njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Moses E. Gould (1795-1883)
Series: Papers, 1810-1851
Accession #: 1987.011
Series #:  PGOUL001
Guide Date:  Post-1989 (GG/JK)
Volume: 0.05 c.f. [5 items]


Contents

Biographical Note

Moses E. Gould, son of Encrease and Mary Gould, was born in Acquackanonk Township, Essex County, in 1795. He spent his entire life in Acquackanonk (which became part of Passaic County in 1837), farming and raising a large family with his wife Rebecca. Their children (named in census records and Moses's will) included: Encrease, Emily, Sarah, Sophia, Martha Rebecca, John, Catharine, and Edward. On 21 February 1851, Gould was appointed Commissioner of Deeds for Passaic County. He died on 25 August 1883 at the age of 88.



Contents

1. Deed, Paul Rutan to Encrease Gould, for 1.22 acres in Acquackanonk Township, Essex County, 22 March 1810.
2. Promissory note of Moses E. Gould to William Ellison, 1 December 1821.
3. Deed, Jacob E. Vreeland to Moses E. Gould, for 0.45 acres in Acquackanonk Township, Essex County, 11 November 1828.
4. Assignment of mortgage of Moses E. and Rebekah [sic] Gould from Elias Van Arsdale and Peter Embury, executors of Abraham Ackerman, deceased, to the True Reformed Dutch Church of Acquackanonk, 9 July 1831.
5. Appointment of Moses E. Gould, Commissioner of Deeds, Passaic County, 21 February 1851.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations