njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Morris Canal and Banking Company

Series: Correspondence of Benjamin B. Metz, Superintendent, 1923-1933
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  PMORS041
Guide Date: 3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1 c.f. [2 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

Benjamin B. Metz served as superintendent of the Morris Canal during the period of its dismantlement and abandonment. His office was at Phillipsburg, N.J. This is a collection of his correspondence, much of which was written to Sara Cooley, the Secretary-Treasurer of the Morris Canal and Banking Company, at her office in Trenton, N.J. Many of the other letters concern business dealings with Mr. Henry Kümmel, the general manager, and with the division supervisors, most notably Mr. G. W. Scripture, Mr. Aaron Vough, Mr. R. W. Messinger, Mr. James Powers and Mr. Stephen Thompson. Includes correspondence to/from:


 1.
Arnold, E. W., Sterling Forest, NJ, 23 July 1929
 2.
Cooley, Sara, Trenton, NJ, 5 June 1929 - 30 December 1930
 3.
Hummer, Edward, Mountain View, NJ, 12 June 1929 & 18 June 1929
 4.
Kümmel, Henry B., Trenton, NJ, 25 June 1929 - 16 December 1930
 5.
Mayberry, William, Washington, NJ, 12 June 1929 - 27 December 1930
 6.
Messinger, Reuben W., Landing, NJ, 5 June 1929 - 11 December 1930
 7.
Powers, James, Stanhope, NJ, 10 June 1929 & 12 June 1929
 8.
Scripture, George W., Dover, NJ, 22 January 1929 - 28 May 1930
 9.
Vermeule, Cornelius C., Jr., New York City, NY, 10 December 1929
10.
Waters, John A., 13 October 1930


Contents

Folder
Description
1.
 
Bills, payment of, 5 April 1923 - 2 March 1933 [15 files].
2.
 
Board meetings, 3 April 1923 - 17 November 1925.
3.
 
Bridges, 7 June 1924 - 3 May 1927.
4.
 
Canal property, disposition of, 28 May 1925 - 13 October 1930 [3 files].
5.
 
Depreciation, 26 April 1926 - 26 June 1929.
6.
 
Dirt, removal of, 19 July 1929.
7.
 
Equipment, 9 April 1929 - 13 May 1930.
8.
 
Expenses, monthly, June 1923 - May 1924.
9.
 
Hazard Wire Rope Company, 4 & 9 April 1930.
10.
 
Inspections, 2 July 1929.
11.
 
Leasing of property, 29 March 1923 - 17 September 1932 [7 files].
12.
 
Lock 1 West, 28 February - 1 April 1929.
13.
 
Office, general, 28 February 1928 - 22 August 1932 [5 files].
14.
 
Payroll/personnel, 15 September 1924 - 27 July 1932 [3 files].
15.
 
Personal, 13 March 1923 - 21 February 1933 [4 files].
16.
 
Phillipsburg office, closing of, 23 May - 16 November 1929.
17.
 
Planes, dismantling of, 2 April 1924 - 20 April 1926.
18.
 
Quotations, 27 October 1924 - 7 July 1925.
19.
 
Rent, payment of, 10 March 1923 - 30 December 1930 [10 files].
20.
 
Repairs and improvements, 25 July 1929 - 28 May 1930.
21.
 
Reservoirs, 15 December 1923 - 13 December 1929.
22.
 
Saxton Falls, 11 June 1925 - 15 August 1929.
23.
 
Scrap, disposition of, 22 May 1925 - 29 May 1928 [7 files].
24.
 
Signs, 2 June 1925 - 19 November 1930.
25.
 
State law, Chapter 12, no date.
26.
 
Stock Account, miscellaneous, 10 January 1928 - 28 May 1929.
27.
 
Stumps and trees, 21 July 1927 - 14 August 1928.
28.
 
Utility agreements, 28 September 1923 - 1 November 1926 [3 files].
29.
 
Vacating of canal company buildings, 1 October 1923 - 2 November 1927 [2 files].
30.
 
Vehicles, 3 & 7 October 1930.
31.
 
Vulcan Iron Works, 22 July 1926.
32.
 
Water, use of, 4 October 1923 - 29 March 1927.

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations