njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Cornelius Clarkson Vermeule, Sr. (1858-1950)
Series: Survey Books, 1880-1884
Accession #: 1980.002
Series #:  PVERM001
Guide Date:  3/1995 (JK)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [3 vols., 7 manuscripts]


Content Note | Contents

Biographical Note

Cornelius Clarkson Vermeule was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, on 5 September 1858, the son of Adrian Vermeule and Maria Veghte. He graduated from Rutgers College in 1878, and that same year joined the New Jersey Geological Survey. For the next ten years, C. C. Vermeule headed a project that successfully completed the first topographical survey of New Jersey. Mr. Vermeule continued as a consulting engineer for the state for another thirty years, engaged in various projects including the dismantlement of the Morris Canal in the 1920s. He also had an extensive private practice with offices in New York City, and headed many hydraulic engineering projects for municipalities and corporations throughout the northeastern United States. Vermeule died on 1 February 1950.



Bibliography

Scannell's New Jersey's First Citizens. (Paterson, NJ: Scannell, 1917). Vol. 1, p. 513-515.

Who Was Who in America. (Chicago: Marquis, 1950). Vol. II, p. 547.



Content Note

This series consists of three handwritten survey books made between 1880 and 1885. When purchased, the volumes were referred to as surveys by C. C. Vermeule; however, only the first volume contains evidence to support this.



Contents

 1. Notes and Compass Survey and Levelings along Lawrence's Brook from Parson's to Davison's Mills, 1880 - The cover sheet of this volume is labeled "Notes and a compass survey and levelings along Lawrence's Brook [East Brunswick Township, Middlesex] from Parson's to Davison's Mills made April 1880 by C. C. Vermeule, topographer for Geological Survey of N.J." Loose items were removed from this volume and foldered as follows:
a.
  "Lawrence's Brook Storage-Reservoir No. 2 Above Hoey's"
b.
  Map [#1]
c.
  "No. 1 Dam at Parsons Cross Section"
d.
  "Lawrence's Brook Reservoir" [notes; 2 items]
e.
  "Lawrence's Brook Storage-Reservoir" [notes on capacity, surface area, etc.]
f.
  Map [#2]
2. U.S. Geological Survey, 1884, John E. Hill, No. 6 - The inside of this volume is labeled "U. S Geological Survey, John E. Hill," with a note "please return to C. C. Vermeule." It contains references to Old Bridge [either Old Bridge Township or East Brunswick Township, Middlesex County] and Bloomfield [Bloomfield Township, Essex County]. The volume appears to relate to the area covered by New Jersey Geological Survey atlas sheet Number 6.
3. Odom Book, Vol. 8 [H], 1885, Geological Survey of New Jersey - The spine of this volume is labeled "Odom Book, Vol. 8, 1885, H" and the front cover has a stamp identifying it as "Geological Survey of New Jersey, No. 8, 1885." It appears to contain survey notes for areas in Burlington, Mercer, Middlesex, and Monmouth counties. There is an index by municipality at the beginning of the volume. The name P. D. Staats is written on the front page, but it is not known if he was actually the surveyor. The volume appears to relate to the area covered by New Jersey Geological Survey atlas sheet Number 8.

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations