| Record
Group: |
Col.
Henry Hartford (1937-1919) |
| Series: |
Papers,
1861-1929 |
| Accession
#: |
1993.046 |
| Series
#: |
PHART001 |
| Guide
Date: |
2/1994
(JK) |
| Volume: |
1
c.f. [1 box, 1 volume, and 12 oversized folders] |
Content
Note | Contents
Biographical
Note
Born
8 February 1837 in Coleraine, County Londonderry, Ireland, Henry
Hartford was the eldest child of William and Martha (Leslie) Hartford.
He attended private schools in Ireland, and at the age of 18 decided
to follow his brother William to the United States. After Henry's
arrival in New York City in 1855, the Hartford brothers were employed
as clerks in a grocery store. By the 1860s, their widowed mother
and twin sisters Elizabeth and Susan joined them.
At the outbreak of the Civil War, both Henry and William Hartford
joined the Union forces--Henry enlisting in Company K of the First
Regiment, New Jersey Militia, for three-months' service. In July
1861, the First Militia was reorganized as the 8th New Jersey
Volunteer Regiment. Hartford became first sergeant of Company
F on 31 August 1861, and was promoted to second lieutenant on
10 December the following year. On 3 October 1863, he was promoted
to first lieutenant and transferred to Company E.
Hartford was made captain of Company C on 11 June 1864, and in
December of the same year he rose to the rank of major and was
made regimental commander of the 8th New Jersey, replacing Col.
John Ramsey. After distinguishing himself in battle at Petersburg,
Virginia, he was made brevet lieutenant colonel on 2 April 1865,
and later lieutenant colonel. During the course of the war, the
8th Regiment saw action at Yorktown, Williamsburg and Fredericksburg
in 1862, Chancellorsville and Gettysburg in 1863, and Petersburg
in 1864 and 1865. Hartford was seriously wounded five times. He
was mustered out in October 1865 following the mustering out of
his troops and the inventorying of military stores.
After the Civil War, Col. Hartford initially found employment
in New York City--first in the city assessor's office and then
at Sprague & McKillets Mercantile Agency. In 1867, he and
his brother William moved westward to Leavenworth, Kansas, where
together they engaged in a commission business until 1872. In
1873, the Hartford brothers, their mother, and sister Elizabeth
(Hartford) Cooter all removed to Medora Township, Reno County,
settling on adjacent homesteads. Here Col. Hartford began the
"Hillsview Stock Farm," a successful cattle ranch from
which he eventually expanded his land holdings to one thousand
acres. Col. Hartford also served in several public offices, including
sheriff of Reno County during 1874-75, township clerk, and as
a member of the school board. He did not become a citizen of the
United States, however, until September 1877.
In 1879, Col. Hartford married Alice Elizabeth Thomas, with whom
he raised a family of five children. In 1906, Col. and Mrs. Hartford
retired from the ranch to a home in the city of Hutchinson. Hartford
died 4 October 1919.
|
| Bibliography
|
| Ploughe,
Sheridan. History of Reno County, Kansas: Its People, Industries
and Institutions. (Indianapolis, IN:
|
|
| B.
F. Bowen & Co., 1917).
|
| Robertson,
James I., ed. The Civil War Letters of Robert McAllister.
(New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University
|
|
|
Press, 1965).
|
| Stryker,
William S. Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil
War, 1861-1865. (Trenton, NJ: John L.
|
|
| Murphy,
1876).
|
| Trudeau,
Noah Andre. The Last Citadel: Petersburg, Virginia, June 1864-April
1865. (Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana
|
|
|
State University Press, 1991).
|
This
collection was donated to the Archives in 1993 by Henry Hartford's
grandson, John Hartford, of Newton, KS. It includes miscellaneous
military and personal papers from or related to Col. Hartford's
Civil War service. The papers have been organized into the following
five groups:
8th
Regiment records - These make up the bulk of the Hartford papers,
and include such items as muster rolls, descriptive lists, inventories
of ordnance stores, receipts for clothing and camp equipage, and
monthly reports from hospitals notifying company commanders that
certain men remained under care. Several of the documents provide
personal details about individual soldiers. One such item is the
descriptive book for Company E (#1 below), which records the age,
place of birth, occupation, and service record for each man in the
company. Much of the information included in this volume cannot
be found in the Archives' official records for the 8th Regiment.
Unfortunately, several pages of the book are missing and many others
were obscured by its subsequent use as a scrapbook for newsclippings.
Also of special note is an operations report from Hartford to Major
J. P. Finkelmeier giving details of activities near Petersburg and
Appomattox in March-April 1865.
6th
Regiment records - The second group consists of various documents
relating to the 6th Regiment, including muster rolls and pay and
hospital records dating from 1864-1865. It is not clear whether
Henry Hartford had official responsibility at some time for the
6th Regiment.
3rd
Corps records - This group includes two circular notices only.
Confederate
documents - The first of the two items in this group is a blank
$500 Confederate certificate. The second item is a morning report
of Captain S. W. Jones, Company C, 46th North Carolina Infantry,
made in February-March 1865. Considering the dates, this document
may have been confiscated or taken as a souvenir by Hartford or
one of his men during the final days of the siege of Petersburg,
about April 2nd.
Post-war
material - This group consists of personal papers mostly relating
to pension and arrears-of-pay claims, and Hartford's involvement
in the Grand Army of the Republic. Also included here are photocopies
of three letters of recommendation, dated 1865-1868, from Gens.
Robert McAllister and Gershom Mott (Hartford's brigade and division
commanders, respectively) and New Jersey Governor Marcus Ward.
NOTE: The Hartford donation also includes a large number of "carte-de-visites"
collected by Col. Henry Hartford--mostly of officers of the 8th
Regiment. For preservation purposes and improved access, these photographs
have been placed in the series Department of Defense / Adjutant
General's Office (Civil War) / Photographs of Soldiers. A list
is attached to this guide for the convenience of researchers.
|
8th
Regiment records, 1861-1865 |
| 1. |
Descriptive
book, Company E, August 1861 - June 1864 [1 vol., oversized]. |
| 2. |
Monthly
returns of captains, 1862-1864:
| a. |
|
Capt.
Edwin G. Nichols, Company G, September-October 1863 [2 items,
oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Hartford
and predecessors (including Capt. Thomas Stevenson and Lt. Augustus
Bock), Company E, October 1862 - April 1864 [10 items, oversized]. |
|
| 3. |
Muster
rolls, Company E, 1862-1863:
| a. |
|
2nd
Lt. John B. Donald, 31 October 1862 [1 item, oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Capt.
Thomas Stevenson, near Falmouth, VA, 10 April 1863 [1 item,
oversized]. |
| c. |
|
Capt.
Thomas Stevenson, near Falmouth, VA, 10 April 1863 [1 item,
oversized; incomplete roll?]. |
| d. |
|
Capt.
Thomas Stevenson, near Falmouth, VA, 30 April 1863 [1 item,
oversized]. |
| e. |
|
Lt.
Augustus Bock, near Bealton, VA, 31 August 1863 [1 item, oversized]. |
| f. |
|
Lt.
Henry Hartford, 31 December 1863 [1 item, oversized]. |
|
| 4. |
Hospital
records, 1862-1865:
| a. |
|
Descriptive
list, Thomas Startin, Company E, Hammond General Hospital, Point
Lookout, MD, 29 December 1862 [1 item]. |
| b. |
|
Notice
of H. [W. Ducachet?] re: Hartford entering hospital, Seminary
Hospital, Georgetown, DC, 22 April 1863 [1 item]. |
| c. |
|
Mower
U.S. General Hospital re: Pvts. Edward S. Sharley and John Shultz,
Company E, Philadelphia, PA, 23 January 1864 [2 items]. |
| d. |
|
Report
re: Pvt. Patrick Harrington, Company E, U.S. Army General Hospital,
Annapolis, MD, 4 February 1864 [1 item]. |
| e. |
|
Report
re: Pvt. Wesley Vanderhoof, Company E, Tilton General Hospital,
Wilmington, DE, 2 May 1864 [1 item]. |
| f. |
|
Report
re: Pvt. Mack D. Safford, Ricord U.S. Army General Hospital,
Washington, DC, 31 March 1865 [1 item]. |
| g. |
|
Report
re: Pvts. George Fisher and Jacob Breivogel, Post Hospital,
City Point, VA, 31 March 1865 [2 items]. |
| h. |
|
Report re: Pvt. John Schaustien, Company E, Judiciary Square
U.S. Army General Hospital, Washington, DC, 31 March 1865 [1
item]. |
| i. |
|
Reports
re: Corp. J. C. Barkman, Company F; Pvt. George A. Bickell,
Company G; Pvt. George Fisher, Company A; Pvt. August Godeke,
Company F; Pvt. James Kelly, Company C; Pvt. Frank McCreary,
Company I; Pvt. Patrick Murphy, Company A; and Pvt. Ward Price,
Company E, "Ward" U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark,
NJ, 31 March 1865 [10 items]. |
| j. |
|
Request
for descriptive list for Sgt. Edward Cobb, Jarvis U.S. Army
General Hospital, Baltimore, MD, 14 May 1865 [1 item]. |
| k. |
|
Reports
re: Pvts. Jacob Luithle, Company E; Mack D. Safford, Company
K; Henry J. Ward, Company B, Lincoln U.S. General Hospital,
Washington, DC, May and 11 June 1865 [2 items]. |
| l. |
|
Reports
re: Corp. Henry Fox and Pvt. Henry Seibick, Company G; Pvts.
William Grossman and Baltas Cochle, Company D; and Pvts. Christopher
Stumpf, Company K, "Ward" U.S. General Hospital, Newark,
NJ, 31 May 1865 [3 items]. |
| m. |
|
Pvt.
A. Daisenburger, Company K, U.S. General Hospital, Fortress
Monroe, VA, 31 May 1865 [1 item]. |
|
| 5. |
Clothing,
camp and garrison equipage records, 1863-1865:
| a. |
|
Signed
blank forms, no date [2 items]. |
| b. |
|
Acknowledgement
of receipt of camp equipage, Company G, 1863 [1 item; includes
signatures of men]. |
| c. |
|
Miscellaneous,
Company G, September 1863 [6 items]. |
| d. |
|
Acknowledgements
of receipt of clothing, Company G, September 1863 and no date
[2 items, oversized; include signatures of men]. |
| e. |
|
Miscellaneous,
Company G, October 1863 [3 items]. |
| f. |
|
Miscellaneous,
Company E, November 1863 [4 items]. |
| g. |
|
Acknowledgements
of receipt of clothing, Company E, 1st Quarter, 1865 [1 item,
oversized, fragmented; includes signatures of men]. |
| h. |
|
Miscellaneous,
Company E, February-March 1864 [4 items]. |
| i. |
|
Capt.
Thomas S. Munro to Commanding Officer, 8th Battalion, re: amount
of clothing drawn by men of 8th Regiment, Headquarters, 3rd
Division, 26 April 1865 [1 item]. |
|
| 6. |
Volunteer
descriptive lists and accounts of pay and clothing, Company E, 1863-1864:
| a. |
|
Pvt.
Charles A. King, 5 April 1863 [1 item, oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Pvt.
Israel Masker, 14 April 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
|
| 7. |
Records
relating to disciplinary actions, 1863-1865:
| a. |
|
List
of men from Company K who participated in [mutiny?], no date
[1 item]. |
| b. |
|
Col.
John Ramsey to S. Williams, Assistant Adjutant General, recommending
dismissal of 2nd Lt. Andrew J. Manderville, Company D, for actions
at Gettysburg, Camp near Bealton, VA, 9 August 1863 [1 item]. |
| c. |
|
Col.
John Ramsey to Maj. [Hears?], Pres., Court of Administration,
re: suspension of privileges of George D. Randal for neglect
of duty, Camp near Brandy Station, VA, 16 December 1863 [1 item]. |
| d. |
|
General
Order No. 2, Col. John Ramsey, ordering Hartford to participate
in court martial, Camp near Brandy Station, VA, 24 February
1864 [1 item]. |
| e. |
|
Henry
A. Scheetz, Capt. and Provost Marshal, to Commanding Officer,
8th New Jersey Volunteers, re: arrest of Joseph Wingartner,
Washington, DC, 1 June 1864 [1 item]. |
| f. |
|
Charge
and specification preferred against Pvt. Gustavus Hasselbogen,
Company I, near Yellow House, VA, 2 January 1865 [1 item]. |
| g. |
|
Hartford
to Asst. Adj. Gen. J. P. Finkelmeier, 3rd Brigade, requesting
court martial of Rufus Keisler and John D. Burgh, Headquarters,
8th New Jersey Volunteers, 15 June 1865 [1 item]. |
|
| 8. |
Ordnance
records, 1863-1865:
| a. |
|
2nd
Lt. John B. Donald, 31 October 1862 [1 item, oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Capt.
Thomas Stevenson, near Falmouth, VA, 10 April 1863 [1 item,
oversized]. |
| c. |
|
Capt.
Thomas Stevenson, near Falmouth, VA, 10 April 1863 [1 item,
oversized; incomplete roll?]. |
| d. |
|
Capt.
Thomas Stevenson, near Falmouth, VA, 30 April 1863 [1 item,
oversized]. |
| e. |
|
Lt.
Augustus Bock, near Bealton, VA, 31 August 1863 [1 item, oversized]. |
|
| 9. |
Transportation
accounts, 1863-1865:
| a. |
|
Account
for: Corp. John Tobin, Company D; Pvt. Patrick McAvay, Company
E; Pvt. George Eager, Company E; Pvt. August Meyer, Company
A; and Pvt. David Fraser, Company A, Annapolis, MD, no date
[1 item]. |
| b. |
|
Account
for Pvt. Thomas Marchbank, Company A, New York, NY, 16 October
1863 [1 item]. |
| c. |
|
Account
for James Hogan, Company B, Philadelphia, PA, 3 June 1865 [1
item]. |
|
| 10. |
Muster-in
rolls, 1863 and 1865:
| a. |
|
1st
Lts. Henry Hartford and Martin I. Manning, 16 October 1863 [1
item, oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Major
Henry Hartford, 5 January 1865 [1 item, oversized]. |
|
| 11. |
Extract
from Special Order No. 219 granting Hartford ten-day leave of absence,
Headquarters, 3rd Army Corps, 29 December 1863 [1 item]. |
| 12. |
Muster-out
roll of Capt. Henry Hartford, 5 January 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
| 13. |
Descriptive
lists of deserters, Company E, 1864:
| a. |
|
Pvt.
Israel Masker, 9 February 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Pvt.
Patrick Harrington, 21 April 1864 and hospital report, Newark
U.S. Army General Hospital, Newark, NJ, 15 April 1864 [2 items,
affixed, oversized]. |
|
| 14. |
Miscellaneous
correspondence, 1864-1865:
| a. |
|
Cover
letter of Asst. Adj. Gen. Samuel Breck enclosing papers [not
attached], Washington, DC, 18 May 1864 [1 item]. |
| b. |
|
Col.
John Ramsey to Adj. Gen. R. F. Stockton and Gov. Joel Parker
recommending promotion of 2nd Lts. Charles H. Archer and Daniel
M. Ford, and James Demarest, Camp near Fort Stevenson, VA, and
Camp near Petersburg, VA, 25 October and 6 November 1864 [3
items]. |
| c. |
|
Col.
John Ramsey to Capt. Munro re: brigade cutting timber, near
Petersburg, VA, 11 November 1864 [1 item]. |
| d. |
|
Hartford
to Lt. Col. Samuel Beck, Assistant Adjutant General, requesting
blank discharges, Headquarters, 8th New Jersey Volunteers, 14
July 1865 [1 item]. |
| e. |
|
Gen.
G. Mott to Hartford re: Hartford's promotion to rank of lieutenant
colonel, Bordentown, NJ, 10 August 1865 [1 item]. |
|
| 15. |
[Muster
roll?], 8th Regiment, Companies A-I, ca. September-October 1864 [1
item]. |
| 16. |
Operations
report, Hartford to J. P. Finkelmeier, Assistant Adjutant General,
re: activities near Petersburg during March-April, 14 April 1865 [1
item]. |
|
6th
Regiment records, 1864-1865 |
| 17. |
Muster
and descriptive rolls, 1864:
| a. |
|
Field
and staff, Lt. Col. P. R. Gilkyson, Petersburg, VA, 28 August
1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
| b. |
|
Recruits
and veteran volunteers, 1st Lt. L. E. Ayres, Company C, near
Petersburg, VA, 28 August 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
| c. |
|
Recruits
and veteran volunteers, Capt. Thomas F. Fields, Company H, no
date [1 item, oversized]. |
| d. |
|
Recruits
and veteran volunteers, 1st Lt. Joseph T. Note, Co. I, near
Petersburg, VA, 28 August 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
| e. |
|
Recruits
and veteran volunteers, Capt. Joseph R. West, Company K, near
Petersburg, VA, 28 August 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
|
| 18. |
Muster
roll, Lt. Joseph C. Lee, Company B, Fort Crawford near Petersburg,
VA, 31 August 1864 [1 item, oversized]. |
| 19. |
Pay
records, 1865:
| a. |
|
Pvt.
John Austin, Company K, Pay Department, March 1865 [1 item]. |
| b. |
|
Pvt.
Michael Wright, Company H, Pay Department, Trenton, NJ, 28 March
1865 [2 items]. |
|
| 20. |
Hospital
records, 1865:
| a. |
|
Roll
of men, De Camp General Hospital (Pvt. William Groves, Company
D, only), David's Island, New York Harbor, 31 March 1865 [1
item]. |
| b. |
|
Reports
re: Pvts. John Nugent, Company B, and Michael Wright, Company
H, 6th Regiment, "Ward" U.S. Army General Hospital,
Newark, NJ, 31 March - 31 May 1865 [4 items]. |
|
|
3rd
Corps records, 1864-1865 |
| 21. |
Treasurer's
report for 1864, G. Mott, 5 May 1864 [1 item]. |
| 22. |
Circular
letter from Capt. K. G. Lay re: return of deserters, Headquarters,
Provisional Corps, 10 July 1865 [1 item]. |
|
Confederate
records, 1865 and no date |
| 23. |
Blank
$500 Confederate certificate, no date [1 item]. |
| 24. |
Morning
report of Capt. S. W. Jones, Company C, 46th Regiment, North Carolina
Infantry, 1 February - 29 March 1865 [1 item, oversized, fragmented].Post-war
material, 1865-1929 |
| 25. |
Letters
of recommendation, 1865-1868:
| a. |
|
Gen.
Robert McAllister "To all whom it may concern" recommending
Hartford for a government position, Belvidere, NJ, 29 August
1865 [1 item, photocopies]. |
| b. |
|
Gen.
G. Mott recommending Hartford, Bordentown, NJ, 17 January 1868
[1 item, photocopies]. |
| c. |
|
Gov.
Marcus L. Ward to Hon. M. Kelly of New York recommending Hartford,
Trenton, NJ, 22 January 1868 [1 item, photocopies]. |
|
| 26. |
Certificate
of Joseph A. Moore, Post Adjutant, granting Hartford leave of absence,
Headquarters, Sedgwick Post No. 11, Grand Army of the Republic, Manhattan
District, 13 April 1868 [1 item, fragmented]. |
| 27. |
Business
card, Hartford & Bro., Leavenworth, KS, ca. 1867-1872. |
| 28. |
Dennis
Cahill to Hartford re: Hartford's invalid pension claim, Soldiers'
Home, Newark, NJ, April 1879 - January 1880 [7 items]. |
| 29. |
Correspondence
relating to arrears-of-pay case (George E. Lemon, Second Auditor's
Office, and others), Washington, DC, August 1888 - June 1892 [10 items]. |
| 30. |
Pension
material (from Department of the Interior and Treasury Department),
Washington, DC, July 1902 - 1918 [6 items]. |
| 31. |
Benjamin
Murphy, Chief of Police, to Hartford re: official record of regiment
and reunion, Jersey City, NJ, 3 December 1903 [1 item]. |
| 32. |
Appointment
of Hartford as Aide-de-Camp, Grand Army of the Republic, Kansas City,
MO, 15 May 1908 [1 item, photocopies]. |
| 33. |
"At
Gettysburg: 'My Most Vivid Recollection' by Missouri and Kansas Surviving
Participants," The Kansas City Star, Sunday, 29 June
1913 [1 item, photocopies; includes account by Hartford]. |
| 34. |
U.S.
Department of the Interior and others to Mrs. Alice Hartford re: widow's
pension, December 1919 - October 1929 [12 items]. |
|