njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series:
Title Paper Files, ca. 1820s-1950s
Accession #:
1979.005
Series #: 
PMORS003
Guide Date:
3/1992 (JK)
Volume:
10 c.f. [10 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

The title paper files are one of the most valuable series of records in the Morris Canal collection.  The series contains original deeds, agreements, and occasionally maps, for most of the properties owned by the company.  Files also contain numerous other legal documents relating to the history of the canal, such as:  the boat loan file (including the bill of sale of the company's boats to Richard Lewis, 1849); the original field books used for the maps/field notes/estimates and appraisals books, 1828-1834; lawsuits and agreements of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as lessees of the canal; and the Sommer Agreement of 1922.

In addition to the miscellaneous documents and field books referred to above, box 1 also contains files for lands in Jersey City and at various reservoirs.  Boxes 2 through 9 contain files for tracts 76 to 1512, covering Kearny to Phillipsburg, Cranberry Reservoir, Lake Hopatcong, Bear Swamp, Green Pond, and Greenwood Lake (Long Pond).  Box 10 contains cancelled leases, agreements, policies, and memoranda, mostly for lake properties retained by the state.  The original inventory for the series is attached to this guide.

NOTE:  Researchers should also consult the following series:  Abstracts of Deeds, 1886; Abstracts of Titles, 1923; Agreements and Leases Notebooks, 1923-1930s; Maps, Field Notes, Estimates and Appraisals, 1828-1834; Records of Sales of Canal Lands by the State of New Jersey, 1845-1960s; Transit Books, 1885-1899; General Correspondence Files, ca. 1840-1974 (folders #52 and #156 in particular); and the Map Collection.



Contents

Box
Contents
1.
 
Index to Weir Numbers;
Envelope #1 - #30-6 1/2
2.
 
Envelope Fof F;
Bergen County Field Book;
Weir Tracts 76-214 (with gaps)
3.
 
Weir Tracts 216-335 (with gaps)
4.
 
Weir Tracts 337-409 (with gaps)
5.
 
Weir Tracts 411-467 (with gaps)
6.
 
Weir Tracts 469-515 1/2 (with gaps)
7.
 
Weir Tracts 517-581 (with gaps)
8.
 
Weir Tracts 582-727 (with gaps)
9.
 
Weir Tracts 730-1512 (with gaps)
10.
 
Cancelled Leases, Agreements, Policies and Memoranda

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations