njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Lawrence Vigilant Society
Series: Minutes, 1865-1942
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  PLAWV001
Guide Date:  2/1989 (JK)
Volume: 0.05 c.f. [1 vol.]


Content Note

Institutional History

In 1867, residents of Lawrence Township felt it necessary to organize a society that would pursue and apprehend horse thieves, robbers, incendiaries, or other such criminals who threatened the well being of the community. The constitution and by laws of the society provided for the appointment of "pursuers" who attempted to apprehend the criminals who had committed offenses against society members. A state law passed in 1884 authorized members of "thief detecting" societies, "without warrant, to apprehend and arrest all persons committing breaches of the peace." The Lawrence Vigilant Society generally drew its members from the more affluent sections of township society: hotel owners, prosperous farmers and eminent professional men. In 1891 the Lawrence Vigilant Society, together with several other such Societies from the central Jersey Pennsylvania area, formed the Grand Consolidated Vigilante Society of New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

In spite of its several powers and responsibilities, the society proved to be rather ineffective in curbing criminal activity in the Lawrence Township area. The society reported only eight cases of thievry or arson in the first seventy-five years of its existence, none of which led to the arrest of suspected perpetrators. Gradually, the society became more of a social club, rather than a true vigilante organization. Instead of relying on their own members as amateur "pursuers," the society hired professional detectives in seeking to arrest criminals and recover stolen articles. The society's annual dinner meeting became the highlight of its activities.



Bibliography

Barnsley, Edward R. Golden Jubilee, 1891-1941. (Princeton Press, 1941).

Lawrence Vigilant Society. 75th Anniversary: Diamond Jubilee, 1867-1942.



Content Note

The Lawrence Vigilant Society record book includes the constitution, by-laws, officers, members, and minutes of each meeting. The minutes include business of the meeting, roll call, dues, accounts of infractions committed against members of the society, and how such infractions were resolved.


Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations