njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Morris Canal and Banking Company
Series: Statistical Tables and Statements, 1845-1881
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS010
Guide Date: 4/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1.0 c.f. [dismantled volume]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This dismantled volume contains duplicate copies of miscellaneous tables and statements recording, primarily, statistics on the transport of coal and iron ore on the Morris Canal.  While the tables were begun in 1866, information back to 1845 on the coal trade is provided on pages 26 and 42.  Entries for the period 1871-1881, following the lease of the canal to the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, consist mainly of accounts of bills sent to the railroad company's Bethlehem office.  The index below lists table headings chronologically (by first year of appearance) under the following subjects:  coal, iron ore, lumber, general trade, and miscellaneous.  Years and page numbers are provided after each table heading.  NOTE:  The volume itself also contains an alphabetical index by subject.



Contents

Coal:
Coal entering the Morris Canal:
1845-1867 26
1845-1868 42
Coal trade -- amount shipped by each party:
1866 1
1868 36
Distribution of coal:
1866 4
1867 22
1868 37
1869 53
1870 37
1871 37
1872 37
Statement of coal shipped at Mauch Chunk and reaching tide via Morris and Lehigh Canals:
1866 5
Distribution and comparative tonnage of coal to Paterson and East:
1867-1868 34
Statement of coal shipped at Port Delaware:
1868 35
1869
Expenses on coal from Mauch Chunk:
1868 43
Statement of coal received for reshipment at Jersey City:
1869-1870 49
1871 115
1872 162
Distribution of Scranton coal eastward:
1869 50
Statement of coal received and shipped at Port Delaware:
1870 64
Claim of G. B. Linderman & Co. for loss and damage on coal in transit and account:
1870 89-90, 92

Iron Ore:

Recapitulation of ore trade of the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Co., showing the rate of tolls charged, the rate and amount of drawback allowed, the rate of plane tenders wages, and the ratio between the net toll and plane tenders wages each year, using the rate of wages for 1860 & 1861 as the standard (represented by 100):
1860-1866 2
Iron ore trade -- amount from each place:
1867 20
1868 38
1869 52
1870 68
1871 129
1872 164, 173
Iron ore trade -- amount received by each party:
1867 21
1868 39
1869 59
Comparative statement of ore tonnage:
1867-1868 33
Lumber:
Summary of the earnings of the lumber boats:
1867 16
General Trade:
Total equivalent and average tonnage:
1866
3
1867 23
1868 44
1869 55
1870 71
1871 132
1872 174
Condensation of tonnage on Morris Canal [total tonnage listed by product]:
1866 6
1867 24
1867-1868 41
1869 54
1870 69
1871 130
Summary of the earnings of freight line boats:
1867 17
Statement of loaded boats on the canal at the close of navigation:
1867 18-19
1868   29-30
1869 47-48 [boats frozen up 7 December 1869...]
Statement of tonnage, tolls, and average tolls per ton:
1867-1868
27, 32
1869-1870 63
Comparative tonnage at Port Delaware and Port Washington:
1867-1868
28, 31
1868-1869   45, 46
Comparative tonnage at the different offices:
1869-1870 61
1870-1871  95
Comparative statement of the net tolls on coal and freight paid to captains [by place]:
1869-1870 62
Numbers of boats upon the Morris Canal:
1870 51, 60
Mauch Chunk vs. Morris Canal scales:
[1871?] 96
Comparative tonnage table:
1871-1872 138
Miscellaneous:
Dividends paid by Morris Canal and Banking Company:
1864-1871 7
Compensation paid to officers, clerks, and employees of the Morris Canal and Banking Company:
1869 56
Plane and lock tenders on the Morris Canal:
1869 58
Morris Canal receipts and expenses:
1870-1871 100
Estimated inventory of property belonging to the Morris Canal and Banking Company "not essentially necessary for purposes of navigation - or not properly belonging to the works of the canal":
[1871?] 65
Statement of assets and liabilities of the Morris Canal and estimated expenditures to be made:
1871 67 [reverse]
Statement of bills sent to Bethlehem Office:
  1871 72-76, 78-80, 82-83, 86-88, 91, 94, 97-99, 101-105, 109-114, 116-117
1872 118-119, 121-122, 133-136, 138-161
1873 163, 168, 172, 175-178, 180-199
1874  200-202, 205-225
1875 228-247
1876 248-250, 253-258, 265-266, 268, 271-272, 281-292
1877 293-307, 309-332
1878 333-356
1879  357-387
1880 388-396, 403-404, 406, 408-409, 411, 413-415, 419-428
1881 429-435
Statement of amounts received by John R. Fanshawe, Secretary, L.V.R.R.:
1871          77
Statement of interest and dividends unclaimed:
1871 81, 93
Payrolls:
1871 84-85
Order for books, blanks, clearances, etc. for use on line of Morris Canal:
1871-1872 123-125, 137
1873 169-170
1874 203-204
1875 226-227
1876 251-252
Account of C. Stewart & Co. with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company:
1871 126-128
Annual fiscal reports, Morris Canal Division [by Jacob Fitz Randolph]:
1874 8-14
Miscellaneous accounts:
no date 259-264, 267, 269-270, 273-275, 277-280, 397, 400-402, 405, 407-412, 416-418

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations