njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Newark Female Charitable Society
Series: Land Records and Published History, 1886-1970
Accession #: 1993.080
Series #:  PNEWF001
Guide Date:  10/1993 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 box]


Contents


Content Note

Established in 1803, the Newark Female Charitable Society was the first welfare organization in New Jersey, and the third in the United States. This series consists of various legal documents relating to Society properties at 295 Halsey St. and 41 Hill St., Newark. The series comes from papers of David C. Thompson, Attorney at Law, who was apparently affiliated with the organization in 1970. Also included is a copy of the Society's published history covering the period 1903-1953 by Miss Anna M. McConnell.


Contents

1. Title search for Tichenor property on Church [Halsey] St., Newark, Supreme Court of New Jersey, 13 March 1886.
2. Deed, heirs of Zadock Tichenor to the Newark Female Charitable Society for lot on Halsey St., Newark, 1 April 1886.
3. General release, Martha E. Galatian to Newark Female Charitable Society, 27 January 1921.
4. Agreement between Newark Female Charitable Society and Sharp Bros. Company that the Society will sell property at 41 Hill St., Newark, by deed of warranty by 2 April, 14 February 1923.
5. Easement, Fidelity Union Trust Company to Newark Female Charitable Society for use of strip of land at 305 Halsey St., Newark, and transmittal letter, 27-28 June 1940 [2 items].
6. Letters, Fidelity Union Trust Company to Newark Female Charitable Society, re: use by Society of alley between 295 and 305 Halsey St., Newark, 25 April and 12 May 1941 [2 items].
7. Newark Female Charitable Society: History, 1903-1953 by Anna M. McConnell, ca. 1953 [1 vol.]
8. Sketch of property at 305 Halsey St., Newark, and notes, 5 March 1970 and no date [3 items].

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations