njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Ledgers of Reuben W. Messinger, Gatekeeper, Lock Keeper, and Collector, 1887-1936
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS023
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: .3 c.f. [3 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

In 1884, Reuben W. Messinger took the position his father had held as gatekeeper, lock keeper, and collector for the Morris Canal Division of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Co. His ledgers record the weather conditions and water levels at Lake Hopatcong from 25 February 1887 to 2 August 1895 (vol. 1) and from 21 December 1895 to 7 March 1901 (vol. 2). The same information is recorded for Lake Musconetcong for 13 August 1926 to 21 February 1935 (vol. 2), with a record of the gate openings and suiger(?) levels in addition. Volumes 1 and 3 also give accounts of payroll, materials and tools purchased, and other expenses at Hopatcong Park from July 1928 to August 1933 (vol. 3) and from January 1932 to December 1936 (vol. 1). The books were referred to in Messinger's testimony in the case in chancery against the North Jersey District Water Supply Commission in 1920.



Contents

Vol.
Description
1.   Ledger for Lake Hopatcong, 25 February 1887 - 21 December 1936
2.
  Water book for Lake Hopatcong and Lake Musconetcong, 21 December 1895 - 21 February 1935
3.
  Ledger for Lake Hopatcong, 1 July 1928 - 31 August 1933

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations