njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Capt. Thomas H. Ford (ca. 1837-     )
Series: Civil War Records relating to the 1st Regiment, New Jersey Cavalry, 1861-1870
Accession #: 1996.039
Series #:  PFORD001
Guide Date:  4/1997 (JK)
Volume: 2 c.f. [6 boxes and 13 map folders]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of Civil War records of Capt. Thomas H. Ford relating to the 1st Regiment, New Jersey Cavalry. Little is known about Ford's personal life other than that he was born ca. 1837 and was credited to Crosswicks, Burlington County, at the time of enlistment. He may have been the Thomas Ford, mason, living in Chesterfield Township in 1860. Ford was mustered in as a private in Company D of the 1st Cavalry Regiment in August 1861. During the next three years he rose through the ranks: corporal in February 1862; sergeant in June 1863; second lieutenant in February 1864; and first lieutenant in November 1864. On 8 June 1865, Ford was promoted to the rank of captain and transferred to the command of Company E. A week later, however, he was reassigned to Company K, and was responsible for mustering-out the men of that unit during the last months of the war. Although it is not mentioned in Adjutant General Stryker's Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865, Ford's records show that, as a lieutenant, he had also commanded Company I in February-March 1865.

Capt. Ford's records were donated privately to the State Archives in 1996. At that time, these papers and books were still stored in the original field desk of Company K (also part of the donation). Included among the records are reports and rolls generated by Ford as an officer or commander of Companies D, I and K, as well as material which he "inherited" from the former commanders of Company K: Capt. Virgil Broderick (commanded 1861-1862), Capt. Henry W. Sawyer (commanded 1862-1863), and Lt./Capt. Joseph Brooks (commanded 1863-1865). Henry Sawyer was well known for having been sentenced to death while a prisoner at Libby Prison in 1863, along with Capt. John M. Flinn of Indiana, in retaliation for the execution of two southern captains charged with espionage. Sawyer and Flinn were freed from their sentence, however, after intervention by President Lincoln, and exchanged for Confederate Gen. William H. F. Lee (son of Robert E. Lee) and another captured southern officer.

While Capt. Ford's records largely relate to accounting for ordnance and equipment issued to or found/lost by the men of the respective companies, there are also many items recording personal information about the members of the 1st Cavalry. These include muster rolls, patient reports from U.S. Army general hospitals, death and discharge notices, and pay and furlough records. Also, two of the five bound volumes included in the collection are especially rich in personal information: Item 35 is a descriptive register of Company K covering the period August 1861 - September 1864; and Item 44 contains a record of soldiers recruited by Lt. Joseph Brooks while assigned to the 1st Cavalry recruiting office in Jersey City, September 1863 - March 1864. Both volumes contain details on the age, physical description, nativity and occupation of the soldiers, in addition to remarks relating to their service.

The records have been arranged by company, and thereunder chronologically. In some instances, related or similar records spanning months or even years have been grouped together as single items. The collection also includes a supply of blank forms (see Box 2). Oversized items, which are stored in Boxes 3-6 and in map folders, are identified as such in the Contents list below. NOTE: Many of the muster rolls are in delicate condition. Researchers are requested to handle these manuscripts—especially the oversized items—with extreme care.



1.  See: Sketch of Major Henry Washington Sawyer, First Regiment, Cavalry, New Jersey Volunteers: A Union Soldier and Prisoner of War in Libby Prison Under Sentence of Death by Carlos E. Godfrey (Trenton, 1907).



Contents - Box 1 (unless otherwise noted)

1st Regiment records, 1865 (see also items 38 and 44):
1. Acknowledgement of receipt of clothing and camp and garrison equipage, 1st Regiment non-commissioned officers, artificers, musicians and privates, no place, 1-28 February 1865 [4 sheets; oversized—see map case].
Company D records, 1864-1865:
2. Invoices of ordnance and ordnance stores turned over to Company D, Camp in the field, VA, 30 June - 31 December 1864 [3 items].
3. Quarterly returns of ordnance and ordnance stores for Company D for the third and fourth quarters 1864, transmittal letters, and report of examination of fourth-quarter return, Camp near Petersburg, VA, and Washington, DC, 30 June 1864 - 25 February 1865 [6 items].
4. Monthly returns of quartermaster's stores for Company D, Camp in the field, VA, July-December 1864 [6 items].
5. Lists of quartermaster's stores received and transferred by Company D, Camp in the field, VA, 1 July - 31 December 1864 [7 items].
6. Discharge notice of Sgt. T. H. Ford, Company D, Headquarters, Calvary Corps, Army of the Potomac, 23 July 1864.
7. Muster-in roll of 2nd Lt. Thomas H. Ford, Company D, Light [House?] Point, 24 July 1864 [oversized—see Box 6].
8. Abstract of articles received from officers by Company D during the month of July 1864, Camp in the field, VA, 31 July 1864.
9. Extract of court martial proceedings relative to Pvt. Isaiah Buchanan of Company D, charged with robbery and assault with intent to kill, Headquarters, 2nd Cavalry Division, Army of the Potomac, 5 September 1864.
10. Receipts for ordnance and ordnance stores issued to Company D, Camp in the field and near Petersburg, VA, 20 September - 31 December 1864 [5 items].
11. Report of Thomas H. Ford on Company D stores lost in battle near [Marlenhill?], VA, on 28 July, Camp near Petersburg, VA, 30 September 1864.
12. Lists of quartermaster's stores expended in public service, Company D, Camp in the field, VA, October-December 1864 [3 items; oversized—see Box 6].
13. Monthly return of clothing, camp and garrison equipage for Company D, Camp in the field, VA, November 1864.
14. Muster-out roll of Thomas H. Ford, 2nd Lt., Company D, near Petersburg, VA, 13 December 1864 [oversized—see map case].
15. List of stores found by Company D on the field at or near Belfield, VA, on 12 November, Camp near Petersburg, VA, 31 December 1864.
16. Quarterly report on the condition and quality of ordnance stores (circular questionnaire from Ordnance Office), Camp near Petersburg, VA, 31 December 1864.
17. Report of Thomas H. Ford on Company D stores lost in battle near Vaughn Road, VA, on 1 October, Camp near Petersburg, VA, 31 December 1864.
18. Report of 1st Lt. Thomas H. Ford on the command of Company D for the period 1 October -31 December 1864, Camp near Petersburg, VA, 31 December 1864. 
19. Statement of ordnance and ordnance stores pertaining to Company D charged on the muster and pay rolls during the fourth quarter 1864, no place, 31 December 1864.
20. Vouchers for pay, clothing and subsistence for Charles Williams, servant, Company D, no place, 31 December 1864 - 28 February 1865 [4 items; oversized—see Box 6].
Company I records, 1864-1865 
21. Invoices of ordnance and ordnance stores turned over to Company I, Camp in the field, VA, 9 November 1864 - 24 March 1865 [4 items].
22. Abstract of materials expended or consumed in Company I, no place, 4th Quarter 1864.
23. Report of Company [I] stores lost in battle at Belfield Station on 9 December, near Petersburg, VA, 20 January 1865.
24. Lists of quartermaster's stores received and transferred by Company I, Camp in the field and Camp Gregg, VA, 31 January -31 March 1865 [6 items].
25. List of articles lost or destroyed in the public service, Company I, Camp in the field, VA, February 1865 [oversized—see Box 6].
26. Monthly returns of quartermaster's stores for Company I and receipt from Property Division, Camp in the field, VA, and Washington, DC, February-March & 6 July 1865 [3 items].
27. Note regarding late return of "J.W.G." from furlough, Camp Gregg, VA, 28 February 1865.
28. List of quartermaster's stores expended in public service, Company I, Camp in the field, VA, March 1865 [oversized—see Box 6].
29. Furlough certificate of Pvt. James Smith, Company I, Camp in the field, 7 March 1865 [fragmented].
30. Receipts for ordnance and ordnance stores issued to Company I, Camp in the field, 24 & 31 March 1865 [2 items].
31. Abstract of articles transferred to Lt. Shaw and Capt. Beekman by Company I during the month of March, Camp in the field, VA, 31 March 1865.
32. Quarterly return of ordnance and ordnance stores, Company I, for quarter ending 31 March 1865, Petersburg, VA, 31 March 1865.
33. Report of Company [I] stores lost in battle at Five Fork, VA, on 31 March, Camp, 22 May 1865.
34. Envelope addressed to Frederick Schaal, Company I, labeled "Ordnance Returns," no place, no date.
Company K records, 1861-1865 
35. Descriptive register of Company K, no place, August 1861 - September 1864 [bound volume—see Box 3]. Includes the following sections:

  List of commissioned officers [1 p.]
  List of non-commissioner officers [1 p. used]
  Register of men transferred [1 line used]
  Register of men discharged [2 pp. used]
  Register of deaths [1 p. used]
  Register of deserters [1 p. used]
  Descriptive roll [16 pp. used]
36. Muster roll of Company K by Capt. Virgil Broderick, Camp near [C---?] Mountain, 18 August 1862 [oversized—see map case].
37. Account of clothing issued, Company K, no place, ca. September 1862 - July 1864 [bound volume—see Box 4].
38. Quartermaster General accounts - Lt. William M. Hazen, 3rd Battalion/Company K ordnance records, no place, October 1862 - January 1864 [bound volume]. Includes the following sections (blank or missing pages and "scratch notes" not noted):

  Record of ordnance, Quartermaster Department, October 1862 - January 1864 [pp. 3-63]
  Record of ordnance, Company K, no date [pp. 64-65]
  Individual records of gear issued, no date [pp. 66-150]
  List of ordnance stores lost in action since 1 April, June 1864 [p. 151]
  Journal of Company K, September - November 1864 [pp. 156-160]
  Quartermaster Department account, 11 October 1862 [p. 225]
  Notes on individual accounts, January 1864 [25 pp., unnumbered]
  Account of equipment with Capt. H. W. Sawyer, 11 June 1863 [1 p., unnumbered]
  Account of equipment lost in action, 9 June 1863 [1 p., unnumbered]
  Individual records of gear issued, 29 May 1863 [2 pp., unnumbered]
  Account of equipment with Capt. H. W. Sawyer, 24 October 1862 - 16 February 1863
   [3 pp., unnumbered]
  Individual accounts of gear issued, October 1862 - January 1864 [68 pp., unnumbered]
  List of arms lost in action, 31 October 1862 & 9 June 1863 [1 p., unnumbered]
39. Muster rolls of Company K by Capt. Henry W. Sawyer, Camp near Centerville, VA, and Camp Karge, 1 November & 31 December 1862 [2 items; oversized—see map case]. 
40. Muster roll of Company K by Capt. Henry W. Sawyer, Camp Bayard, VA, 28 February 1863 [oversized—see map case].
41. Monthly returns of Capt. Henry W. Sawyer, Company K, various places in VA and Westminster, MD, March 1863 - March 1864 [9 items; oversized—see Box 6].
42. Muster rolls of Company K by Capt. Henry W. Sawyer, no place and Camp near Brooks Station, 10 & 30 April 1863 [4 items; oversized—see map case]. 
43. Muster rolls of Company K by Capt. Henry W. Sawyer, near Warrenton and Sutphens Springs, VA, 31 August & 31 October 1863 [2 items; oversized—see map case]. 
44. 1st Regiment recruit book/Company K journal and ordnance record, Jersey City, NJ, and no place, September 1863 - June 1865 [bound volume]. Includes the following sections (blank or missing pages and "scratch notes" not noted): 

  Record of recruits by Lt. Joseph Brooks, 1st Cavalry Recruiting Office, Jersey City, NJ,
   18 September 1863 - 4 March 1864 [pp. 2-17]
  Journal of Company K, 1 December 1864 - 21 June 1865 [pp. 18-41]
  Record of gear issued, 28 June 1865 [pp. 100-101]
  Record of arms purchased by members of Company K, no date [p. 102]
  Record of gear turned in, 16 July 1864 [p. 106]
  Records of gear issued, no date [pp. 108-111]
  Record of gear taken up by Lt. Ford on assuming command, ca. June 1865 [p. 113]
  Records of gear and ordnance issued, no date and April-May 1865 [pp. 118-130 with gaps]
  Price list of clothing, 1865 [p. 131]
  Record of ordnance issued, December 1864 - March 1865 [pp. 132-137]
45. Muster and descriptive roll, detachment of Company K, Warrenton, VA, January 1864 [oversized—see map case]. 
46.  Record of ordnance issued, Company K, no place, ca. January 1864 - June 1865 [bound volume—see Box 5]. 
47.  Letter of L. F. Fitch to Capt. Joseph Brooks requesting information on the death of Jacob H. Dickerson, Montrose, PA, 21 February [1864]. 
48.  Muster roll of Company K by Capt. Henry W. Sawyer, near Warrenton Junction, VA, 30 April 1864 [oversized—see map case]. 
49.  Pay notices, Pay Department, United States Army, Annapolis, MD, Trenton, NJ, and no place, 16 June 1864 - 15 July 1865 [18 items]. 
50.  Report of furlough of Pvt. John Hermes, Company K, from Columbian Hospital, Washington, DC, 25 June 1864. 
51.  Patient report for Reuben B. Arthur of Company K, Lincoln U.S. Army General Hospital, 18 July 1864. 
52.  Muster-out rolls, Company K, no place, August 1864 [2 items; oversized—see map case]. 
53.  Record of clothing received by members of Company K, Camp [Sherman?], August 1864. 
54.  Notice of death of Pvt. John Hermes of Company K of tetanus on 18 August, and inventory of effects, Ward U.S. Army Hospital, Newark, NJ, 31 August 1864. 
55.  Patient report for Pvt. Patrick Murphy of Company K, Newton University U.S. Army General Hospital, Baltimore, MD, 31 August 1864. 
56.  Discharge notice for Pvt. John E. F. Cleghorn of Company K by reason of wounds (at Newark, NJ), Headquarters, Department of the East, New York City, NY, 15 October 1864. 
57.  Patient report and partial descriptive list/account of pay and clothing for Pvt. Thomas Belfield of Company K, Satterlee U.S. Army General Hospital, West Philadelphia, PA, 19 October 1864 [2 items]. 
58.  Muster roll of Company K by Capt. Joseph Brooks, In the field and near Petersburg, VA, 31 October 1864 & 28 February 1865 [2 items; oversized—see map case]. 
59.  Patient report for Pvts. Andrew Johnson and Joseph E. Stoll of Company K, Judiciary Square U.S. Army General Hospital, Washington, DC, 31 October 1864 & 30 April 1865 [2 items]. 
60. Patient reports for Pvt. Caleb Sargeant of Company K, Ward U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark, NJ, 31 October & 30 November 1864 [2 items].
61.  Monthly returns of 1st Sgt. George W. McPeek and Capt. Joseph Brooks, Company K, in the field and near Petersburg, VA, 31 October - 31 December 1864 [3 items; oversized—see Box 6]. 
62.  Patient/pay report for Pvt. Peter Hadley of Company K, Ward U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark, NJ, 9 December 1864. 
63. Notice of death of Pvt. Peter Burns of Company K of chronic diarrhea and gangrene on 15 September and inventory of effects, Carver U.S. Army General Hospital, Washington, DC, 16 December 1864 [2 items].
64. Patient reports for Bugler John Jenkinson, Pvt. Patrick Kennedy and Pvt. John Leonard of Company K, Ward U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark, NJ, 31 December 1864 [3 items].
65. Letter of Maj. W. J. Newton to Capt. Joseph Brooks requesting the transfer of men from Company K and draft of responses, Trenton, NJ, and Petersburg, VA, 2-30 January 1865 [3 items].
66. Printed statement of the cost of clothing and camp and garrison equipage, War Department, 7 January 1865.
67. Record of stoppages and payments for Company K made by Lt. Henry Werner through 28 February, Pay Department, 20 April 1865. 
68. Letter of M. Crowl to Commanding Officer, Company K, re: being captured and detailed to the Ordnance Office, War Department, Washington, DC, 28 April 1865.
69. Patient report for Bugler John Jenkinson, Pvt. Patrick Kennedy, Pvt. John Leonard and Pvt. George M. Jenkins of Company K, Ward U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark, NJ, 30 April 1865. 
70.  Patient report for John Dwyer of Company K, Division No. 2 U.S. Army General Hospital, Annapolis, MD, 10 May 1865. 
71. Muster-out rolls of Pvts. John P. Fitzgerald, George Shaw, James Jackson and William Schenck, Company K, various places, 25 May - 24 July 1865 [4 items; oversized—see map case]. 
72.  Patient notice for Pvts. William Pridmore, John Jenkinson, William Vanderhuf and Patrick Kennedy of Company K, Ward U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark, NJ, 31 May 1865. 
73. List of quartermaster's stores expended in public service, Company K, Clouds Mills, VA, June 1865 [oversized—see Box 6]. 
74.  Monthly return of clothing, camp and garrison equipage for Company K, Clouds Mills, VA, June 1865. 
75.  Monthly return of quartermaster's stores for Company K, Clouds Mills, VA, June 1865. 
76.  Patient reports for Pvts. John Doolen and Charles H. Eaton of Company K, Finley U.S. Army General Hospital, Washington, DC, 1 & 15 June 1865 [2 items]. 
77. Invoices of ordnance and ordnance stores turned over to Company K and statement of deficiency of stores on taking command, Camp in the field and Clouds Mills, VA, 7 & 30 June 1865 [3 items]. 
78.  Muster-in roll of Capt. Thomas H. Ford, Company K, Clouds Mills, VA, 16 June 1865 [oversized—see Box 6]. 
79.  Notice of transportation for Pvt. James Jackson of Company K from Trenton to Paterson, U.S. Assistant Quartermaster's Office, Trenton, NJ, 26 June 1865. 
80. List of stores found by Company K on 29 June, Fairfax Station, VA, 30 June 1865. 
81. Muster roll of Company K by Capt. Thomas H. Ford, Vienna, VA, 30 June 1865 [oversized—see map case]. 
82. Receipt for ordnance and ordnance stores, In the field, 30 June 1865.
83.  Note, Fairfax Station, VA, July 1865. 
84.  Letter of F. Fowler to Capt. T. H. Ford re: S. H. Dickerson (missing soldier), U.S. Sanitary Commission, Washington, DC, 3 July 1865. 
85. Letter of Carl Pfeiffer requesting information in the death of Carl Ebner of Company K, Newark, NJ, 6 July 1865. 
86.  List of members of Company K (and payments made?), no place, 10 July 1865. 
87.  Envelope addressed to Capt. Brooks and notes on equipment of Company K men, no place, no date [2 items]. 
Box 2
Miscellaneous accounts, 1864-1870
88. Account of Lt. Ford with A. J. Wisner, no place, 10 December 1864 - 29 June 1865.
89.  Account of Thomas Foy [Ford?] with S. & J. Mathews, no place, 28 May - 2 July 1870. 
Blank forms:   
90. Abstract of articles transferred [2 copies, folded]. 
91.  Final statement of volunteer [11 copies]. 
92. Furlough certificates [3 copies]. 
93.  List of quartermaster's stores [10 copies, 4 folded]. 
94. List of stores expended [1 copy, folded]. 
95. Monthly return of quartermaster's stores [1 copy]. 
96.  Soldiers' passes, Camp Bayard, Trenton, NJ, 1865 [11 copies]. 
97.  Statement exhibiting the allowance of clothing [19 copies, folded].
98.  Unused envelope. 

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations