njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Morris Canal and Banking Company
Series: Stock Transfer Ledgers, 1844-1954
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS009
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 2.5. c.f. [8 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

When the Canal Company reorganized in 1844 and began issuing new stock, the Phenix Bank Company of New York City agreed to keep the ledger and certificate books for the transfer of capitol stock.  Phenix Bank kept the books from 1844 until 1862, when the capitol stock was consolidated.  At the same time, a smaller ledger was kept at Jersey City.  Transfer ledgers and certificates for the preferred and consolidated stock begin with the creation of each, in 1849 and 1857, respectively, and end in the mid-1900s.

Of the eight transfer ledgers, the first two -- for capitol stock -- are named after their respective locations (Phenix Bank and Jersey City).  The ledgers record transfers by stockholder name, giving the name of the other transfer party, the certificate number, the date and number of shares traded.  Five of the ledgers are indexed.  In addition, the Jersey City Capitol Stock Transfer Ledger contains a list of stockholders and their holdings at the time of consolidation in 1862.

NOTE:  For detailed information on the preferred and consolidated stock, see the Content Note for the series Preferred and Consolidated Stock Certificate Books, 1850-1954.



Contents

1.
Phenix Bank Capitol Stock Ledger & Index, 1844-18622.      
2.
Jersey City Capitol Stock Ledger & Index, 1844-1862
3.
Preferred Stock Ledger A & Index, 1849 - 1 January 1866
4.
Preferred Stock Ledger B & Index, 1 January 1866 - 4 August 1872
5.
Preferred Stock Ledger C, 4 August 1872 - 8 June 1911
6.
Consolidated Stock Ledger A, 1857 - 7 August 1872
7.
Consolidated Stock Ledger B, 7 August 1872 - 8 June 1911
8.
Preferred Stock Ledger D/Consolidated Stock Ledger C, 8 June 1911 - 1954

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations