njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Boat Loan Records, 1866-1886
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS019
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 2 c.f. [6 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

On 1 November 1865, the canal company resolved to issue a $220,000 "boat loan," the proceeds of which would not only "cover the amount already invested in Boats, but also provide the means for building new boats." It was hoped that the loan would stimulate business on the canal, while also offering the company's stockholders a lucrative investment.

The loan invited any holder of either consolidated or preferred stock to invest $75 for every 10 shares owned. In return, the company would issue a $100 "certificate of registered boat loan" yielding 7 percent interest payable on the first day of April and October of each year until 1 October 1885, at which time the $100 principal was due. To take advantage of this opportunity, stockholders were required to pay one quarter of their expected investment by January 1, 1866. After January 1, 1866, subscriptions for the remainder of the $220,000 loan were opened to the general public.

To secure payment of the loan's interest and principal, the board conveyed all boats "now owned by said company and all boats hereafter owned by said company" to a trust, of which the president, vice president and secretary of the company served as trustees. The trust then leased the boats back to the company, for which the company paid to the trustees as rent the 7 percent interest owed to the boat loan investors. At the direction of the trustees, the company made periodic payments into a sinking fund established for the ultimate redemption of the principal. The money in the fund would be invested, or used to cancel certificates, depending upon the judgment of the trustees as to which would best promote the company.

The boat loan records consist of six volumes spanning from 1866 to 1886. Most useful of these is the Boat Loan Ledger, 1866-1885, which records all purchases of certificates by installment from the company or by transfer from other certificate holders. The ledger is organized semi-alphabetically by name of the holder, and thereby serves as an index to the second volume, the Loan Transfer Book, 1866-1886, which records the transfer of certificates from one investor to another. Page numbers on each transfer stub refer back to the ledger. Volume three, the Receipt Book, 1866-1869, contains stubs and unused receipts that were used to record installment payments by investors.

The last three volumes record payment of interest by the company to the investors. Volumes four and five cover the period 1866-1871, when the company paid out interest at either its Jersey City office or the office of E. W. Clarke & Co. in Philadelphia. The sixth volume records interest paid by the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company beginning on 1 October 1871, when its lease began, and continuing to 1 October 1885, when the principal of the boat loan was due.



Contents

Volume 1, Boat Loan Ledger, 1866-1885
Volume 2, Loan Transfer Book, 1866-1886
Volume 3, Receipt Book, 1866-1869
Volume 4, Philadelphia Interest Book, 1866-1871
Volume 5, Jersey City Interest Book, 1866-1871
Volume 6, L.V.R.R. Interest Book, 1871-1885

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations