njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Transcripts of Testimony in Chancery, Morris Canal and Banking Company v. North Jersey District Water Supply Commission, 1920
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS029
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 vol.]


Institutional History

Content Note

In February 1918, the canal and railroad companies filed a bill in the Court of Chancery against the North Jersey District Water Supply Commission to stop the construction of the Wanaque Reservoir (needed to supply Newark with water). The canal company protested that diverting water from the Wanaque and Pompton Rivers for the reservoir would render operation of the canal impossible. The trial, which took place in Newark on 7 June 1920, was of great importance to the destiny of the Morris Canal. Judgment was against the water commission, and this produced additional support for the movement to abandon navigation on the canal. The transcript gives the testimony of thirteen witnesses, including Cornelius C. Vermeule, Benjamin B. Metz, and Reuben W. Messinger. An index at the end of the volume shows page references for direct and cross-examinations.


Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations