njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: 1890 Bond Transfer Book, 1897
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS024
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 vol.]


Institutional History

Content Note

In 1876, the Morris Canal & Banking Company mortgaged the canal to the Provident Life and Trust Company of Philadelphia for the amount of $1,000,000. On 7 April 1890, the Board resolved to reduce the mortgage to $500,000; however, there was no provision in the mortgage for partial satisfaction. Therefore, the officers of the company were authorized to execute additional bonds amount to $500,000 to finance payment of the remainder of the mortgage. This volume contains one certificate, dated 14 July 1897, transferring $500,000 of the 6% registered bonds of 15 September 1890 to Girard Life Insurance Annuity & Trust Company of Philadelphia, as trustee under the mortgage of the Railroad Company dated 1 May 1897.


Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations