray jacket, ca. 1970s. B&W print, 4"x5".
24. Jim Vreeland, Gene Bedell, Foran, Fran Gorman, Mrs. [Dealomer?] and Jim [Mancius?], no place, June 1972 [stamped on reverse: "New Jersey Association of Chosen Freeholders"]. B&W print, 4"x5".
25. With soldiers in camouflage, left to right: Jerry Stockman, Arthur Albohn, Willie Brown, Charles Hardwick and Foran, ca. late 1970s. B&W print, 5"x7".
26. Left to right: Sen. Lawrence S. Weiss, Rotary Governor Hal Chassen, Sen. S. Thomas Gagliano and Foran, State House, Trenton, 2 March 1978. B&W print, 5"x7".
27. Left to right: Former Senator Peter McDonough Sr., unknown woman and Foran, no place, 3 October 1979. Color print, 5"x7".
28. Gov. Thomas H. Kean and unknown child posing with Foran dressed as Santa Claus, State House, Trenton, ca. early 1980s. 2 B&W prints, 5"x7" and 8"x10".
29. Sen. Foran and Anne Foran posing with Pat Kramer, Republican candidate for governor, 1981. 2 B&W prints, 5"x8".
30. Left to right: Charles Hardwick, Walter Kavanaugh, Jane Burgio, unknown man, John Ewing, [poss. D. Friedland], Foran, Eddie Bracken, John P. Caulfield, Mattie Feldman and Willie Brown at committee meeting, ca. April-May 1981. B&W print, 8"x10", also cover letter of Angelo Del Rossi, Paper Mill Playhouse, to Foran, Millburn, 13 May 1981.
31. Left to right: Karl Weidel, Foran and Richard Zimmer, outside of the State House, Trenton, ca. 1983. B&W print, 8"x10".
32. Foran posing with Gov. Kean, Governor's Office, State House, Trenton, ca. 1983. B&W print, 5"x7".
33. Foran sitting with Sen. Donald DiFrancesco, Senate Minority Offices, State House, Trenton, 1983. B&W print, 8"x10".
34. Campaign photograph, left to right: Karl Weidel, Foran and Richard Zimmer, Senate Chambers, State House, Trenton, 1983. B&W print, 8"x10".
35. Senate resolution paying tribute to State Police Superintendent Clinton Pagano upon the arrest of suspects in the killing of State Trooper Philip Lamonaco, sponsored by Senators Foran, Weiss and Dumont, Trenton, 29 November 1984 [2 copies].
36. Temporary senate and assembly chambers during the State House renovation, State House Annex, Trenton, 1986. 2 color prints, 7.5"x7.5" on 8"x10" backings.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations