njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Maps, Field Notes, Estimates and Appraisals
Accession #: 1924.002, 1964.003, 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS002
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 2 c.f. [4 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

Under the terms of its 1824 charter, the Morris Canal and Banking Company was granted the right of eminent domain over land needed for the canal (provided that the owners were justly compensated).  Beginning in 1828, as authorized by section six of the charter, a company engineer surveyed all lands required for the waterway and exhibited the resulting maps to a judge of the supreme court.  The judge, in turn, appointed three freeholders -- one each from Burlington, Gloucester and Monmouth Counties -- to estimate the value of the surveyed parcels of land.  Finally, both the engineer's maps and freeholders' estimates were filed in the clerks' offices of the counties through which the canal would pass.  An additional set of maps and estimates was filed in Bergen County for the canal extension to Jersey City authorized by the Legislature in 1828.

This series consists of maps and appraisals that were transferred or copied from the Bergen, Essex, Morris, Sussex and Warren County Clerk's Offices.  They should be used in conjunction with the original field books and other documents in box 1 of the series Title Paper Files, ca. 1820s-1950s.  The maps depict the canal path, and show the boundary lines of tracts, the terrain of the countryside, and the names of the landowners.  Other landmarks shown for the adjacent farms include buildings, roads, woodlands, streams and rivers, and municipal boundaries.  Field notes included on each map list surveyor's measurements for properties taken for the canal.  The estimates of appraisal are tables, organized by canal section number, which name the owner of each parcel of land used by the company, the acreage, and the property's value.

NOTE:  Canal lands in what later became Passaic and Hudson Counties are covered in the Bergen County books.



Contents

Box 1 (Bergen County):
1.
 
Estimate and appraisal for Bergen County, 1831, and other documents relating to the extension of the canal to the Hudson River, 1834 [bound as "Records of the Morris Canal, Bergen County"].
2.
 
Estimates, receipts, and other documents, pertaining to the extension of the canal to the Hudson River, 1834 [bound as "Maps of the Morris Canal, Bergen County"].
3.
 
Maps and field notes for Bergen County, 1828 [negative photostat bound as "Maps of the Morris Canal, Bergen County"].  Also, one set of vellum tracings for sheets 1-5.
4.
 
Maps, field notes, and other documents, pertaining to the extension of the canal to the Hudson River, 1834 [bound as "Maps of the Morris Canal, Bergen County"].
Box 2 (Essex County):
5.
 
Maps and field notes for Essex County, 1828 [bound as "Morris Canal Field Book"].  Also, two sets of vellum tracings (sheets 1-24 and 1-27), and two sets of blueprints (sheets 1-27).  NOTE:  An original set of maps, without coloring, field notes, or terrain marks, can be found in the Title Paper Files, along with an original copy of the estimate and appraisal.
Box 3 (Morris and Sussex Counties):
6.
 
Maps and field notes for Morris County, 1828 [photostat].  Also, one set of vellum tracings (sheets 1-36).  NOTE:  The original, containing a map of Green Pond not included in the photostat, was borrowed from the Morris County Clerk's Office for the microfilm.
7.
 
Maps and field notes for Sussex County, 1828 [photostat].  Also, one set of vellum tracings (sheets 1-6).  NOTE:  The original maps, and the estimate of appraisal, have not been located.  See the title paper files for receipts and other documents.
8.
 
Estimate and appraisal for Morris County and estimate and appraisal for lands overflowed at Hopatcong, 1831.
Box 4 (Warren County):
9.
 
Maps for Warren County, 1828 [bound as "Maps of the Morris Canal, Warren County"].  Also, two sets of vellum tracings (sheets 1-38 and 1-39), one set of blueprints (sheets 1-39), and a photostat (sheets 1-41, numbered 11-51).
10.
 
Estimate and appraisal for Warren County, 1831 [bound as "Records of the Morris Canal, Warren County"].

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations