njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Van Emburgh Family
Series: Papers, 1729-1781 and no date
Accession #: 1995.036
Series #:  PVANE001
Guide Date:  11/1996 (JK)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

This collection consists, primarily, of papers of Dr. William Sanford Van Emburgh (died ca. 1776-78) of New Barbadoes Township, Bergen County. Most of the items relate to the disposition of the estate of William's father, Dr. Johannes Van Emburgh, including several deeds and releases between heirs. Most of the items are oversized and many are fragmented.



Contents

No. Description
1. Abstracts of deeds between William, Gilbert, James, Simson and Abraham Van Emburgh, [no place], no date.
2. Copy of the last will and testament of Dr. Johannes Van Emburgh of Bergen County, 6 June 1729 [fragmented].
3. Bond of Henry Brass of Bergen County, cordwainer, to William Sandford Van Emburgh of the same place, chirurgion (surgeon), countering bond of Brass to John Schuyler of Bergen County, gentleman, for 21, 27 March 1742.
4. Deed of Gysbert Van Emburgh, John (Johannes) Van Emburgh, Peregrine Van Emburgh, Abraham Pier and Sarah, his wife, John King and Rachel, his wife, Richard Gibb and Catherine, his wife, William Sandford and Mary Sandford, and Guilliam Bartolf to William Sandford Van Emburgh for 7.67 acres (one ninth or Lot #5 of the estate of Catherine Van Emburgh, widow, deceased) in New Barbadoes, 11 February 1746/7.
5. Release of Gysbert Van Emburgh, Johannes Van Emburgh, Peregrain Van Emburgh, Abraham Pier, Rachel King, Richard Gibbs, William Sandford and Guilliam Bertholf to William Van Emburgh for a small lot on the west side of the Hackensack River (part of the real estate of their father, Johannes Van Emburgh), 12 February 1746/7.
6. Deed of William Van Emburgh, Johannes Van Emburgh, Perygrain Van Emburgh, Abraham Pier, Rachel King, Richard Gibb, William Sandford and William Bartholft to Gysbert Van Emburgh for a small lot on the west side of the Hackensack River (part of the plantation of their father, Johannes Van Emburgh), 12 February 1746/7 [fragmented].
7. Deed of Gysbert Van Emburgh, William Sanford Van Emburgh, Johannes Van Emburgh, Peregrine Van Emburgh, Abraham Pier and Sarah, his wife, Richard Gibbs and Catherine, his wife, William Sandford and Mary Sandford, and Guliam Bartolf to Rachel King (wife of John King) for house and lot in Hackensack (part of the estate of Johannes Van Emburgh, deceased), 20 February 1746/7 [not signed by all parties].
8. Bonds of William Sanford Van Emburgh of New Barbadoes to Jacobus Bartolf Jr. of the same place for 100 and
[--], 26 June 1764 [2 items, both fragmented and 1 incomplete].
9. Bill of sale of William Van Emburgh to William Sanford Van Emburgh for goods and household furniture, New Barbadoes, 22 May 1770 [fragmented].
10. Bill of Josiah Hornblower to Dr. William Van Emburgh for cloth, [no place], 26 July 1773.
11. Inventory of the household goods of William S. Van Emburgh, [no place], 16 November 1773.
12. Inventory of bonds left by Dr. William S. Van Emburgh at the time of his death, [no place], ca. 1776-1778 [fragmented].
13. Draft of bond and assignment of bonds, mortgages and notes between Gilbert Van Emburgh, executor of Dr. William Sanford Van Emburgh, and John King, Awry King, Garrabrant Garrabrants, James Powleson and John Van Emburgh, relatives of Dr. Van Emburgh, [no place], 7 August 1781 [2 items].

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations