njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Morris Canal and Banking Company
Series: Attorney General's Opinions, 1905-1951
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS026
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

These files contain correspondence between the general managers of the canal company (Henry B. Kümmel and C. P. Wilber) and the Office of the Attorney General relating to the rights and responsibilities of the state as owner of the Morris Canal. While most of the correspondence deals with canal sales, leases and maintenance, two files contain summaries of opinions of Attorneys General Robert H. McCarter and Thomas F. McCran pertaining to the abandonment and state take-over of the canal.



Contents

1.
Abandonment of the Morris Canal -- opinion of Attorney General Thomas F. McCran, 24 January 1921.
2.
Bids, right to reject, February 1927.
3.
By-Laws, May 1923.
4.
Cranberry Lake -- removal of fallen trees after storm, November 1950 - January 1951.
5.
Deeds -- question as to whether attorney general should approve all agreements of sale..., February 1927.
6.
Deeds, form for, March 1926.
7.
Deeds, types of, March-December 1925.
8.
Finances -- rental monies, April 1923.
9.
Greenwood Lake -- sale of portion of the canal property under water, May-June 1946.
10.
Greenwood Lake -- sale of property not publicly advertised, June 1925.
11.
Income Tax for employees earning $800 or more, January 1924.
12.
Kearny, Town of -- right to grant consent to lay sewer and water pipes across the Morris Canal, March 1924.
13.
Kümmel, Henry B., General Manager, and Sara Cooley, Secretary-Treasurer, additional compensation for, May 1923.
14.
Lake Hopatcong -- encroachments on the bottom of the lake, April 1940.
15.
Lake Hopatcong -- form of notice to leaseholders nullifying any right of the canal company for cancellation of its leases, October-November 1939.
16.
Lake Hopatcong -- interest of the state through its acquisition of rights in lands overflowed by the construction of the dam at the time the Morris Canal was built, January 1949.
17.
Lake Hopatcong -- right or propriety of the state holding an area of approximately 100 acres around and adjoining the dam and outlet, August 1938.
18.
Lake Musconetcong -- C. J. Agrios, bid and contract for dredging, removal of stumps, and improvements, July 1931-January 1932.
19.
Lake Musconetcong -- experimental work in connection with the destruction of underwater growth, July 1930.
20.
Lake Musconetcong -- sale of border strip of land between the water line and adjoining owners, February 1950.
21.
Leases, form of, March-April 1923.
22.
Leases -- right of the directors to enter into leases terminable on thirty days' notice, and in any event when property shall be sold, June 1925.
23.
Leases -- termination on thirty days' notice, July 1945.
24.
Leases for docks, wharves, and similar structures at the lakes, July 1925.
25.
Lehigh Valley Railroad Co. -- appropriation of $350,000 for dismantling the canal from money paid to the State, July 1934.
26.
Little Basin -- dredging, November-December 1938.
27.
Little Basin -- legal responsibilities for injuries done to anyone by accident or reason of a dangerous condition on Morris Canal property, May 1938.
28.
McCarter, Robert H., Attorney General, and ex-judge Bennett Van Syckel -- opinions regarding the Morris Canal, 1905.
29.
Municipalities refusing to declare intention to purchase property of the Morris Canal & Banking Company, right of, January 1925.
30.
New York Telephone Company, charges against, June 1923.
31.
Passaic County Park Commission -- agreement for the conveyance of certain lands in Wayne Twp. and Pompton Lakes Bor., June 1929.
32.
Personal property, sale of, April 1923.
33.
President of the Morris Canal & Banking Company, election of, June 1945.
34.
Shipman, Isaac - release of weir tract 629, Greenwich Twp., Warren Co., March-April 1926.

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations