njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Public Service Corporation
Subgroup: Law Department
Series: Legal Briefs, 1926-1933
Accession #: 1994.078
Series #:  PPUBC001
Guide Date:  12/1994 (JK)
Volume: 2 c.f. [8 vols.]


Contents

Content Note

Public Service Corporation was incorporated in New Jersey on 6 May 1903. While the corporation's main activities included the generation, distribution, and sale of electricity, several of its subsidiary companies were involved in transportation services. This series consists of a set of legal briefs compiled by Public Service Corporation's law department for court cases involving its subsidiaries during the years 1926-1933. The majority of the cases involve appeals to judgments in bodily injury suits brought against the following: Public Service Electric and Gas Company, Public Service Coordinated Transport, Public Service Interstate Transportation Company, Public Service Railway Company, Public Service Transportation Company, United Engineers and Constructors, and Yellow Cab Company, Inc.

The volumes contain briefs for both plaintiff and defendants, arranged alphabetically by plaintiff's name. Each volume includes an index listing the cases it contains. Cases in which a Public Service subsidiary is plaintiff are indexed also by the defendant's name. The volumes were transferred to the Archives by New Jersey Transit, a corporate descendent of Public Service Coordinated Transport.

NOTE: For a complete history of Public Service and its related companies see James and Richard Coniff's The Energy People: A History of PSE&G (1978) and Robert I. Smith's A Cycle of Service: The Story of Public Service Electric and Gas Company (1980).



Contents

1. A - Den
2. Der - Ho
3. Hr - Ki
4. Ko - Mer
5. Mes - Ne
6. Ni - Re
7. Riv - T
8. U - Z

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations