njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Agreements and Leases Notebooks, 1923-1930s
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS035
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [3 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of a three-volume record of agreements and leases entered into by the Morris Canal and Banking Company. Book #1 contains abstracts of agreements and leases listed on the schedule attached to the Sommer Agreement of 1923. Book #2 contains duplicate abstracts for agreements and leases made after 1 March 1923, under authority of the Board of Conservation and Development, acting as directors of the Morris Canal and Banking Co. Also included in this volume is a list showing when lands in the different municipalities were advertised for sale. Book #3 contains a record of land along the canal and how it was obtained.

The entries for each document record the parties involved, tract number, reference number, dates, a brief description of the subject, and the monetary consideration. Entries also include notations regarding the location of leases and agreements transferred to purchasers of canal company land (and therefore removed from the title paper files). Entries in Book #1 and #2 are arranged alphabetically by the name of the party involved. Book #3 contains one section arranged alphabetically and one section arranged geographically from Newark to Phillipsburg.



Contents

Book
Contents
1
Schedule attached to Sommer Agreement of 1923
2
Agreement and leases made after 1 March 1923
3
Land along the canal (Owners, A - Z; Weir Tracts 80 - 648)

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations