njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Dr. John W. Ward (1840-1916)
Series: Scrapbooks, 1847-1908
Accession #: 1983.044
Series #:  PWARJ001
Guide Date:  3/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1 c.f. [2 vols.]


Content Note

Biographical Note

Dr. John Wesley Ward was the second superintendent of the New Jersey State Lunatic Asylum at Trenton. Born in Salem, New Jersey, on 12 February 1840, Ward graduated from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in 1866. He was a protègè of Dr. Horace A. Buttolph, under whom he was appointed second assistant physician at the state asylum in 1867, and first assistant physician in 1873. Dr. Ward ascended to the position of medical superintendent in February 1876, and held this post for over thirty years.

In 1907, Ward was dismissed as superintendent by the board of governors amid much controversy. Apparently, a typhoid epidemic was the catalyst for his dismissal. The controversy surrounding these events centered upon an administrative policy which divided control of the facility between Dr. Ward and an operations manager responsible for maintenance of the asylum grounds. The separation of control may have resulted in the neglect of responsibilities that did not fall clearly within the prescribed areas of either division. With the quiet resignation of the operations manager, the board apparently blamed Dr. Ward alone for the epidemic.

Ward died nine years after his dismissal at his home near Pennington, NJ, 23 August 1916. He left a widow, Horacana B. (Sager) Ward, and one son, John W. Ward Jr.



Bibliography

Hammell, Charlotte Louise. "The New Jersey State Hospital at Trenton, 1848-1908"
           [M.A. thesis]. University of Chicago, 1938.

New Jersey State Lunatic Asylum at Trenton. Annual Reports of the Officers of the New Jersey
           State Lunatic Asylum at Trenton
. Trenton, NJ, 1877-1907.

"Will Hold Ward Funeral Saturday..." Trenton Evening Times. Trenton, NJ, 24 August 1916, p. 2.



Content Note

Created by Dr. Ward himself, the two scrapbooks comprising this series relate most specifically to his activities as superintendent of the New Jersey State Lunatic Asylum at Trenton. The volumes contain memorabilia such as photographs, newsclippings, and correspondence (in no apparent arrangement). The majority of the photographs depict the grounds of the state asylum, its staff, and its physicians; a few others show Ward's family members. The newsclippings deal primarily with the controversy surrounding Dr. Ward's dismissal as superintendent in 1907: in editorial content, they sympathize with Ward and condemn the board's decision to fire him. The correspondence consists of letters of recommendation from Dr. Ward's instructors at the University of Pennsylvania to Dr. H. A. Buttolph, and letters of resignation from several of Dr. Ward's assistant physicians.


Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations