njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Ladies' General Aid Association of New Jersey
Series: Proceedings, 1861-1865
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  PLADI001
Guide Date:  8/1993 (JK)
Volume: 0.05 c.f. [1 vol.]


Content Note

Institutional History

On 11 September 1861, four months after the start of the Civil War, a group of prominent Trenton women formed the Ladies' General Aid Association of New Jersey. The organization's purpose was to collect goods needed by the Union forces--such as clothing, food, bed linens, and bandages--and also to raise funds for their purchase. These provisions were then to be forwarded to specific regiments, army hospitals and, later in the war, a camp for returned prisoners of war in Wilmington, Delaware.

The association's officers included the president, two vice-presidents, secretary, assistant secretary, treasurer, and twenty-eight managers who were given the responsibility of coordinating the collection of goods at specific churches. The following women served as officers during the association's four years of activity: Miss A. E. Bennett, Miss E. Dill, Mrs. J. S. Fish, Miss M. M. Hargous, Mrs. S. D. Ingham, Miss S. B. Johnston, Mrs. Joshua Jones, Miss Margaretta Potts, Miss Olivia Sherman, and Mrs. A. D. White. Membership was open to anyone who made an unspecified weekly contribution to the association's treasury. Women from Trenton churches and other local benevolent associations were also invited to become auxiliary members of the Ladies' General Aid Association by conforming to its rules and regulations.

Throughout the war, the association organized weekly meetings where supplies were made ready for distribution, as well as monthly and annual business meetings. The proceedings indicate that the association efficiently gathered and distributed a steady supply of goods for the war effort, and raised a total of $3,600. Four months after the close of the war, on 29 September 1865, the association held its final meeting. At that time it was resolved by the officers that all undistributed goods and money would be provided to returning veterans and their families.



Content Note

The Ladies' General Aid Association proceedings include minutes of monthly and annual meetings, the association's constitution and by-laws, and a final summation of the organization's activities throughout the war. The minutes consist mostly of accounts of monies and goods collected and distributed, recording who donated materials and where packages were sent. A list of appointed officers, managers and committee members is provided in the minutes of the first meeting and in the minutes of the annual meetings of 10 September 1862 and 7 September 1863. The end of the volume also includes what appears to be a monthly attendance record of officers covering the period September 1861 to September 1863. With the exception of reference to requests for supplies from specific areas, the proceedings report very little about the events of the war.

NOTE: This volume was removed from the official state Civil War records accessioned from the office of the Adjutant General in 1968.


Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations