njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Abstracts of Titles, 1923
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS033
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1 c.f. [3 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

As required by the abandonment agreement of 29 November 1922, the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company delivered to the Board of Conservation and Development on 1 March 1923 "all documents, maps, records, deeds and muniments of title relating to any of the property to be conveyed or transferred to the State of New Jersey." Abstracts of these documents were typed onto standard printed forms, which were arranged by weir tract number and document date, and then bound into three volumes.

Most of the original deeds, leases, releases, diagrams, and correspondence referred to in these abstracts can be found in the series Title Paper Files, ca. 1820s-1950s (with cancelled leases in box 10 of that series). Original agreements, however, were turned over to buyers of canal company land for the most part (along with some deeds), and only a small number of these can be found in original form in the title paper files. The abstracts also refer to the condemnations of 1831, as well as to occupancies of properties in 1923.



Contents

Vol.
Contents
1 (pp. 1-600) Miscellaneous records and Weir Tracts 1-259
2 (pp. 601-1200)
Weir Tracts 260-511
3 (pp. 1201-1761)
Weir Tracts 511-1512

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations