njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Stacy Gardiner Potts (1799-1865)
Series: Autobiography, 1859-1864
Accession #: 1962.005
Series #:  PPOTT001
Guide Date:  8/1994 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 vol.]


Content Note

Biographical Note

Stacy Gardiner Potts was a Trenton journalist and lawyer who also held several public offices, including Clerk of the Chancery Court, State Assemblyman and finally New Jersey Supreme Court Justice. Potts was born on 23 November 1799 in Harrisburg, PA, the son of William Potts and Mary Gardiner. In 1808, he moved to Trenton and lived with his grandfather Stacy Potts, a prosperous businessmen who served as mayor of the city from 1806 to 1814. In 1821, Stacy G. Potts and his friend Joseph Justice founded a new weekly newspaper, the Emporium. Potts remained an editor and contributor to the paper until 1838. While continuing his editorial work, he began to study law and was admitted to the bar in 1827. Potts was elected to the New Jersey General Assembly in 1828 and again in 1829. From 1831 to 1840, he served as Clerk of the Chancery Court, and then returned to his law practice. In 1852, he was appointed by Governor Fort as a justice of the New Jersey Supreme Court. He served in this office until 1859, when he retired from public service. Potts died at his Trenton home in 1865.


Bibliography

Birkner, Michael J. "Journalism and Politics in Jacksonian New Jersey: The Career of Stacy G. Potts." New Jersey
  History, 97 (1979):159-177.
Cushing, Thomas and Sheppard, Charles E. History of the Counties of Gloucester, Salem, and Cumberland New Jersey.
  (Philadelphia: Everts and Peck, 1883). p. 126.
Elmer, Lucius Q. C. The Constitution and Government of the Province and State of New Jersey. (Newark, NJ: Martin R.
  Dennis and Co., 1872). pp. 353-360.
A History of Trenton. (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1929). pp. 611-612.


Content Note

Stacy G. Potts began writing his "Auto Biography" (as he titled it) on his sixtieth birthday, 13 November 1859, and finished the main body of the text on 23 January 1860. He made brief entries for subsequent years until 1864, the year before his death. In this work, Potts recounts the details of his life in Trenton, his family and his career. He also provides much genealogical information about his paternal and maternal family lines (Potts and Gardiner), as well as those of his wives (Burrows, Snowden, and Moore). The handwritten manuscript also contains an undated newspaper article which provides some Potts family history, and two cemetery deeds for plots in the Trenton Presbyterian Churchyard.


Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations