njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Final Report of Cornelius C. Vermeule, Jr., Consulting and Directing Engineer, 1929
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS040
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.2 c.f. [3 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

The State of New Jersey acquired the Morris Canal & Banking Company in 1922. In 1924, a bill was passed providing for (among other things), the dismantling of the canal. Cornelius C. Vermeule, Sr., was appointed as engineer of the project. He resigned in 1928 and was succeeded as consulting and directing engineer by his son, Major Cornelius C. Vermeule, Jr. Vermeule (Jr.) submitted his final report on the dismantlement to the president and board of directors of the canal company on 29 June 1929. The report contains tables and outlines showing the work and costs involved in the project, which often included repair of the canal and its locks, planes, bridges, dams, acqueducts, etc. The report also includes a 24-page history of the canal from 1822-1929 as an appendix. A second volume contains photographs and drawings to accompany the report.



Contents

1.  Original Report, Part One: Final Report of Engineer, 29 June 1929
2.
Original Report, Part Two: Illustrations, 29 June 1929
3.
Printed Report

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations