njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Union Manufacturing Company/Trenton Calico Printing Manufactory
Series: Records, 1834-1852
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  PUNIO001
Guide Date:  7/1991 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

The Trenton Calico Printing Manufactory of Bloomsbury (South Trenton) was incorporated in 1828 by John B. Sartori and P. A. Hargous for the purpose of "manufacturing and printing wool, cotton, silk, flax, and hemp." In 1836, the company was reorganized as the Union Manufacturing Company by Dr. John McKelway, Thomas J. Stryker, and Xenophon J. Maynard. Stryker (who was, incidentally, the father of Adjutant General William S. Stryker), apparently soon held the largest interest in the company. In 1849, when the calico print works was sold to John Shepherd, Stryker was still listed as trustee.

The records in this collection date from Stryker's active period, 1836 to 1840, with a few miscellaneous items for later years. A file of research materials is also included at the front of the box.

NOTE: Many of the papers have been damaged by water.



Contents

-- Research materials.
1. Bills submitted, 1834-1840:
  a. No date [7 items]
  b. 1834 [1 item]
  c. 1836 [10 items]
  d. 1837 [16 items]
  e. 1838 [7 items]
  f. 1839 [35 items]
  g. 1840 [12 items]
2. Dividend records, 1848-1852 [8 items].
3. Insurance policy, Providence Washington Insurance Company, 22 January 1840.
4. Receipts, 1836-1840 [8 items].
5. Orders to Stacy A. Paxson, Treasurer, to pay bills:
  a. No date and November 1836 [7 items]
  b. December 1836 [9 items]
  c. January 1837 [7 items]
  d. February 1837 [5 items]
  e. March 1837 [6 items]
  f. April 1837 [8 items]
  g. May 1837 [7 items]
  h. June 1837 [3 items]
  i. July 1837 [3 items]
  j. August-September 1837 [7 items]
6. Orders to Henry Paxson, Treasurer, to pay bills:
  a. No date [ 4 items]
  b. 1838 [8 items]
  c. January & May 1839 [4 items]
  d. June 1839 [12 items]
  e. July 1839 [11 items]
  f. August 1839 [12 items]
  g. September 1839 [9 items]
  h. October 1839 [8 items]
  i. November 1839 [6 items]
  j. 1840 [4 items]

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations