njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Morris Canal and Banking Company
Series: Correspondence Relating to Property Retained by the State, 1850-1970
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS014
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 5 c.f [10 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

These files contain correspondence of the company (under the authority of the Department of Conservation and Development), generally dating from the 1920s to the 1970s.  The files were apparently kept by John A. Waters and C. P. Wilber of the State Forrester's Office. The majority of the material relates to leasing and improvement of the canal property retained by the state at Cranberry Lake, Greenwood Lake, Lake Hopatcong, Lake Musconetcong, the Little Basin, and Saxton Falls.  Arranged by subject.



Contents

NOTE:  File headings for empty folders (which have been removed) are listed below preceded by an asterisk (*).

Box 1
1.
  Allamuchy Township, 1925
2.
  Appropriations, Condition of, 1946-1947
3.
  Attorney General, 1923-1951
4.
  Budget Office, 1924-1948
5.
  Comptrollers Office, 1941-1945
  Correspondence:
6.
    General, 1941-1970 (3 files)
7.
    Lloyd, H. C., 1946-1952
8.
    Messinger, Reuben W., 1923-1946
9.
    Waters, John A., 1923-1943 (2 files)
10.
    Wilber, C. P., 1941
Box 2
  Cranberry Lake:
11.
    Alienation #1, 1945
12.
    Beers, Richard (Lessee), 1964-1965
13.
    Borman, John W. (Lessee), 1961
14.
    Bridge, 1925-1955 (2 files)
15.
    Correspondence, General, 1924-1954 (2 files)
16.
    Eckhardt, Mrs. Walter (Lessee), 1941-1965
17.
    Givens, Anna (Lessee -- formerly David Pugsley, Fred Mumaw, John Opdyke, Fred Adami), 1953-1965
18.
    Improvement, 1941-1947
19.
    Leases, Cancelled, 1944-1951
20.
    Leases, Cancelled -- Correspondence, 1942-1951
21.
    Lessees -- General, ca. 1953-1954
22.
    Maintenance, 1941-1952
23.
    Navigation, 1941-1943
Box 3
  Cranberry Lake (cont'd):
24.
    Operation, 1941-1951
25.
    Permits, 1941
26.
    Property Notes, Miscellaneous, 1896-1942 (2 files)
27.
    Sale Proposal, 1951-1953
28.
    Sharp, Fred (Lessee), 1925-1964
29.
    Steinke, George, 1943-1966
30.
    Sterner, Mrs. Harry (Lessee), 1925-1964
31.
    Stump & Growth Removal, 1926-1949
32.
    Title Data, 1942-1951
33.
    Water Level, 1925-1940
34.
  Directors, Board of, 1930-1954
35.
  Dutch Elm Disease, 1939-1940
36.
  Financial Statements, 1953-1954
37.
  General Information, 1951-1964
Box 4
  Greenwood Lake:
    Awosting:
38.
      Dock Inquiries/Leases, 1947-1949
39.
      Pier Data, 1946
40.
      Ringwood Company, 1946-1950
41.
      Water-Front Leases, 1950
42.
    Baumann, Walter R. (Lessee), 1929-1967
43.
    Correspondence, Miscellaneous, 1940-1959
44.
    Dam, 1950-1951
45.
    Islands, 1945-1952
46.
    Leases -- General, 1923-1966
47.
    New York State Legal Matters, 1960-1966
48.
    Sale Proposal, 1940-1946
49.
    Title Data, 1935-1967
50.
    Under Water Rights, 1953
51.
    Water Level, 1899-1953
Box 5
52.
  Kearny, 1923-1939 (2 files)
  Lake Hopatcong:
53.
    Attendance Records, Hopatcong Park, 1941-1947 (2 files)
    *Ball, Charles E. A. (Lessee -- formerly Abram Ball)
54.
    Ball, William J. (Lessee, Site #24 -- formerly H. J. Ball), 1922-1952
55.
    Bertrand Island, 1952-1953
56.
    Bilby, Arthur W. (Lessee, Site #17), 1934-1955
57.
    Bracco, John B. (directional sign), 1946
    *Brandau, Frank G. (Lessee)
58.
    Butler, Robert (Lessee), 1921
59.
    Caufield, Kenneth (Lessee, Site #20), 1921-1954
60.
    Correspondence, Miscellaneous, 1924-1955 (2 files)
61.
    Downer, Leora (Lessee, Site #23), 1921-1955
62.
    Feder, Herman -- Lake Hopatcong Heights, Inc. (directional sign), 1946-1950
63.
    Goldberg, Dorothy Z. (Lessee, Site #29), 1924-1955
64.
    Greene, Henry (Lessee), 1950
Box 6
  Lake Hopatcong (cont'd):
65.
    Herrmann, Emil, et al vs. Lake Hopatcong Vacation & Outing Co., Inc., 1955
66.
    Hoover, Flora (Lessee, Site #19), 1921-1950
67.
    Lange, Andrew (Lessee, Site # 22), 1921-1953
68.
    Lease Cancellations, 1938-1948
69.
    Lessees -- General, 1923-1956
70.
    Long, Stokes, Jr. (Lessee, Site #15), 1921-1959
71.
    Loose, Monroe (Lessee, Site #32-B), 1923-1949
72.
    Luz, Robert (Lessee, Site #21), 1941-1955
73.
    Marinaro, Daniel A. (Lessee, Site #28 -- formerly Mabel Kiefer, Josephine Bourgeoise), 1949-1953
74.
    Maxim, Hudson, 1928-1959
75.
    New Jersey Bell Telephone, 1950-1962
76.
    New Jersey Power & Light Co., 1941
77.
    Oil Pollution, 1953
78.
    Permits, 1941
79.
    Porzer, William H. (Lessee, Site #16), 1921-1950
80.
    Poyer, Ray V. and Ruth (Lessee, Site #18), 1921-1951
81.
    Property Notes, Miscellaneous, 1924-1941
    *Vollman, Mrs. Elsie J. (Lessee)
82.
    Trespass Control, 1952-1953
83.
    Under Water Rights, 1953
84.
    Water Level, 1850-1956 (2 files)
Box 7
  Lake Musconetcong
85.
    Aiello, Theresa (Lessee -- formerly Mrs. Jeannette Cleaves), 1941-1949
86.
    Correspondence, Miscellaneous, 1923-1956 (2 files)
87.
    Crouse, Mary B. (Lessee), 1942
88.
    De Muro, Adrian D. (Lessee), 1941-1966
89.
    Improvements, 1946-1952
90.
    Judson, William R. (Lessee), 1947-1950
91.
    Kent, Bertha Vought (Lessee), 1941
92.
    Land Sales, 1953-1961
    Leases:
93.
      General, 1924-1965
94.
      Lots 1-29F, 1949-1953
95.
      Lots 31-64, 1949
96.
      Lot 83, 1957-1969
97.
      Lots 85-138, 1949-1955
98.
    Manion, William H. (Lessee -- sold to Mrs. Stella Delaney), 1943-1946
    *Moore, Harry (Lessee)
99.
    Permits, 1942
Box 8
  Lake Musconetcong (cont'd):
100.
    Property Notes, Miscellaneous, 1932-1950
101.
    Repsher, Charlotte S., 1931-1949
102.
    Sale of Property, 1949-1951
103.
    Stackhouse, Frank (Lessee), 1941-1951
104.
    Stanhope, Borough of (Lessee), 1949-1966
105.
    Stephens, Herman (Lessee), 1936-1951
    *Togno, Emma (Lessee)
106.
    Van Gieson, Cornelius J. (Lessee), 1931-1949
107.
    Van Woert, Mrs. Elsie (Lessee), 1944-1952
108.
    Venino, Mrs. Henry (Lessee), 1941-1949
    *Wroblenski, Joseph (Lessee)
109.
    Young, Ella (Lessee), 1946-1952
110.
    Young, Raymond (Lessee), 1946-1949
111.
  Lessees -- General, 1954-1967
  Little Basin:
112.
    General, 1953-1955
113.
    Correspondence, General, 1943-1956
114.
    Dredging -- Tracings before and after, 1939-1942
115.
    Gillespie-Rogers-Pyatt Co., Inc. (Lessee), 1933-1962
116.
    Hercules Company (Lessee), 1948
117.
    Improvements & Repairs, 1946-1962
118.
    Inspection, 1947-1948
119.
    Leases -- General, 1918-1966 (2 files)
Box 9
  Little Basin (cont'd):
120.
    Lessees -- General, 1924-1949 (2 files)
121.
    New York Marine Company, 1924-1953 (2 files)
122.
    Operation, 1941-1948
123.
    Permits, 1941
124.
    Property Notes, Miscellaneous, 1941-1943
125.
    Sale & Appraisal, 1947-1952
126.
    Ship-Rental Schedule, 1947-1948
127.
    Terminal Operating Co. (Lessee), 1936-1949
128.
    Transmitter House, 1949
129.
    Universal Iron Works (Lessee), 1941-1964
Box 10
130.
  Minutes, 1939-1954 (4 files)
131.
  Pensions & Retirement, 1928-1946
132.
  Personnel, 1923-1940
133.
  Records of the Company (Indices), 1951-1953
  Saxton Falls:
134.
    Encroachments & Property Notes, 1955
135.
    Improvements, 1951-1952
136.
    Leases, Cancelled, 1942-1947
137.
    Lessees -- General, 1954
138.
    Maintenance, 1942-1955
139.
    Operation, 1935-1942
140.
    Property Notes, Miscellaneous, 1942
141.
    Purchase of land in Mt. Olive Twp. from Armin C. & Gwendolyne Dorau and Eric T. & Carolyn Z. Dalberg, 1945-1946
142.
    Water Level, 1950-1953
143.
    Weed Control, 1950-1953
144.
    Stock Records and Transactions, 1949-1950
145.
    Structures -- Abutments, Bridges, Docks, Highways, Piers, etc., 1958-1963
146.
    Weir Maps & Index, 1947

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations