njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Council of Proprietors of West New Jersey
Series: Minutes, 1688-1951
Accession #: 2005.048
Series #:  PWESJ002
Guide Date:  5/2006 (EC)
Volume: 1.6 c.f. [14 vols.]; 3.3 reels [35-mm]


Reel List

Contents

No. Contents
1 Book 1
6 July 1688 - 26 June 1700
2 Book 2
3 September 1700 - 19 March 1711/12
3 Book 3
18 April 1712 - 5 February 1728/29
4 Book 3 (partial copy)
18 April 1712 - 8 February 1721/22
[transcription made in 1723]
5 Book 4
28 March 1728 [part] - 9 April 1737
[duplicates 1728/29 minutes in Book 3]
6 Book 5
4 May 1737 - 7 May 1751
7 Book 6 (Book A)
7 May 1751 - 9 November 1764
8 Book 7 (Book B)
5 February 1765 - 8 November 1770
9 Book 8 (Book C)
5 February 1771 - 7 November 1782
10 Book 9 (Book D)
4 February 1783 - 6 November 1799
11 Book 10 (Book E)
4 February 1800 - 7 May 1822
12 Book 11 (Book F)
8 August 1822 - 5 May 1868
13 Book 12
4 August 1868 - 26 February 1909
Index Grantor/Grantee Index to Minute Book 2 through 8 (C)
[1700-1782]

Note on Index

The index provides book and page citations to the Minute Books and is arranged as follows:

Section Citation Minute Book
Grantor A-Z
Grantee A-Z
3rd dividend
3rd dividend
Book 2
Book 2
Grantor A-Z
Grantee A-Z
4th dividend, No. 3, 1712-1728
4th dividend, No. 3 began April 1712
Book 3
Book 3
Grantor A-Z
Grantee A-Z
2nd Book, 4th dividend, 1728-1737
2nd Book, 4th dividend, 1728-1737
Book 4
Book 4
Grantor A-Z
Grantee A-Z
5th dividend, May 1737 - May 1751
5th dividend, May 1737 - May 1751
Book 5
Book 5
Grantor to Grantee
(A-Z by grantor)
May 1751-1764 Book 6 (Book A)
Grantor to Grantee
(A-Z by grantor)
Feb. 1765 – Nov. 1770 Book 7 (Book B)
Grantor to Grantee
(A-Z by grantor)
Lib. C., Feb. 1771 – Nov. 1782 Book 8 (Book C)


Reel Listing - WEST JERSEY PROPRIETORS

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
1 Minutes of the Council
Books 1 - 5, 1688-1751
Book 1, 6 July 1688 - 26 June 1700
Book 2, 3 Sep. 1700 - 19 Mar. 1711/12
Books 3/3A, 18 Apr. 1712 - 5 Feb. 1728/9
Book 4, 28 Mar. 1728 - 9 Apr. 1737
Book 5, 4 May 1737 - 7 May 1751
2 Minutes of the Council
Books 6 (A) - 9 (D), 1751-1799
Book 6 (A), 7 May 1751 - 9 Nov. 1764
Book 7 (B), 5 Feb. 1765 - 8 Nov. 1770
Book 8 (C), 5 Feb. 1771 - 7 Nov. 1782
Book 9 (D), 4 Feb. 1783 - 6 Nov. 1799
3 Minutes of the Council
Books 10 (E) - 13, 1800-1951
Book 10 (E), 4 Feb. 1800 - 7 May 1822
Book 11 (F), 8 Aug. 1822 - 5 May 1868
Book 12, 4 Aug. 1868 - 26 Feb. 1909
Book 13, 4 May 1909 - 1 May 1951
4 Index to Minutes; Abstract of Surveys and Warrants; Account Books Grantor/Grantee Index to Minute Books 2 - 8
   [1700-1782]
Extract of Surveys and Warrants, 1717-1756
Account Books, ca. 1676-1951 [3 vols.]

Note on Books 3 and 3A

There are two volumes identified as Book 3 in this series. A partial transcription of Book 3 was made in 1723 and only includes minutes up to 8 February 1721/22. The microfilm copy is incorrectly labeled as "Book 3 (original)." It is the 3rd item on Reel 1 of the microfilm.

The actual original Book 3 covers the time period 18 April 1712 to 5 February 1728/29 and is the volume that any references to Book 3 of minutes refers to. The manuscript volume is identified as No. 3. The microfilmed copy is labeled as "Book 3 (i.e., 3-A)" and incorrectly identified as a copy of the original. It is the 4th item on Reel 1.



Created May 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations