njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Dr. Lloyd W. McCorkle (1916-1984)
Series: Scrapbook on Corrections, 1946-1952
Accession #: 1994.074
Series #:  PMCCO001
Guide Date:  9/1994 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 vol.]


Content Note

Biographical Note

Lloyd W. McCorkle was born in Pleasant Valley, PA, on 15 December 1916. He graduated from Juniata College in 1940 with a B.A. degree in history and sociology. In 1953, he completed the Ph.D. program in sociology at New York University.

During World War II, Dr. McCorkle served with the 83rd and 75th Infantry Divisions, Twentieth Corps, at the Fort Knox Rehabilitation Center and as a psychological instructor in the Adjutant General's School at Fort Oglethorpe, GA. During 1946-1947, he worked as a case analyst and later civilian prison administrator in Tokyo for the Correction Division of the War Department.

In 1947, Dr. McCorkle began his extensive career in New Jersey state government service. He first worked, from 1947 to 1949, as the Assistant Director of the Division of Classification and Education (Correction), Department of Institutions and Agencies. From 1950 to 1952, he was Director of the Highfields Experimental Treatment Project for Youthful Offenders in Hopewell. From 1952 to 1953, he was Associate Principal Keeper and, from 1953 to 1957, Principal Keeper of Trenton State Prison.

In 1957, Dr. McCorkle was appointed Director, Division of Administration, Department of Institutions and Agencies. Two years later, in 1959, he was appointed Director of the department's Division of Correction and Parole. Finally, after serving several months as Acting Commissioner, Dr. McCorkle was appointed Commissioner of the Department of Institutions and Agencies by Governor Hughes on 22 May 1963. He retired from this position in 1971.

During his career, Dr. McCorkle also served on the faculties of New York City College, New York University, Columbia University, Princeton University, Rutgers University, the University of Vermont, and Syracuse University. He served on several state advisory boards and commissions, including the New Jersey Commission on Aging (of which he was Executive Secretary, 1958-1962) and the Commission on Narcotic Control (of which he was Chairman, 1957-1963). He was also active in various professional organizations and authored or co-authored several texts and monographs on corrections, including The Treatment of the Persistent Offender in United States Penal Policy (Ph.D. dissertation), The Highfields Story (1958), and Criminology and Penology (1959).

Dr. McCorkle died in 1984, survived by his widow and a son.


Content Note

This series consists of a scrapbook on corrections found among Dr. McCorkle's personal records. The volume includes magazine and newspaper clippings, copies of monographs, personal notes and "complaints" about the prison system, photographs, etc., collected or written during the period 1946 to 1952. The scrapbook dates from the early years of Dr. McCorkle's career in state service. It is not known whether it was compiled simply out of personal interest or whether the volume was put together in conjunction with research for Dr. McCorkle's dissertation, completed in 1953.


Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations