| Box
1 |
| 1. |
Extracts
from letter of the Prince of Hesse Cassel to Lieut. Gen. Knyphausen. |
| 2. |
Journal
of Count Von Donop, 1776, and correspondence between Col. Rall and
the British Generals Grant and Leslie, Dec. 1776. |
| 3. |
Proceedings
of Trial of Capt. Pauli, 1778, in relation to order for trenches.
Proceedings of the Trial of Capt. Pauli, 1778, in relation to orders
for trenches. Proceedings of the trial of brigade adjutant Lt. Biel,
1778. |
| 4. |
Statement
of Lt. Col. Scheffer, 1778, in relation to the capture and imprisonment
of the three Hessian regiments: Lossberg, Knyphausen and Rall. |
| 5. |
Statement
of Major Matthaeus, 1778, in relation to the surprise and capture
of the Rall brigade. |
| 6. |
Statement
of Staff Capt. Baum, 1778, of the particulars of the capture of the
Rall brigade. |
| 7. |
Proceedings
of the trial of Capt. Martin, 1778, regarding a letter brought to
Lt. Gen. Von Heister by Lt. Col. Scheffer and Major Von Dechow. |
| 8. |
Further
proceedings of the trial of Brigade Adjutant Lt. Biel, 1779. |
| 9. |
Examination
of two underofficers, Hassell and Bauer, who were ordered to Trenton
under Lt. Von Grothausen, 1778. |
| 10. |
Examination
of several officers, 1778, of the Von Lossberg regiment. Includes
lists of troops. |
| 11. |
Examination
of several officers, 1778, of the Von Knyphausen regiment. Includes
lists of troops. |
|
| Box
2 |
| 1. |
Examination
of several officers, 1778, of the Rall regiment. Includes lists of
troops and where they retreated. |
| 2. |
Statement
of Judge Advocate Wangerman, Cassel, 1778. |
| 3. |
Statement
of J.J. Lothiessen, 1781. |
| 4. |
Letter
of Prince Friedrich Von Hessen to Lt. Gen. Von Knyphaysen, Weisenstein,
22 April 1779. |
| 5. |
Letter
from the College of War to the County of Hessen, 15 April 1782. |
| 6. |
Miscellaneous
statements, findings, etc., 1781-1782. |
| 7. |
Letter
of Von Heister to the Count of Hessen, New York, 5 Jan. 1777. |
| 8. |
Statement
of J.H. Motz, Upper Auditor, 1778. |
| 9. |
Letter
of Col. Von Donop, Allentown, 27 December 1776, to [Count of Hessen?]. |
| 10. |
Statement
of the affair at Trenton, 1787. |
| 11. |
English
translations of parts of the diary of Lt. Wiedenhold. Includes coverage
of Battles of Monmouth and Paulus Hook, [no date]. |
| 12. |
English
translations of parts of Hessian journals. Includes coverage of Battles
of Red Bank and Monmouth. [no date]. |
| 13. |
English
translations of parts of Hessian journals. Chiefly covers Battles
of Monmouth, Red Bank and Springfield. [no date]. |
| 14. |
Misc.
Hessian-related papers, including correspondence between General Stryker
and Friedrich Hirschfeld of Hamburg about copying at Marburg; inventories
of Hessian papers; copyists; charges; Hirschfeld's charges; etc. |
| 15. |
Original
unpublished manuscript, with corrections, of the "the fight at
Quinton's Bridge, March 18, 1778, and at Hancock's Bridge, March 21,
1778." |
| 16. |
Extracts
from the diary of Chief Justice [David] Brearley, Jan. 1776 - Dec.
1786. Includes court appearances, military troop movements and engagements,
and family notes (chiefly births and deaths). |
| 17. |
"Instructions
of War, ... with notes from J[ohann] von Ewald." |
| 18. |
Two
leaves of a manuscript dealing with Egypt; and a printed map of early
landowners in Hillsborough and Franklin Townships, Somerset County,
New Jersey. |
|
| Box
3 |
| Index
[Database Printout] |