| Record
Group: |
Morris
Canal and Banking Company |
| Series: |
Transit Books, 1885-1889 |
| Accession
#: |
1979.005,
1992.098 |
| Series
#: |
PMORS021 |
| Guide
Date: |
3/1992
(JK) |
| Volume: |
1.5
c.f. [3 boxes] |
Institutional
History |
Contents
Content
Note
The
transit books contain field notes and water level notes for various
locations along the canal. Many contain original survey notes for
items in the map collection. Book B, for example, relates to the
map entitled, "Sections showing High Water along Morris Canal
in Pohatcong Valley, during storm of August 26, 1899" (Map
Collection, Box E, Item 2). Others (particularly Books F through
N) relate to the weir maps of 1886-1887. Several of these books
contain notes written by C. Temperley, resident engineer of the
state Highway Department, dating from the 1940s.
Book V contains miscellaneous abstracts of deeds, most of which
can be found in Abstract A (Essex County), in the series Abstracts
of Deeds, 1886. The volume also includes lists of original condemnations
for Essex, Passaic and Bergen (later Hudson) Counties, and notes
on the payment of the "Dutch Mortgage" in 1844 (see Institutional
History). NOTE: Book U is missing; it was described (as
was Book V) in the original inventory of transit books as "Numerous
copies of Deeds".
|
Contents
Box
1 |
| A. |
Shows
distances along the canal, elevation water surface, and flow data.
July 1887. The names Thomas E. Boyd, Erskin Hazard, Alfred Slockett,
and Charlie Babcock are written on the inside of the back cover. |
| B. |
"Cross
sections, High Water along Morris Canal in Pohatcong Valley, August
26th, 1899." Includes a tracing on vellum, "Location of
sections 10-11-12, Morris and Essex Canal." |
| C. |
"Newark
Eastward. Survey East from Orange St., D. L. & W. R. R., Newark,
to the Hackensack River." 1885. |
| D. |
"Beaver
Brook, Dam & Feeder, Rockaway, Morris Co., N.J. Copied from Original
Notes, July, 1895." |
| E. |
"Morris
Canal, Pompton River Aqueduct, Transit Book No. 2, 'P'. Current Observations
on Morris Canal at East & West Ends of Pompton River Aqueduct.
Taken by S. E. Weir, July 1887. 10 feet section on Extreme Ends of
Aqueduct." |
| F. |
Book
1. "Survey of Morris Canal commencing at Orange St., Newark."
Station O to 75, 166+30 to 235, 321 to 442, 605 to 815. |
| G. |
Book
2. Station 75 to 166+30, 235 to 321, 442 to 605, 815 to 985. |
| H. |
Book
3. Station 983+70 to 1121+70 at feeder, 1653+46 (Powerville) to 1733;
also stations on Pompton feeder, 0 (1121+70 on main canal) to 305
(end of feeder). |
|
| Box
2 |
| I. |
Book
4. Station 1121+70 (at Pompton Feeder) to 1652+57 (Powerville). |
| J. |
Book
5. Station 1734 to 2270+50 (Wharton). Also survey of Beaver Brook
Feeder. |
| K. |
Book
6. Station 2270 (West of Wharton) to 2748+47 (Stanhope); Hopatcong
Feeder at Station 2624. |
| L. |
Book
7. Station 2748 (Stanhope) to 3361 (Mansfield Twp.). |
| M. |
Book
8. Station 3360 (Mansfield Twp.) to 3961+40 (west of Plane 7 West). |
| N. |
Book
9. Station 3961 (west of Plane 7 West) to 4565+36 (almost to Greens
Bridge, Phillipsburg). |
| O. |
"Morris
Canal. Measurement of Water Flow, Aug. 1887, 'L'." Note on
first page: "Long distance floats on the Morris Canal, Level
below Dover, N.J., between Rockaway River Guard Lock #7 and Lock
#6 Plane, 3 ft. tubes, center of the canal. Erskine Hazard." |
| P. |
"Current
Observations of Morris Canal, Above Powerville, N.J., Station of
Survey 1682+10." July 1887. Also includes observations on the
Morris Canal Feeder, Mountain View, New Jersey, 27 July 1887. |
|
| Box
3 |
| Q. |
"Morris
Canal. Measurement of Water Flow, Aug. 1887, 'K'." Note on first
page: "Long distance floats on Morris Canal, Level above Dover,
N.J., between Locks 5 and 6, 3 ft. Tubes, Thomas E. Boyd, Observer,
Monday, Aug. 1, 1887. |
| R. |
"Mountain
View, Main Line - Current Notes continued, Morris Canal, Friday, July
26/87." Contains float notes and a table showing the rise and
fall of water in the dam in the Rockaway River at Powerville, N.J. |
| S. |
"Morris
Canal and Banking Co., Property Notes, Julius G. Hooke." |
| T. |
"Miscellaneous
Survey Notes, Location not Clearly Defined, Charles B. Pitman."
December 1885. Shows notes for Boonton, Kenvil, Lock above Port Oram,
Port Morris, Stanhope, Hopatcong, Shippenport, and Drakesville. |
| V. |
Miscellaneous
abstracts of deeds. |
| |
"Miscellaneous
Survey Notes." Shows Wayne, Pompton Feeder, Mountain View, Boonton,
Stanhope, Musconetcong River, Port Murray, and Rockaway. |
| -- |
"3rd
Division Morris Canal Enlargement Embracing Sections 8, 9, &
10, Wm H. Talcott, Division Engineer." [Accession #1992.098]
|
| |
The
description on page 3 is "Copy of 'A Field book containing a
survey of the Morris Canal through the county of Warren N.Jersey with
the several Land-holder's names, the courses across their respective
farms and the contents of land occupied by the canal." |
| |
The
book contains the following sections: |
| |
Inclined
Planes, Locks--Western Division
Culverts, Aqueducts, Waste Weirs, Dry Culverts
Bridges, Roseville-Hackettstown--3rd Division
Various notes
Depth of water on the upper sill of Jersey City Lock, 26 July 1845
– 1 January 1846
Depth of water on lower sill of J. City Lock, 26 July – 9 December
1845(?) |
|