njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Henry McCall Jr.
Series: Papers, 1851-1875
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  PMCCA001
Guide Date:  7/1991 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

The documents in this collection relate almost exclusively to McCall's paper mill on the Assunpink Creek in Trenton, NJ. Exceptions to this are an 1856 lease for a farm in Ewing Twp. and correspondence relating to the sale of Ellarleigh Mansion (now Ellarslie Trenton City Museum in Cadwalader Park). Much of the material is directed to or from McCall's attorneys, Philemon and S. Meredith Dickinson, and other agents.



Contents

Folder Contents
1. Abstract of lease [to William G. Hay?], no date.
2. Franklin Fire Insurance Company survey of mill, March-April 1851 [2 items].
3. Lease of Henry McCall Jr. and Jasper Harding to Henry H. Bottom for mill and water power, Assunpink Creek, Trenton, and list of machinery belonging to Mr. McCall, 7 & 22 April 1851 [2 items].
4. Description of lot sold to Joseph B. Yard and William S. Yard, September 1852.
5. Agreement between Henry McCall Jr. and Charles B. Smith re: error in conveyance of Lot 36, 13 September 1852.
6. Lease of Henry McCall Jr. to Lamar Hay for portions of a farm in Ewing Twp., Mercer Co., 1 January 1856.
7. Lease of Henry McCall Jr. to Henry M. Lewis for mill on Assunpink Creek and water power, 1 December 1859 [2 copies].
8. Description of land conveyed to Daniel G. Bailey, [after 26 October 1865].
9. Correspondence and bills, John B. Burke and Alex. Wilcocks, re: McCall mill, Trenton, 17 December 1866 - 25 June 1869 [8 items].
10. Deed of Harry McCall and Charlotte, his wife, to Peter McCall empowering him as trustee of property in New Jersey and Pennsylvania, 8 June 1868.
11. Tax assessments for lots on Front, Greene, and Broad streets, Trenton, 8 August 1868 and 11 August 1869
[4 items].
12. Receipt of Harry McCall to Furman & Kile, Trenton, 1 October 1868.
13. Agreement between Harry McCall and Casper Martino that McCall will buy lot on Greene Street, Trenton, 20 October 1868.
14. Correspondence, agreement, abstract of deeds, and award of Philemon Dickinson and Thomas J. Stryker re: mill property dispute between Harry McCall and Messrs. Joseph B. Yard and Casper Martino, Trenton and Louisiana, 11 December 1868 - 27 December 1869 [8 items].
15. Letter of Charles E. Green to Harry McCall and legal opinion of James Wilson re: water rights case, Trenton, 11-13 October 1869 [2 items].
16. Letter of Mark Moses to Harry McCall re: bill, Trenton, 24 May 1870; letter of Harry McCall to Philemon Dickinson re: Ellarleigh, Patrick [Tearnan?], and M. Moses, Philadelphia, 24 May 1870 [2 items].
17. Receipt of Patrick Tearnan for hay making and garden work, 16 July 1870; account of Tearney [Tearnan], June 1870 [2 items].
18. Letter of Harry McCall to Philemon Dickinson re: Wentz deed, Paris, 21 July 1870.
19. Letter of Philemon Dickinson to Harry McCall re: Wentz and Tearnan [?], 24 August 1870.
20. Description of "property mentioned in Ely's mortgage," no date; chattel mortgage of Edward B. Bingham to Eugene Ely for fixtures and machinery at Assunpink mill, October 1870 [2 items].
21. Notice of Edward B. Bingham to Harry McCall re: intent to continue lease of paper mill, 31 January 1871.
22. Account and correspondence between James Wilson and Harry McCall re: mill work and repairs, 10 January - 9 March 1871 [5 items].
23. S. Meredith Dickinson account with Harry McCall, 28 April 1871 - 17 October 1873.
24. Correspondence and account, Harry McCall and S. Meredith Dickinson, re: tenancy of mill lots by Bingham and dispute in Chancery, 21 October 1871 - 8 February 1872 [4 items].
25. Letter of Harry McCall to S. Meredith Dickinson re: accounts and Ellarleigh, New Orleans, LA, 28 February 1872.
26. Notices of E. B. Bingham to S. Meredith Dickinson re: damage to breast of water wheel and gate, 18 October 1872 and no date [2 items].
27. Letter of S. Meredith Dickinson to Christopher Wentz and acceptance of proposition by Wentz, Charles Brearley, and Robert I. Sloan, for the "Assanpink Improvement Association of Trenton," re: sale of mill property and water rights, Trenton, 25-29 October 1872.
28. Certificate from the Essex County Clerk that there are no unsatisfied judgments or liens against Edward B. Bingham on file in Essex County for the period 1 January - 2 June 1873.
29. S. Meredith Dickinson account re: Chancery case of Harry McCall vs. Andrew Quinton, August 1873.
30. S. M. Dickinson accounts with Harry McCall, 1874-1875 [6 items].
31. Bill and receipt of S. M. Dickinson to Christopher Wentz, "Assanpink Improvement Association," for interest on bonds and mortgages, 10 April 1874.
32. Tax assessment, Lot 59, Front Street, Trenton, 23 October 1875.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations